List Mgmt. 2024 AFL Draft - November 20-21 (Picks 13, 29, 36, 50, 94, 112, 130)

Have heard we are big on Shanahan

The 5 goal haul he had for Essendon's VFL team was impressive. He's probably my favourite of the talls.

I like shanahan.

Rory atkins can rack up possessions playing the quarter back role in the vfl whilst taking the kick ins. It doesnt translate to afl. He couldn't get a game at Gold Coast and they brought in rioli and noble because their half backs were their weakness. He isnt depth, just a very expensive sanfl player.

Finlayson and Marshall are very good AFL forwards who had 2024 cruelled by injuries. Very premature to write either of them off. Lord is a baby in "key position" terms and kicked 4 in a final at 20, we have Lukosius and Georgiades who can be great for the next 6+ years. Visentini continues to rise and needs games soon, probably as a second ruck/forward. But you can't play all 6.

Since GFs returned to the MCG (last 3 years) the winners have had 9 goals kicked by key forwards and 23 kicked by small/medium forwards- the year before Fritsch kicked 6 in Perth. We have one dangerous small/medium forward capable of multiple goals in a GF. All 3 winners had multiple and Lohmann, AhChee and Bobby Hill all kicked 4 while the main small threats (Elliot 0, Cameron 1) didn't. This is a massive area of need...still.

Down back, we have a pretty bare cupboard of Tall Defenders- Aliir, BZT, Rat...daylight...Walsh. This is a massive area of need.

Shanahan makes no sense as a tall forward but does as a tall back. But do you spend your prize draft pick in a good draft on someone with the intention of playing him in his second position? I accept he is capable down back but he hasn't proven himself there consistently.

All that said, in a draft hyped up like this one, you simply pick the best player with your first pick. Let's hope Tassie want some of our cupboard full of tall forwards in exchange for Cochrane.

Neither but 13 is way too high for him.
Why though? Start of the year he was hyped up as a potential top 10. He hasn't had a shit year. We're all just going off amateur phantom drafts about value of some players, and Cal Twomey has him at 18. Key position players will always be graded differently. If we want one and particularly him, 13 ain't outlandish. He's a terrific athlete and a straight kick at goal.

its mainly becuase key position skiny players are way to speculative to burn our rare first round pick on.

compared to a flanker or mid who are have a much higher floor, much safer. I would feel more confident picking shanahan becuase he has had experience in vfl and has played well.

How does he compare to recent kpf draftees?

Recently, maybe Logan Mcdonald. He reminds me of a young Tom Lynch though. Attacks the ball hard, can mark at its highest point at speed, is good below his knees, good set shot kick. Its his attack at the ball and his ability to take contested marks which is what does it for me.

If we are looking at talls we should be splitting our first pick to say a 19 and 22 (which is what was apparently on offer for that pick 13 in the trade period). Because guys like Shanahan and Whitlock would likely to still be on the board around 19-22. Unless Armstrong slides and then i would be open to using 13 on a tall forward.

If I was a betting man, I would be going all in on Port picking Whitlock. He has been mentioned too often by Twomey, he's a 200cm Vic country player and we have had Dixon retire, delisted Scully and there's a big cloud over Marshall. And no one is convinced about Lord.

I expect us to take West or Nicholls later, but think Gerreyn might miss out if he goes between our second and third picks.

Whitlock's brother could be a silly chance if he's still on the board at our pick 29.
I reckon I'd actually consider flying to Adelaide to take a dump right in the middle of Alberton Oval if we took one of the Whitlock boys with pick 13.

KPF drafting and the success of it is generally quite simple.

It has been the same for decades. If you want quality KPF's, you need to go early. There are no guarantees, but the liklihood of them becoming at the very least a reliable squad member is significantly higher than those drafted mid/late. Late KPF picks are a genuine crapshoot. The success rate is very low. Clubs churn through these.

You look at the AA team as an example. The last 10 or so years:

AA KPF's drafted with first round or first round equivalent picks:
Cameron, Hogan, Walker, Curnow, Hawkins, Mckay, Dixon, Franklin, J Riewoldt, Kennedy, Daniher, Lynch, Stringer, Roughead, N Riewoldt

AA KPF's drafted mid/late:
Waterman, Larkey, Darling, Gunston

So yes, we currently have KPF options, we currently have hope that someone like Lord will come on and be a reasonable player, but the odds are against him getting any better than what he currently is.

If Marshall gets another concussion and is forced to retire and Lord continues to just be a 5 disposal, 2 mark a game player, then suddenly our KPF stocks don't look very good at all.

We are in a position where we have a very good first string midfield and can look towards a KPF with a first rounder for only the second time in 15 years. As a board on here we have complained time and time again that we don't draft enough KPF's, especially early. Here's our chance to do so and potentially get the 2nd best tall in the draft and someone that has the potential to lead the forward line into the future.
--------------------------------------------------------------

On shewho's point about GF's. KPFs are often well held on GF day itself, but they are absolutely vital in getting to GF day.

Finlayson and Marshall are very good AFL forwards who had 2024 cruelled by injuries. Very premature to write either of them off. Lord is a baby in "key position" terms and kicked 4 in a final at 20, we have Lukosius and Georgiades who can be great for the next 6+ years. Visentini continues to rise and needs games soon, probably as a second ruck/forward. But you can't play all 6.

Since GFs returned to the MCG (last 3 years) the winners have had 9 goals kicked by key forwards and 23 kicked by small/medium forwards- the year before Fritsch kicked 6 in Perth. We have one dangerous small/medium forward capable of multiple goals in a GF. All 3 winners had multiple and Lohmann, AhChee and Bobby Hill all kicked 4 while the main small threats (Elliot 0, Cameron 1) didn't. This is a massive area of need...still.

Down back, we have a pretty bare cupboard of Tall Defenders- Aliir, BZT, Rat...daylight...Walsh. This is a massive area of need.

Shanahan makes no sense as a tall forward but does as a tall back. But do you spend your prize draft pick in a good draft on someone with the intention of playing him in his second position? I accept he is capable down back but he hasn't proven himself there consistently.

All that said, in a draft hyped up like this one, you simply pick the best player with your first pick. Let's hope Tassie want some of our cupboard full of tall forwards in exchange for Cochrane.
You have to be kidding, Marshall has had one good year in 8.
Maybe the concussions has stuffed him up but his days are numbered.
I honestly don’t believe he should be playing footy.
Better for all if he gives it away.

Ok with either, Shanahan more physically mature and closer to being AFL ready, can also play back, but at 200cm with his mobility and strong overhead hands, Whitlock probably has the best ceiling as a key AFL forward. He will take longer (couple of years) to get the big body needed.

Why are we potentially wasting our first pick on Whitlock?
A KPF who will need a few preseasons to mature physically and wont be ready to play AFL round 1 next year?

Its madness...

Recently, maybe Logan Mcdonald. He reminds me of a young Tom Lynch though. Attacks the ball hard, can mark at its highest point at speed, is good below his knees, good set shot kick. Its his attack at the ball and his ability to take contested marks which is what does it for me.
Lynch is 199cm, also would say he isnt great at ground stuff. This analysis of his weaknesses. " There are few weaknesses in Shanahan's game, which tend to revolve around his follow-up work. This was seen in the second game for the Academy against Footscray, where there was a lack of defensive pressure and intensity applied with his second efforts without the ball. However, there can be a scope for improvement in this area, just like his work with ground balls - while he showed some great signs and improvement throughout the season, he can be a bit more cleaner when it comes to these situations."

Why are we potentially wasting our first pick on Whitlock?
A KPF who will need a few preseasons to mature physically and wont be ready to play AFL round 1 next year?

Its madness...
We have this debate every year when the criticisms and complaints come as to why we don't have any quality KPF's or KPD's coming though the ranks. Its because we haven't drafted them early and unfortunately tall key positions of quality come from the first round and take years to develop.

Our first is going to be 16 and Shanahan and Whitlock fall in that range later range of 16 to 20.

KPF drafting and the success of it is generally quite simple.

It has been the same for decades. If you want quality KPF's, you need to go early. There are no guarantees, but the liklihood of them becoming at the very least a reliable squad member is significantly higher than those drafted mid/late. Late KPF picks are a genuine crapshoot. The success rate is very low. Clubs churn through these.

You look at the AA team as an example. The last 10 or so years:

AA KPF's drafted with first round or first round equivalent picks:
Cameron, Hogan, Walker, Curnow, Hawkins, Mckay, Dixon, Franklin, J Riewoldt, Kennedy, Daniher, Lynch, Stringer, Roughead, N Riewoldt

AA KPF's drafted mid/late:
Waterman, Larkey, Darling, Gunston

So yes, we currently have KPF options, we currently have hope that someone like Lord will come on and be a reasonable player, but the odds are against him getting any better than what he currently is.

If Marshall gets another concussion and is forced to retire and Lord continues to just be a 5 disposal, 2 mark a game player, then suddenly our KPF stocks don't look very good at all.

We are in a position where we have a very good first string midfield and can look towards a KPF with a first rounder for only the second time in 15 years. As a board on here we have complained time and time again that we don't draft enough KPF's, especially early. Here's our chance to do so and potentially get the 2nd best tall in the draft and someone that has the potential to lead the forward line into the future.
--------------------------------------------------------------

On shewho's point about GF's. KPFs are often well held on GF day itself, but they are absolutely vital in getting to GF day.
Absolutely spot on, this is exactly my thinking. I think a highly rated young KPF prospect (not just another late draft, low ceiling project tall) is exactly what our list needs.

I would be absolutely stoked with Shanahan, and genuinely don’t understand why he isn’t being talked about as going higher.

I mean, he kicked 5.0, 4.1 and 2.3 in his 3 games this season as an 18 year old against men in the VFL. That just screams elite potential to me.

Shanahan looks your Jay Schulz type.

You would take that.

Open to either but just got a feeling Shanahan is going higher than people expect looking at the latest press. Seems to be getting a bit of notice

List Mgmt. 2024 AFL Draft - November 20-21 (Picks 13, 29, 36, 50, 94, 112, 130)