Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread Part Deux

If this draft ends up being as good as everyone says it is, then why not do it? I'd imagine the coaching staff and list team would be very keen to wrap up the heavy drafting after this year.

Regardless of what we do it's going to be captivating (and very very scary) to watch... Can't think of the last time we genuinely had no idea what we were gonna do on draft night. Maybe 2020 with WillPhil?
It's good, but it's not that good. There are players every year. We will have pick 1 to 6 in 2025. Lets not trade it out for double figures.

Has there ever been a draft with so much funny buggers? I've read that Carlton don't care if FOS is there at 3, they probably wouldn't take him anyway. I've heard that Adelaide aren't keen on Draper and that Draper is not that keen on Adelaide. I've seen Richmond happy to hold pick 6 because Simile will probably still be on the board, Demons excited about the prospect of Tauru still being there at 5, and of course us having a transparent interest in beating Melbourne to Tauru by pulling the trigger at 2. Will be an interesting first round.
We ain’t picking Taura at 2 mate. He ain’t rated as the no. 2 pick, and whilst improved this year, he has a long way to go. NMFC will pick the best rated talent at 2, which will be one of the top midlfielders. The only way we’d be picking Tauru, is by dropping down the order. However no club at the moment is willing to do so given the strength of the draft, which means NMFC would have to pay massive overs.

6,10 and 18 for 2 and our F1 is terrible for us.

Giving up 2 likely top 5 picks for none in return is a hanging offence.
Absolutely it is a terrible deal for us. And yet the tigers wouldn’t do it if offered, so I agree with the original post…the tigers could be looking back on this draft as a big wasted opportunity. They should have jumped at the chance of getting the 1 and 2.

North at 2/4

Melbourne at 5+9 (with herald sun running with the view they will take him at 5 if you don’t)
Richmond at 6
St Kilda at 7+ 8

All rate him highly.

He has an insane athletic profile for a tall. He was having significant impact on games at the back end of the year WHILST also playing in pain as he had an undiagnosed back stress fracture.

And as a talent he is probably the rawest in the top 20.

Yes there is an element of swinging for the fences taking him in the top 5. But whoever takes him is the club taking the kid with the biggest potential in this draft class.

His full game clips have all been posted on big footy if you have a spare 30 minutes. He puts together a fair end to the season as he starts to work out what he is capable of.
Let me tell you something Stavros, clubs lie to media at this time of year. And media sometimes make stuff up.

I reckon that the draft decision makers deserve a little faith because they have nailed the last few years of draft picks, in my opinion. I'm not saying 100% but very good drafting.

So all of the worrying about these unsubstantiated rumours are probably worth a wait and see.
They were given a hand stuffed with aces. I feel as if they have done 25% better than the average BF poster.

I’ve never seen a player improve so much so fast without even playing. By draft night Tauru may end up favourite for pick 1.
But he did play... very well too. Was one of if not the best player for Gippy in the last few weeks of the season, especially in finals.

My question is, say we draft FOS which looks most likely out of the mids assuming Lalor is pick 1, would we play him off half back? Does that mean Zac Fisher doesn't play next year? Not sure FOS or any mid we draft will fit in that midfield next year.

But he did play... very well too. Was one of if not the best player for Gippy in the last few weeks of the season, especially in finals.

My question is, say we draft FOS which looks most likely out of the mids assuming Lalor is pick 1, would we play him off half back? Does that mean Zac Fisher doesn't play next year? Not sure FOS or any mid we draft will fit in that midfield next year.
FOS can play anywhere

Wing, hbf, hff, mid

Very versatile player

Do you think Tauru would play a lot for North next year, if selected?
All I’m saying is it’s not really about next year, more for the next 10 after that.
I have no idea who we are taking, but pick 2 you want a pretty safe bet of 150-200+ games.

It’s really strange isn’t it. Like I don’t think he was rated top 15, until trade week. …..maybe from the combine, around there.

He might have been rated higher where it counts. The draft watchers generally adjust their rankings when some information starts coming out.

Do you think Tauru would play a lot for North next year, if selected?
All I’m saying is it’s not really about next year, more for the next 10 after that.
I have no idea who we are taking, but pick 2 you want a pretty safe bet of 150-200+ games.
Depends on
1. Whether they play hm forward or back
2. Where he fits on the pecking order for both after the pre-season
3. What their plans are for W Dawson, Finnbar and Chom
4. How Alix's back holds up

So who knows he could easily play any amount of games next year.

But just imagine our tall stocks in a few years:
Comben (23 y/o now), Tauru (18 y/o), W Dawson (18 y/o), Finnbar (21 y/o), Larkey (26 y/o), Duursma (19 y/o)
Plus whoever we recruit later down the line.

I'm very confident Tauru and BGZ will be stars, hopefully Finnbar and W Dawson as well. That is a pretty incredible spine if you ask me.

Also not the same situation but GWS reached a little bit to get Cadman at 1 and that has worked out great for them so far

Depends on
1. Whether they play hm forward or back
2. Where he fits on the pecking order for both after the pre-season
3. What their plans are for W Dawson, Finnbar and Chom
4. How Alix's back holds up

So who knows he could easily play any amount of games next year.

But just imagine our tall stocks in a few years:
Comben (23 y/o now), Tauru (18 y/o), W Dawson (18 y/o), Finnbar (21 y/o), Larkey (26 y/o), Duursma (19 y/o)
Plus whoever we recruit later down the line.

I'm very confident Tauru and BGZ will be stars, hopefully Finnbar and W Dawson as well. That is a pretty incredible spine if you ask me.

Also not the same situation but GWS reached a little bit to get Cadman at 1 and that has worked out great for them so far
So you are all in on Tauru at 2? Or think we should be pushing back?

I would love nothin more than we take him and he’s an absolute rockstar in the Carey mould. But it’s a big risk.

Doesn’t sound like a worthy pick at 2 then. Given Murphy was what, pick 39 in his draft year? And some on this forum think we should take him at 2. What a waste of a pick

Not referring to Murphy as a prospect - more what he turned out to be as a player for Collingwood, sorry should have prefaced that.

Ask any Collingwood supporter and they’ll tell you how important Murphy was.

Either way, I like Tauru as a forward and he’s not my preferred player at 2. Just putting it out there, definitely not a waste of a pick, especially if we trade back.

So you are all in on Tauru at 2? Or think we should be pushing back?

I would love nothin more than we take him and he’s an absolute rockstar in the Carey mould. But it’s a big risk.
Wherever they take him I will accept. We have been crying out for a top end key position player with one of our high picks for years. I will also accept it if they take FOS/Lalor or whoever else. Having Pick 2 means we will be getting a special player regardless. It's then up to the development staff to make them a good player, not Brady and the list guys.

Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread Part Deux