- Nov 14, 2010
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
As near alwaysJeepers the Smillie season highlights are very impressive. Maybe Nostra is right
If we split pick 2 then I’d be targeting Smillie and then a KPP
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
As near alwaysJeepers the Smillie season highlights are very impressive. Maybe Nostra is right
hrmmm … had an interesting conversation yesterday with a mate who gets the odd nugget of information , he seemed to think that the Tauru talk may be a red herring and that we might have our eyes on another player . In his words “ it would be straight out of the Clarko playbook “
Wouldn’t surprise me if we have a pick 6 with Richmond lined up but we are baiting Melbourne into taking Tauru at 5 so that someone like Armstrong is still available.
I’ve never seen pre-draft bolter hype to the extent we’ve seen with Tauru, some funny business going on.
Oliver probably comparable.
You’d certainly hope we’ve got a fair bit going on. The 6 with Tigers deal has felt like it’s done from about a week ago. Just a matter of what else is attached to it. Hope it’s 10 or 11…….. 18 would be pretty average if that’s the case.Wouldn’t surprise me if we have a pick 6 with Richmond lined up but we are baiting Melbourne into taking Tauru at 5 so that someone like Armstrong is still available.
I’ve never seen pre-draft bolter hype to the extent we’ve seen with Tauru, some funny business going on.
All highlights can be made to look impressive..Jeepers the Smillie season highlights are very impressive. Maybe Nostra is right
We could have always planned to sit tight until we are on the clock. We may have a trade(s) agreed on depending what happens at 1 and we are waiting to see if our guy is there at 2. We may have 1 player a tier ahead of everyone. If Richmond don't take him, we do.You’d certainly hope we’ve got a fair bit going on. The 6 with Tigers deal has felt like it’s done from about a week ago. Just a matter of what else is attached to it. Hope it’s 10 or 11…….. 18 would be pretty average if that’s the case.
10-11 is around where Armstrong or Tauru should be, but wouldn’t surprise me if it’s someone else we are after.
The 2 for 4 with Crows is interesting too……we could end up with similar type draft haul, 6+18 from Tigers, plus a little extra from Crows deal, depending who’s still on the board. Fun times.
Or we just take who we want at 2. It’s not gunna be Tauru, you’d be pretty sure.
Dees have been very quiet., wouldn’t be surprised if they have some plan either.
Gunna be fun I reckon. Might explain why we haven’t done the deal for 2 yet, waiting to see who tigers take.Just a few snippets I've heard lately, not earth shattering info...... 2 weeks to go, nothing set in concrete, as others have said, plenty to play out.
Melbourne chasing Harry Armstrong with 5 or 9.
Not hearing much on Alix re us..... so?
Richmond all over Taj Hotton 10 or 11.
Richmond love Jagga, after giving him an indication they'd take him at pick 1, they're now saying he's in "the mix" to go 1.
Keep hearing we're still being associated with Draper for 2 (IF we don't split).
Carlton still keen on FOS with 3.
Enjoy the ride
What about Reece McKenzie?Wouldn’t surprise me if we have a pick 6 with Richmond lined up but we are baiting Melbourne into taking Tauru at 5 so that someone like Armstrong is still available.
Every year there’s one that all the hype that goes late in the draft or undrafted.What about Reece McKenzie?
That hype was insane.
The hype from one terrible judge of talent.What about Reece McKenzie?
That hype was insane.
What would Carlton give us to make FOS a sure thing he is in a navy blue jumper if he isn’t taken at 1?Just a few snippets I've heard lately, not earth shattering info...... 2 weeks to go, nothing set in concrete, as others have said, plenty to play out.
Melbourne chasing Harry Armstrong with 5 or 9.
Not hearing much on Alix re us..... so?
Richmond all over Taj Hotton 10 or 11.
Richmond love Jagga, after giving him an indication they'd take him at pick 1, they're now saying he's in "the mix" to go 1.
Keep hearing we're still being associated with Draper for 2 (IF we don't split).
Carlton still keen on FOS with 3.
Enjoy the ride
Oh TennisPlayerAndy, there are "77" reasons why we need to talk!What about Reece McKenzie?
That hype was insane.
Not much we can do about him going at 1.What would Carlton give us to make FOS a sure thing he is in a navy blue jumper is he isn’t taken at 1?
Whoever picks him will have a good flanker/wing on their hands. In space, he seems like a weapon.Jeepers the Smillie season highlights are very impressive. Maybe Nostra is right
What about Reece McKenzie?
That hype was insane.
Didn't the tigers end up picking him up. Never played a game.Every year there’s one that all the hype that goes late in the draft or undrafted.
Fairly sure he came on here and posted as well.Didn't the tigers end up picking him up. Never played a game.
His combine sprint results were fairly good for a big guy.
He unloaded on tigers when they delisted him. Was suicidal if I remember.
Sent from my CPH2197 using Tapatalk
Zilch! I think Carlton and Adelaide are fairly sure they are going to get their player, yes sometimes it happens where two or three clubs that love a player will talk about a trade and if that fails offer one of the teams above it a deal that they can't refuse to secure that player. I also don't think the crows or the blues are to worried about us picking their player, I know supporters like to think "Well if they want ??????? then they can pony up and give us an extra pick, or we will take him"!What would Carlton give us to make FOS a sure thing he is in a navy blue jumper is he isn’t taken at 1?
What would Carlton give us to make FOS a sure thing he is in a navy blue jumper is he isn’t taken at 1?
Yes quite correct, never played a game, but I don't think they delisted him, he simply walked away from AFL footy after a year and a half, he had had enough, mental illness was the key ingredient here.Didn't the tigers end up picking him up. Never played a game.
His combine sprint results were fairly good for a big guy.
He unloaded on tigers when they delisted him. Was suicidal if I remember.
Sent from my CPH2197 using Tapatalk
If it was next years draft we might of been able to get picks from a couple of years awayZilch! I think Carlton and Adelaide are fairly sure they are going to get their player, yes sometimes it happens where two or three clubs that love a player will talk about a trade and if that fails offer one of the teams above it a deal that they can't refuse to secure that player. I also don't think the crows or the blues are to worried about us picking their player, I know supporters like to think "Well if they want ??????? then they can pony up and give us an extra pick, or we will take him"!
I don't think that's how recruiters go about it, now some people at the club like list managers or recruiters might openly point out that they are looking at several players or that they are impressed by {throw out two or three names out there and make list managers & recruiters from other clubs think about it a little more closely and even make them think that they might not get their chosen player} but I do think clubs concentrate on what they are doing and the players they are after, prioritize their tasks, their main mission is to get the players that they have targeted, if that fails, their next player of talent on their list.
Apart from maybe a number one selection, if a recruiter after the draft is asked about their picks and did they get all the players they were after, they are not going to say; "yeah sort of, we missed out on ?????? and can't believe such & such picked ?????, but that's the way it goes". They are more likely to say "look, we targeted four players in {names the four players} and we got them, we are very happy and excited to bring in such talent, mission accomplished"! My philosophy in sport has always remained the same, NEVER let your opposition see your weakness/emotions if things don't go to plan, make them think the opposite, reverse psychology and that's what I feel the majority of clubs do, always put a positive spin on it, never a negative.
What about Reece McKenzie?
That hype was insane.
Waylon Mansen.He probably would’ve went 2nd round if he didnt do so poorly in the interviews/psyc assessments. It was pretty well know in recruiting circles that he really struggled with his mental health.
Going back even further Serhat Temel was another key forward that got pumped ridiculously on here!!