Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread Part Deux

They could package up their three F3's (Crows, GWS & Dees I think) for a F2. I'm sure there's lots of deals flying around.
No way anyone does that.
In order to trade there f1 they would need to trade in a f2 but they could target Sydney's or Brisbane's and get a late one.
No club at the bottom of the ladder would trade 3 f3s for a decent second.
Not worth our time downgrading from 2 for a pick in the 30s.
4 + f1 is the only viable option.
It probably involves our f2 going back. Still great imo. Second round picks are overrated trash.

Ha ha ha, oh dear, god bless our opposition supporters, if the shoe were indeed on the other foot 99% of supporters would be saying the exact thing most of us are saying, and we are actually aware that it is a deep draft but, you knew there was going to be a but didn't you, that top six are elite in there own ways so maybe a bit of a compromise will be in order, I think baring some crazy move up the order, our deal is in play and the thing we don't know yet but you can be sure come draft night is we are going to have the picks to get the players, 3/4, that we want, its just we aren't quite sure who those three/four players are.

Sure but we’d be happy to deal with them if they do. In order Tigers, Dees and Saints are my preferences if we’re splitting pick 2.
I reckon Dees will take Tauru at 9. Langford at 5. That’s according to a mate on a coterie club thing involved with Dees.

I reckon they should be taking Smith.

I really, really, really like Draper's highlight vids.

****!!!!!

Why does this kid have to come from Adelaide!?!?!?!
Have you watched Langford’s Dan ? I didn’t think I’d rate him but there’s something ridiculous about him too. Bit of luke hodge vibes, but bigger. Looks seriously good. I couldn’t pick that he was as slow as others talk about. Just wins the footy

I watched his stuff a few months ago.

Handy utility type that can play anywhere.

Prefer Draper but I'd take Langford over Tauru with pick 2.

I thought a taller Jordan Lewis

I really, really, really like Draper's highlight vids.

****!!!!!

Why does this kid have to come from Adelaide!?!?!?!
Yes, I understand what your saying Dan, but two totally different players, Judas was more of a half forward who could spend a little bit of time in the middle/wing and was dangerous around goals as evident of the way he played with South Adelaide in their quest for the finals, he didn't quite have the tank to do it for a whole game and its taken him time to get that tank up to where it should be.

Sid is a pure midfielder, make no bones about that, some of those games in the seniors for South this year were very very good and he hasn't even scratched the surface of his potential. Now some might say but he can't do this or he can't play there, this brings me to two things, 1/ He's 18 years of age, a couple of years in the system and your going to see how good Sid is going to be and all those supporters whose team may or may not have trade capital to get into that pick two pick will be saying "far out, why the bloody hell didn't we trade up to get him"? Our answer will simply be, because it was a deep draft! :rolleyesv1:

2/ Some people are worried that where one South Australian sprinted back home to Adelaide, the other one might do the same, but while you can never be 100% sure, from everything I've heard he's the complete opposite to Judas, would love to stay and play for the crows but if drafted by another team he will dedicate all his efforts into being the best player that he knows how to be and his learning patterns are very very good. As he gets better, learns more about AFL Football and develops his body, I see no reason why he can't play another position like his midfield role and be just as dangerous.

He’s every bit as good as the other top 4 mids.

No doubt he could end up the best of the draft.

Certainly you would say that Langford carries the footy better than FOS. Running bounces would be 3:1 Langfords way in the highlight videos. I’d have him as a better kick too. I’d have him as a better mark (and that’s saying something vs FOS). Doesn’t have the defensive dogged nature of FOS. Both hit the scoreboard. Both versatile. Both evasive in traffic (maybe Langford a little better).

And he seems to accumulate with ease

My final AFL 2024 National Draft, I have thought long and hard about this and quite a few changes in one of the most interesting drafts I've ever seen, I would say that its deep and that it offers plenty of value but I think we may have heard this once or twice already. As in my early one, the players with an asterisk are the players in this draft that I have a very big opinion of and I will only be doing the first two rounds, father/sons and academy players will be highlighted.
THE 2024 AFL NATIONAL DRAFT

#1 Sam Lalor *
#2 Sid Draper *
#3 Finn O'Sullivan *
#4 Levi Ashcroft Father/son *
#5 Harvey Langford
#6 Jagga Smith
#7 Josh Smillie *
#8 Harry Armstrong *
#9 Alix Tauru *
#10 Leo Lombard GC Academy
Isaac Kako Ess NGA
Toby Travaglia
#13 Murphy Reid
#14 Xavier Lindsay
#15 Sam Marshall Bris Academy
Jack Whitlock
#17 Joe Berry
#18 Taj Hotton
#19 Luke Trainor
#20 Jobe Shanahan
#21 Bo Allan
#22 Alex Dobson
END OF FIRST ROUND

SECOND ROUND

#23 Jonty Faull
#24 Matt Whitlock
#25 Noah Mraz
#26 Kayle Gerreyn *
#27 Ben Campareale Father/son
Luke Urquhart
#29 Tom Gross
#30 Jesse Dattoli
#31 Harry O'Farrell
#32 Hamish Davis
#33 Christian Moraes
#34 Tyler Welsh Father/son
Lachie Jaques
#36 Hugh Boxshall
#37 Harrison Oliver
#38 Thomas Sims
#39 Malaki Champion WCE NGA
Lucas Campareale Father/son
Cooper Hynes
#42 Rhys Unwin
#43 Cody Anderson
#44 Oliver Hannaford
END OF SECOND ROUND

No way anyone does that.
In order to trade there f1 they would need to trade in a f2 but they could target Sydney's or Brisbane's and get a late one.
No club at the bottom of the ladder would trade 3 f3s for a decent second.
Not worth our time downgrading from 2 for a pick in the 30s.
4 + f1 is the only viable option.
It probably involves our f2 going back. Still great imo. Second round picks are overrated trash.
In any deal we'd want pick 4 and something else. What the something else is is either a F1 with our F2 going back (but not sure Crows do that to move up) or they acquire a F2 or 28/31 off Bombres perhaps to go along with pick 4 using two of their F3's (their own, Dees or GWS I believe).

And even then we might not be keen on just a F2 or 2nd rounder to slide back two spots in the order.
Bombres paid pick 32 to move up one spot in the order (admittedly from 11 to 10), so two spots I'm not sure what the price would be for that but an early 2nd at least you would think or they downgrade their F1 to our F2.

Watch his latest vid……personally think he suits us the most out of all the top prospects. But I do like things about all of Lalor, FOS, Draper and Langford.

He seems like a surprisingly good mover from the footage. The footage refutes the poor speed testing combine results.

Elite traits that seperate him:

Competitiveness and intensity: just goes when it’s his turn.

Evasiveness: deft sidesteps and work through traffic is done with ease

Spacial awareness (footysmarts): knows where players are and how to get the footy to them.

Marking: launches fearlessly at the ball. Seems to have decent hops.

If we keep 2, my order of preference for the available top 5 are:

Langford>Draper>Lalor>Smith>FOS.

Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread Part Deux