Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread Part Deux

Brisbane won a premiership with daniher (godly during the finals) hipwood and Logan Morris. Terrible key fwds overall considering.

Collingwood mihocek and don't event know?

Earlier Richmond riewoldt alone then with lynch, really good combo but no depth behind them for injuries.

Geelong recently a good Hawkins with, was it neale and Henry or just Henry? Still not screaming out but good.

Larkey alone is good, our "desperation" for a fwd isn't as bad as what we all make out.

In FOS we trust. Or Lalor. Or whoever. If we get a good deal then brilliant we got a tall but who cares either way we ain't desperate
Cameron is a fairly reasonable forward for Geelong.

Well its nice to know that draft picks are now known as "assets'. Must give potential draftees a warm and fuzzy feeling deep inside, that terminology.

Anyway, on a Balance Sheet, there are always liabilities as well.

I'm looking forward to *essendon and port adelaide, sharing all the future "liabilities" between them, in equal measure. That's what those two clubs deserve.
It stems from the language used in American sports to talk of players and picks as trade assets.

Getting anything from the Crows (2XF3) and drafting Langford at 4 would be shrewd.

Then attaching one of those future thirds with our F1st for Tauru.

Walk away with two powerful and dynamic 190cm+ players.
I don't think you take two F3's as those are essentially worth very little next year with the Draft Value Index changing and it's possibly not as deeper draft. It's up to the Crows to get a better quality pick with their F3's and F4's.

Look mate. I just want Tauru taken and I get one of those mids and I haven’t lost a future first to do so

I knew this, I was just gently cajoling you until you finally came clean.

This is a safe space full of lo… get him guys.

It stems from the language used in American sports to talk of players and picks as trade assets.
Yes, trade assets are players/picks that can be traded for positive value. Which implies that the liabilities are players that have negative trade value. Like when you sign a guy like Ben Simmons to a 5 year $177M contract and he is suddenly scared to shoot FTs.

Imagine the melts on this board if, in the end, all we end up doing is taking Tauru at 2 & someone we’ve never heard of at 62.
We’d want Brady’s head on a stake!!

Swap pick 2 for Adelaide 4 & a sweetener (F2)
Take the slider of the best 4 mids (& the one we wanted all along)
Trade our F1 for Richmond’s 10 & 23 to take Tauru/Armstrong & then the best of who’s left - one of Lindsey, Trainor, Berry, Shanahan, Hotton, Faull, Hannaford, Whitlock x2 would be available at 23

I've seen Tauru compared to Sicily and Tom Stewart. Are these comparisons fair? I reckon those players are hard to predict at 18 years old because so much of it is mentality.

Imagine the melts on this board if, in the end, all we end up doing is taking Tauru at 2 & someone we’ve never heard of at 62.

Trade our F1 for Richmond’s 10 & 23 to take Tauru/Armstrong & then the best of who’s left - one of Lindsey, Trainor, Berry, Shanahan, Hotton, Faull, Hannaford, Whitlock x2 would be available at 23
If our recruiters are worried about Big Footy feedback, that would be heads on stakes time.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

Imagine the melts if we don't draft Tauru and he ends up being an all-time great player...

I don't think you take two F3's as those are essentially worth very little next year with the Draft Value Index changing and it's possibly not as deeper draft. It's up to the Crows to get a better quality pick with their F3's and F4's.
Until now third rounders are normally the picks used to match bids, next year with the point changes, it is likely to be second rounders. So while we'd be less able to bundle a few thirds up for a team looking for points, those third round picks will move up the order more as second round picks get used. While Pick 18 may get pushed back to 23, Pick 40 could move up to 33 or so, depending on how academy players go early. They could be more useful than they at first look.

I've seen Tauru compared to Sicily and Tom Stewart. Are these comparisons fair? I reckon those players are hard to predict at 18 years old because so much of it is mentality.

Nothing like them. He can (at times) intercept mark like them. But his marking is due to raw athleticism and power rather than elite footy positioning, IQ and defensive craft. Doesn’t have the skills of either of those two.

Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread Part Deux