Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread Part Deux

I don't like the mention of Hardeman playing wing. He is the perfect long term HB flank. We need to leave young players to develop in their best positions and not throw the magnets around so much
yeah its kinda interesting that was mentioned in the media given mature guys in Scott, Stevens and Tucker playing those roles, not to mention potentially guys like Goater, Bergman, and McKercher. .......Is Hardemann turning heads in pre-season???

The gaslighting done by the media on this is nothing short of incredible. 2 for 6&10 is a win for the tigers, 2 for 10&11 would be outright robbery, yet in both of these scenarios somehow WE are the ones not offering enough?

I don't care how "even" this draft apparently is, the narrative that PICK TWO is not worth a pair of picks outside the top 5 is lunacy.
It’s flipping TigTok mate. The loudest group of supporters bombarding everything they can. They are on YouTube, radio, any social channel…..they even come in here.
A few of them state everything as absolute fact too…..they’ve got no idea, nobody does.
How many times have you read “The only way North could do that…..”
Best North could hope for would be…….” ……which usually involves some form of them shafting us………....faaaarrkkk off!!
“North have painted themselves into a corner……” was another ripper.
I’d never go to an oppo board, especially to force my opinion down their throats, but they have no issue. It’s weird.

I’m over reading their inane f*n garbage offers. I think they’ve over estimated their hand here.

They just sound like the usual, “Should just fold North!”, from the outer.

Offers are getting worse daily too. I think I read 11 and 18 for 2 and more, TODAY 😳. And Does North have the courage to do it? Gezuz.

Most of em make me picture a 40 year old bloke in a onesie in mum’s basement. Good luck to em. It’s working on the media, hopefully not on our blokes.

No deal with them, happy with that. Won’t matter anyway what happens, TigTok will make out like they absolutely shafted us either way and got the exact players they were after all along.

We need a pic of TigTok Kool-Aid….maybe I’ll mid journey one.

Stay strong peeps. We’ve only got pick 2, which is virtually the same as 6, they are universally the same. 😂 Even though there’s a top 5 of mids. Righto.

It’s flipping TigTok mate. The loudest group of supporters bombarding everything they can. They are on YouTube, radio, any social channel…..they even come in here.
A few of them state everything as absolute fact too…..they’ve got no idea, nobody does.
How many times have you read “The only way North could do that…..”
Best North could hope for would be…….” ……which usually involves some form of them shafting us………....faaaarrkkk off!!
“North have painted themselves into a corner……” was another ripper.
I’d never go to an oppo board, especially to force my opinion down their throats, but they have no issue. It’s weird.

I’m over reading their inane f*n garbage offers. I think they’ve over estimated their hand here.

They just sound like the usual, “Should just fold North!”, from the outer.

Offers are getting worse daily too. I think I read 11 and 18 for 2 and more, TODAY . And Does North have the courage to do it? Gezuz.

Most of em make me picture a 40 year old bloke in a onesie in mum’s basement. Good luck to em. It’s working on the media, hopefully not on our blokes.

No deal with them, happy with that. Won’t matter anyway what happens, TigTok will make out like they absolutely shafted us either way and got the exact players they were after all along.

We need a pic of TigTok Kool-Aid….maybe I’ll mid journey one.

Stay strong peeps. We’ve only got pick 2, which is virtually the same as 6, they are universally the same. Even though there’s a top 5 of mids. Righto.
Well said you forgot to add that apparently we have no key position players and we have to trade pick 2 for unders as it would be a waste to pick up another mid.

Last time I checked we picked up 3 X 200cm players in last years draft that are developing nicely ( Finbarr, Dawson and the ruckman Goad).

Sent from my CPH2197 using Tapatalk

I’m confident we will see the return of this in an AFL environment.

This was from Rnd 1 of his bottom age year.

He just didn’t have the same zip around the ball this year after his injuries as he showcased last year.

This is the type of guy we (might) be investing the draft pick for.

Not an 7 game sample size.

Someone with speed, agility, run and extremely strong overhead for his size. More than a bit of young Wayne Schwass about this video.

Well said you forgot to add that apparently we have no key position players and we have to trade pick 2 for unders as it would be a waste to pick up another mid.

Last time I checked we picked up 3 X 200cm players in last years draft that are developing nicely ( Finbarr, Dawson and the ruckman Goad).

Sent from my CPH2197 using Tapatalk

There’s been a general overlooking of our previous draft hands when this narrative comes up that we’re in some kind of trouble “only having pick 2” in this year’s draft.

Quickly ignored is the fact that we’ve drafted at 2, 3, 4, 4, 20, 22, 23, and 26 over the past 2 years. Who knows what we’ll walk away with this year, but it’ll add to the bounty.

Interesting. Some recruiters think Shanahan's best position long term is a defender.

I can see that. I reckon Shanahan is a very similar player to Josh Battle both in build and athleticism.

Battle didn’t quite develop into game breaking key forward, but with his smarts he is a more than capable defender.

I can see that. I reckon Shanahan is a very similar player to Josh Battle both in build and athleticism.

Battle didn’t quite develop into game breaking key forward, but with his smarts he is a more than capable defender.
Yeah he looks a natural forward but perhaps clubs don't stamp them as a key forward or back and are looking for versatility with their development to play either end. Interesting to see who takes him in the draft.

I’m confident we will see the return of this in an AFL environment.

This was from Rnd 1 of his bottom age year.

He just didn’t have the same zip around the ball this year after his injuries as he showcased last year.

This is the type of guy we (might) be investing the draft pick for.

Not an 7 game sample size.

Someone with speed, agility, run and extremely strong overhead for his size. More than a bit of young Wayne Schwass about this video.

Got caught a bit

Turned it over as well

I loved the smother and follow up tackle.

giphy.gif

Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread Part Deux