Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread Part Deux

Lol Terrible? Daniher was/is a GUN. He missed some easy set shots here n there, went missing occasionally as all big men do, no matter how good they are and could play in multiple positions. Genuine star
You missed the next part of that where I said he was godly during finals 😄

Hipwood is terrible. Morris was 18. In comparison we have Larkey and teakle with darling would be better then hipwood/Morris. So the key fwds almost even, danihers dynamicness probably edges it that way.

The club recognised the issue we have, went and recruited a 400 year old washed up ducking coward to fill a missing void. It is an issue not having a second genuine tall and there is no depth in our club to cover it. So yes, it is a “desperation” as they take time to develop and our list profile needs one ASAP
All I'm saying is not for a pick 2 reach. And ain't end of the world if we grab a FOS.

You missed the next part of that where I said he was godly during finals 😄

Hipwood is terrible. Morris was 18. In comparison we have Larkey and teakle with darling would be better then hipwood/Morris. So the key fwds almost even, danihers dynamicness probably edges it that way.
Thats the part im arguing against. You made it appear as though he’s only showed up then. He’s been godly during seasons too. He’s ripped quality defenders like Robbie Tarrant to pieces..

You don't even have the generosity to go pick 10, mate? That's just funny.

"Hey North, can you slide back 9 spots at the top of the draft in exchange or a rubbish pick in the 20s, but we also want to keep the pick in front of you, just in case we want to draft the guy that you're moving back for".
TigTok is everywhere. They are relentless these clowns. By Wednesday it’ll be 23+35 for 2.
Just chill Brady, just chill.

Thats the part im arguing against. You made it appear as though he’s only showed up then. He’s been godly during seasons too. He’s ripped quality defenders like Robbie Tarrant to pieces..
So has larkey though. But I do think different players, danihers speed and contested marking and ability to kick freaky goals lifts that fwd line

Lurking Richmond fans thinking about pick 2 trades need to consider, as a starting point, what they would accept from Melbourne for pick 1.

Would you take picks 9 & 19 (if Dees could obtain it)?

Would you even take 5 & 9 for 1?

Just start there and maybe go 10% either side of what you would take.
I’d even take 20% either side. They have no idea. It’s just about the Tiger Army winning the deal by miles……seems legit.

With the ruling o lawyers, litigation and insurance companies.. this is what contact sport has become.

Any signs of pre existing concussion/symptoms and thats career over.

Not saying someone wont take a punt, the boy can obviously play but you wont see clubs giving up huge capital for such risks. Might slip to mid/late second round
Perfect for Sydney/Geelong types that can afford the risk. Not for us, unfortunately.

One week to go. Exciting times.
GIF by Demic
Sum up our season in a gif thread worthy!

Geez it’d be disappointing to see Trainor go to Sydney.

I can’t for the life of me understand why he has seemingly slipped in last 2 months. Unless of course his Medicals suggested there might be some concerns with his concussion history.

I’d be more worried about Hotton’s ACL or Tauru’s back stress fractures.
I have posted this before. When I spoke to a mate of mine who was involved in coaching Trainor he said the concussions he had were minor and according to him nothing to worry about.
I would love to get him and Gerryn with F2 F3 picks and FOS/Lalor with 2

Sh** haven't looked at the draft in a while, what's our chances of getting Sam Lalor you reckon?

OK. So what result with our pick 2 would cause the biggest melts? Jagga Smith? Smillie?

For me personally, probably Tauru, Smillie and FOS. FOS has been bog average all year. Whilst other players that will be taken around his pick are on the upward trajectory in terms of their development, FOS has gone backwards or stagnated. Tauru and Smillie are too much of a reach for pick 2.

I have posted this before. When I spoke to a mate of mine who was involved in coaching Trainor he said the concussions he had were minor and according to him nothing to worry about.

That would be a top tier haul considering our current draft hand.

Astonishing, but we all see things differently, there are a few players that I don't rate quite as high as some, that will be the same for some of the recruiters, not long to go now, to find out. This could be the most watched draft in history.
This is true. 17 clubs could rank Gerreyn outside the top 40 on their whiteboards, but if the 18th club considers him worthy of a first-round pick and they have the draft capital, then he becomes a first-rounder forevermore.

Agree that we must take Lalor at 2 if Richmond select otherwise. Lalor is powerful, can take a contested mark and kick goals.
The most important element to his possible selection is the aggressive defensive nature of his game. The guy was averaging more than 8 tackles a game. We need to drastically change our forward pressure.

Lalor Comben Curtis
Darling Larkey (eventually) Konstanty

This drastically increases our pressure and protects us from being gutted on the rebound.

The most important element to his possible selection is the aggressive defensive nature of his game. The guy was averaging more than 8 tackles a game. We need to drastically change our forward pressure.

Lalor Comben Curtis
Darling Larkey (eventually) Konstanty

This drastically increases our pressure and protects us from being gutted on the rebound.

I really like Lalor and his defensive intensity but not sure he has the top end speed nor the tank to be a real defensive animal across half forward.

Dusty/Rayner/De Goey/Zurhaar were all in that same boat.

Three in two seasons against kids. Trauma in a developing brain is definitely something to worry about.

Wtf? I never heard about stress fractures. That is a worry.

Came about after the combine as he experienced some soreness. He mentioned on gettable that he probably won't be back into full training until after Christmas.

For a high flying type, I think all his niggly injuries are a bit concerning.

Back Stress Fractures (2024)
Hip Tendonitis (2024)

Then in 2023....https://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/alix-tauru/

However his 2023 season could not have gotten off to a worse start, suffering an ankle injury in a practice match, then dislocating a finger outside of footy. He would manage two games for the Power scoring goals in both games, while also making his senior debut with Warragul Industrials in the West Gippsland Football League where he performed well as a forward. Overall, Tauru missed a total of 14 weeks combined of injury.

Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread Part Deux