Analysis 2024 AFL Draft General Discussion

I think I'll have a minor meltdown if we trade up for FOS after spending all year saying I don't get the hype around him.

Plz somebody tell me Zak Johnson has been caught doing some dodgy shite recently so he'll slip to the rookie draft or something atleast?

FOS and Johnson I could live with... Barely. I just want Joe Berry at our first pick so I don't have to watch Motlop, Durdin and Owies stink it up again :tired:

I tend to agree with blackas, every video I have watched of Finn O’Sullivan hasn’t screamed to me that he is worthy of a guaranteed top 5 pick over other players of this draft, yet the consensus is that he is a top 3 pick.
Kid has a ridiculously good side step and traffic sense. He demonstrated this at VFL level.
His output in 2023 was elite, his season this year very interrupted.
There's a risk there but he has demonstrated attributes that other players in this years draft just haven't demonstrated to the same extent.

Wow extremely late birthday

Reckon he's one of the most creative players in this draft. Just feel like if he gets to the right club in the right system he's going to shine.

Could just as easily be a bust but I really like him.
Wouldn’t surprise me if he goes undrafted or rookie list

Could be a steal in the 2025 mid season draft

I would be very surprised if he makes it through the rookie draft, if that far. What’s your knock on him?
I like him and would draft him

I think clubs might think he’s a ‘nice’ player without the standout traits to pull the trigger

Just my opinion and could be wrong

I’ve got him 40-50 zone but not sure clubs do

I like him and would draft him

I think clubs might think he’s a ‘nice’ player without the standout traits to pull the trigger

Just my opinion and could be wrong

I’ve got him 40-50 zone but not sure clubs do
If he’s there at Eagles 62 or 67 and we pull a Lawson Humphries and pass on him I’ll be ropable.

I have, I’ve googled all the players up the top and watched their videos.

I can Langford has similarities to a Bontempelli, Lalor a powerful mid/forward in the Petracca mould, Smilie a big inside mid like Cripps ect.. I can see why they are all highly rated.

FOS I just don’t see it, he obviously is highly rated, reading comments he doesn’t seem like he’ll get to Melbourne’s pick but if he does I just want to know I’m supposed to be getting excited about.

If you don’t know yourself that’s fine, just after someone that does to help me out.
FOS had a quiet year injury interrupted

But I think he’s got the most class of anyone in the draft

Gee his athletic testing is also impressive

When you add them up together he’s prob got a bit of Shaun Burgoyne about him as a player

The only guy in draft I’d say has a few Burgoyne traits

If he’s there at Eagles 62 or 67 and we pull a Lawson Humphries and pass on him I’ll be ropable.
I don't know how we'd get a stab at him with the picks and F/S list squeeze we've got going on atm but I would absolutely love him for the Blues late in the piece.

I think if in an AFL system if he can increase his physical strength, endurance, explosiveness etc just a bit I think he'll be a great pick up. Imo he's got one of the best footy IQ's in the draft and is one of the most talented users (though he is prone to trying to do a bit too much with it sometimes)

FOS had a quiet year injury interrupted

But I think he’s got the most class of anyone in the draft

Gee his athletic testing is also impressive

When you add them up together he’s prob got a bit of Shaun Burgoyne about him as a player

The only guy in draft I’d say has a few Burgoyne traits
Thanks mate. Definitely a classier player is are my preference for Melbourne to take. Would be happy a Shaun Burgoyne type.

Not sure which highlights tapes you were looking at if you thought FOS didn’t look too good

I reckon he looks excellent

I think the knock on him is that he hasn’t been racking up big numbers of touches per game like some of the other midfielder prospects, but that might be because his year has been injury interrupted (?)

Obviously he’s still a pick that could go wrong especially if he keeps picking up injuries, but he looks to have a bit of brilliance about him

Clubs will take who they want to take regardless of where the media rates them, could be that those clubs in the top 10 really rate him. Clubs boards change even weeks before the draft as they do their due diligence and watch more vision.
Reckon clubs have looked at the impact a Nick Watson can have on a team and look at Kako and think he’s got similar traits ( but as good to my eye but still v good )

Not sure which highlights tapes you were looking at if you thought FOS didn’t look too good

I reckon he looks excellent

I think the knock on him is that he hasn’t been racking up big numbers of touches per game like some of the other midfielder prospects, but that might be because his year has been injury interrupted (?)

Obviously he’s still a pick that could go wrong especially if he keeps picking up injuries, but he looks to have a bit of brilliance about him
We can go through his footage on here and you can give me a more detailed analysation but I’m happy with the Burgoyne comparison.

Ball usage is what i want Melbourne to select and if it ends up being FOS I’ve got a better vision of the type of player he is and I’d certainly be excited by it. Most think he’s gone by Melbourne’s pick but you never know.

In 22 Eagles split 2 for 8 and 12. That gives you a good guide of what it might take to split a top 2-3 pick.

I think the Eagles or Roos would do it if they could get a pick 5-6 plus another mid 1st so theyd still get 1 from that top group. The issue is I don't see another club coughing that up for a 2-4 pick upgrade unless they get something significant pack.

Find it hard to believe Melbourne would cough up 5 and 13 (if they get it) for 2 or 3 for example. Or Richmond giving 6 and 10 (Bolton deal). St Kilda 7 and 8 is overs too and probably not in their interests if you look at their list build.

Obviously lots of other factors too like how do individual clubs rate the draft, what offers are available, where the clubs list builds are at ect. Hard to tell from the outside.

1000011812.png
Wow, I didn't know that in addition to Sam Walsh, Finn had so many other talented cousins!

Jason Taylor is playing mind games, trying to spook noob Rosa. He wants pick 9 so he can trade it with 5 for 2 and get FOS.

FOS is faster and more agile than Jagga.
Not a chance, Jagga is the most agile mid in the draft.

Sure FOS has a great sidestep almost soccer player like when he is running with the ball and gets around players like cones but not agile or quicker.

Analysis 2024 AFL Draft General Discussion