List Mgmt. 2024 List Management 📃

There is roughly 4 months or so until the SSP closes, I’d just take the risk we might get an injury and take the extra player at the draft.
Depends who is there. If there's someone we really like who slides, take the 3rd ND pick.

SSP is more for if we're unsure, give player/s a pre-season to get on the list.

That's terrible.

You're going home in the back of a Ginnivan...
not that there's anything wrong with that seinfeld GIF by myLAB Box

Do we have confirmation on the list makeup, especially Cat B’s (3 allowed?)?
(3) Cat B: Akuei, Duffy, Monahan
(6) Cat A: 37, 38, 39, 40, 45, 46
(32) Main list: 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26, 27, 28, 29, 40, 31, 32, 33, 42, 44 + EH

Upgrade or two ahead.

What will all the posters sticking an apostrophe in Hollands do now that there are two of them? What's the plural of Hollands? Holland's's? Hollandses? Important questions need answers!
Hollandseseses.

Pretty sure...

(32) Main list: 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26, 27, 28, 29, 40, 31, 32, 33, 42, 44 + EH

Upgrade or two ahead.
There's been no announcement of a change to Cat B rules, so currently, one of the Irish has to be listed as Cat A, even though they are Cat B.

So unless there is a change, we have to elevate 1 Rookie to the Senior List, and we have 3 spots available.

The team we’ve developed now is a contested beast compared to what we had 3/5 years ago.

Outside O Hollands who is still developing the rest of the side are animals.I mean that in a good way of course.
Even Ollie cracks in pretty hard for a skinny rookie.

There's been no announcement of a change to Cat B rules, so currently, one of the Irish has to be listed as Cat A, even though they are Cat B.

So unless there is a change, we have to elevate 1 Rookie to the Senior List, and we have 3 spots available.

IMG_1323.jpeg

Pom seems to have pretty good knowledge from my limited insight, above are his numbers with mis-information about our Irish recruiting and they’ll both be Cat B.
**Edit excludes E. Hollands

I was of the same opinion as you re: Cat B x 3 (Grinspoon tune) but seems we may be able to have both without adjusting our other list categories. List was capped at 44 after the AFL COVID reduction, with our makeup of 36/6/2

View attachment 1836213

Pom seems to have pretty knowledge from my limited insight, above are his numbers with mis-information about our Irish recruiting and they’ll both be Cat B.

I was of the same opinion as you re: Cat B x 3 (Grinspoon tune) but seems we may be able to have both without adjusting our other list categories. List was capped at 44 after the AFL COVID reduction, with our makeup of 36/6/2
Cat B may have changed, but it hasn't been announced anywhere that I've seen.
We also have 32 on the senior list, not 31.

View attachment 1836213

Pom seems to have pretty knowledge from my limited insight, above are his numbers with mis-information about our Irish recruiting and they’ll both be Cat B.

Yeah, he seemed pretty certain about it as well. It's a bit of a dog's brekky, the ol' Cat B.

For mine it appears fairly clear cut that you can have 2 'international players' on your Cat B list going by the most up to date AFL Rules book. So at the very least, big Dom should get lifted to Cat A (given he only has a 1 year contract) - and both the Irish lads as Cat B. Salaries for Cat B listed players fall outside the cap.

All we've got to go by is the published AFL rules, last updated in February 2023 (there's usually an update around this time each year).

This is from the Feb 2023 doc:

View attachment 1832514

It's really poorly worded - prob a factor of multiple revisions over time. Here's the App. 1 detail mentioned above:

View attachment 1832517

Clearly, here it spells out a maximum of 2 Cat-B rookies, with a maximum list size of 44. I don't believe that 10.1(b) is saying that you can have 2 more than this, though perhaps it could be interpreted that way. It's just repeating that you can have 2 Cat-B players (beyond Cat-A).

Further, "Ireland" is only mentioned once in the document, in the definition of "International Development Region".

View attachment 1832526

So an Irish player is an "International Player", but is not part of an "International Development Region".

Also - "International Development Region" isn't relevant to the Rookie List discussion, it relates only to a separate International Scholarship List that clubs may set up.

Rule 10.1 (a), along with the appendix 1 - list sizes, is fairly emphatic that there is a maximum of 2 Cat-B rookies.

But... 10.1 (b) is a little ambiguous. I think it's left-over wording from a previous edition of the rules. But it has this phrase "a maximum of two (2) extra players on its Category B Rookie List..."

Maybe we're hanging our hat on that wording, and taking it to mean you can have 4 Cat-B rookies ("2 extra"). But it's a bit of a stretch - the section before that refers only to Category A, so I'd take it to mean the extra is on top of Cat A only.

And then, yes, there's always the possibility that the rules have changed without any notification.

Best trade since bell, Henderson, yarran and Gibbs trades.

Hollands trade is like getting a top shelf wine 80% off because it had a scratch on the label. Looks a great prospect, and fits needs - A+

Disappointing to once again see no winning experience come in. Maybe the ship has sailed on it now for this list, they will have to become winners themselves.

Best trade since bell, Henderson, yarran and Gibbs trades.

Hollands trade is like getting a top shelf wine 80% off because it had a scratch on the label. Looks a great prospect, and fits needs - A+

Disappointing to once again see no winning experience come in. Maybe the ship has sailed on it now for this list, they will have to become winners themselves.
At least we got 46 games of finals winning footy in this team and none of that experience left

Upgrade or two ahead.

Apparently we are seeking clarification or have applied for some type of dispensation?

Very happy with our list.

Coming into Premiership window and no one over 31. All positons have options. We also have a great group of younger players coming through.

Next year will be interesting. A number of players out of contract, room in Salary Cap plus some Father Sons available. Players will need to perform. Good Times

..............................................................Finally :cool:

I'm just using my best 22 to discuss our list

A players: We know what we are going to get from these guys, hopefully they will continue their solid form
Weitering Sadd Cripps Walsh and CC

B Players: Hopefully some of these players show more consistency and move into the A category
Docherty (injury free please) Williams Cerra McKay Acres

C Players: Apart from TDK who is a breakout candidate, the rest we just hope for injury free year
Newman Marchbank McGovern TDK Martin Hewett

Young players: This is where our improvements will come from
Boyd OHollands EHollands Kemp Motlop CDurdin Binns

Have I missed any key players?

My best 22 (+ sub) for 2024:
FB: Marchbank, Weitering, Boyd
HB: Williams, McGovern, Saad

C: Acres, Cripps, O Hollands
R: De Koning, Cerra, Walsh

HF: Martin, Kemp, E Hollands
FF: McKay, Curnow, Motlop

Int: Newman (def), Hewett (inside), Docherty (mid/wing), C Durdin (fwd)

Sub: Binns

reckon we looked cooked, having to win what, 13 out of 14 matches?

to improve we need to stop losing 'easy' games (essendon and saints games early in the season for example) and get a top 4 spot.

even so, i still think luck played it's part, if we'd played Collingwood, not Brisbane i think we were a very, very good chance to go through to the GF, on emotion as much as quality.
Agree.

2024 get early wins, ensconce ourselves in the top 4, be manage players late in the season, then get a home game final. Simple!

Interesting to see that Rhys Mathieson has been delisted.

I'm no longer of the opinion that he'd be a good fit for Carlton like I was in his draft year. I just think he's a ducking wonder.

PS: We got more games out of Dow in less time, than the paddle pops got out of Mathieson.