Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread

Interesting that the media has been spruiking an "even" draft, but Lalor and FOS have been consistently 1 and 2.

I think the gap between them and the rest of the top 6 will widen over the next few weeks, so we're better off holding off until the draft.

Richmond are 100% trying to play mind games through the media with the links to Smillie. Having interest in a slow, big bodied outside mid (McGowan calling him a Patty Cripps clone did make me lol) when you have Taranto and Hopper already makes zero sense.

But because he's likely to be available at 6, it helps support the narrative that they're getting a player roughly equal to pick 2 at that spot.

Best just to plan to take FOS and wait for Richmond to panic.

Due to our club being absolute minnows the last decade, you can say the only thing our club had been able to enjoy is the draft. This year, even before trading our picks away, I just dont see it.

Watched endless amounts of highlights, watched the State teams.. yes the metro v country game was phenomenal viewing but it wasn’t because of ability. It was scrappy and down a level from previous years.

Clubs want multiple picks because they’re likely to miss. North rumours is they are searching for talls.. I reckon the talls were incredibly underwhelming, hence why I have Gerreyn so high as a Kpf.

Im no expert draft watcher, I probably have no idea, but it just doesn’t scream out of elite talent everywhere.

FWIW, I wouldn’t be giving up our F1st because if we finish dead last and miss out on Sharp i’ll be fuming.
I’m not a draft expert. But via a mate who works with Vic Metro I was able to get to a few games and get some insight into this draft class.

Now everyone can have their own opinion on the talent and your expectations of what you’re getting from it. Also I’m well aware it’s not my clubs board, but I’m responding because you quoted me and I think it’s polite.

This class in my opinion is loaded with talent and it wouldn’t surprise me if 5 years from now there have been clubs who have drafted guns in the 30s or 40s. My issue with this draft class however is that there is no Harley Reid level talent, I’m not sure there is a Sheezel level - right now. But I think there are a number of players who have bigger ceilings then Wardlaw (I mean this with respect).

With that being the issue I’ve identified, my opinion the entire way through has been that I would hate to have pick 1 this year. It’s too even. There hasn’t been a standout talent. Infact I think we have had 5 or even 6 players now all linked as potential pick 1s since March.

Now for Richmond, it won’t matter. There isn’t risk because of their plethora of picks.

My opinion changes dramatically if I look at your club and mine specifically.

I personally think the worst thing your club can do is trade your future first into this draft - because it’s likely coming in no earlier than pick 14 and you will get significantly under what it should be worth as it’s a likely top 5 pick.

For my club, I’ve hated the idea of bundling picks to move up and have preferred trading our f1 in for a third first rounder - HOWEVER I am softening on that mindset in favour of sending 8+F1 to you for 2 and taking FOS and hoping Jagga slides to 7.

You blokes get the best tall which I think suits your list and our F1 - which makes so much sense to use trading back in with as it’s at worst pick 5 at best p12ish.

I’ve rated 2 talls all year as very good. Armstrong and Trainor. But geez, Tauru just looks special and he came hard late.

Either way, any and all of these picks will need a fair bit of work and development. But the scope and potential is amazing.

As I highlighted. Not disputing his aerial prowess but decision making and skills are sub par.
At least Walsh can kick and make good decisions.
We have a bloke called Finnbar Maley who is pretty handy in the air (Viney even made the Jeremy Howe comparison) who we picked up in the rookie draft. High draft picks have to have elite disposal, being able to take a mark is not enough. I like Tauru, but gee I really hope he is not the guy we read out with our first pick.

doesn't matter who jagga plays for. He'll be top 5 at the club first year and he'll only get better from there.
Top 5 is massive stretch.

Who will he jump over?
Gulden, Warner, Heeney, Grundy & Blakey
Neale, Ashcroft, Dunkley, Andrews, McCluggage
Cripps, Curnow, McKay, Weitering, Walsh
Brayshaw, Serong, Young, Ryan, Clark
Bont, Trelour, Dale, JUH, Darcy.

Top 5 is massive stretch.

Who will he jump over?
Gulden, Warner, Heeney, Grundy & Blakey
Neale, Ashcroft, Dunkley, Andrews, McCluggage
Cripps, Curnow, McKay, Weitering, Walsh
Brayshaw, Serong, Young, Ryan, Clark
Bont, Trelour, Dale, JUH, Darcy.
Harry Sheezel jumped over everyone in his first season. Not a stretch at all. A least bit at our club and quite a few others.

North only split 2 for 6 and 18 if we are taking Armstrong/Tauru at 2 either way. That way it works for North. If we aren’t taking one of them that early I doubt we move for it.

FOS, Lalor, Draper or Langford make sense for our list and the club loves a high end mid.

It would be an absolute failure by Tuggers if they don't pick Smith at 1.

He is a prolific ball winner and proven mid at every level so far. Although, not at Daicos or Sheezal level he is the best of this draft.

Lalor may have the greatest upside but will take several years to reach that potential and may end up being a good average big bodied plodder like LOL HOPPER.

That's why they will be desperate for pick 2 so that they have a one in two chance of getting one right.

P.S Tuggers we are not picking Tauru at 2.
It will be the best mid.

Sent from my CPH2197 using Tapatalk

Melbourne or Adelaide wouldn’t be able to blabber his name quick enough.

I’m not a draft expert. But via a mate who works with Vic Metro I was able to get to a few games and get some insight into this draft class.

Now everyone can have their own opinion on the talent and your expectations of what you’re getting from it. Also I’m well aware it’s not my clubs board, but I’m responding because you quoted me and I think it’s polite.

This class in my opinion is loaded with talent and it wouldn’t surprise me if 5 years from now there have been clubs who have drafted guns in the 30s or 40s. My issue with this draft class however is that there is no Harley Reid level talent, I’m not sure there is a Sheezel level - right now. But I think there are a number of players who have bigger ceilings then Wardlaw (I mean this with respect).

With that being the issue I’ve identified, my opinion the entire way through has been that I would hate to have pick 1 this year. It’s too even. There hasn’t been a standout talent. Infact I think we have had 5 or even 6 players now all linked as potential pick 1s since March.

Now for Richmond, it won’t matter. There isn’t risk because of their plethora of picks.

My opinion changes dramatically if I look at your club and mine specifically.

I personally think the worst thing your club can do is trade your future first into this draft - because it’s likely coming in no earlier than pick 14 and you will get significantly under what it should be worth as it’s a likely top 5 pick.

For my club, I’ve hated the idea of bundling picks to move up and have preferred trading our f1 in for a third first rounder - HOWEVER I am softening on that mindset in favour of sending 8+F1 to you for 2 and taking FOS and hoping Jagga slides to 7.

You blokes get the best tall which I think suits your list and our F1 - which makes so much sense to use trading back in with as it’s at worst pick 5 at best p12ish.

I’ve rated 2 talls all year as very good. Armstrong and Trainor. But geez, Tauru just looks special and he came hard late.

Either way, any and all of these picks will need a fair bit of work and development. But the scope and potential is amazing.

There’s not a single midfielder with Wardlaw’s ceiling in this draft. The closest one is probably Draper if he puts it all together. But GW is the superior athlete.

The fact you had to think and said “not sure” regarding Sheezel (statistically the second best teenager in AFL history) tells me enough tbh.

We have the second pick in the draft, so have as much stake as anyone. We will not be getting a better midfielder than Sheezel, Wardlaw or McKercher out of this draft. Nobody will.

Specifically?

I counted 1 turn over that lead to a goal.

Maybe about 3-4 other kicks/handballs that went to a 50/50

And then about 15 possessions that hit their target
Look I’m probably being a bit over critical because I really don’t want to take him inside the top 10 but here you go nonetheless.

0.17s - in space, 40m kick over the head of the leading target.

0.34 - loopy/high dangerous kick inboard to a 50-50 contest.

1.34 - lazy loopy kick results in turnover and opposition goal.

1.45 - poor handball to the feet of Is teammate.

2.10 - nothing loopy kick to CHF that results in a turnover. Poor decision to pivot and kick in board with no penetration.

3.38 - two loopy handballs in a row that put his teammates under pressure.

4.10 - genuine shank, turnover.

Technically I don’t think he is a bad kick and he is more than capable of hitting low % kicks, but man some of his 25-35m kicks get way too much hang time, he won’t get away with that at the speed of VFL and AFL level imo.

Look I’m probably being a bit over critical because I really don’t want to take him inside the top 10 but here you go nonetheless.

2.10 - nothing loopy kick to CHF that results in a turnover. Poor decision to pivot and kick in board with no penetration.

Technically I don’t think he is a bad kick and he is more than capable of hitting low % kicks, but man some of his 25-35m kicks get way too much hang time, he won’t get away with that at the speed of VFL and AFL level imo.
I must admit his kicking does tend to hang in the air a bit

roos_fanatic08 Sphynx Souup with the narrative seeming to be the club strong on Draper at 2, how do you think he fits into the future of our team? Reckon he plays off HB or wing?

He’s not really either. Which makes it an interesting rumor. He can play a bit forward.

He’s very much a center square, clearance midfielder. His recruitment would spell a lot of issues for Powell and Phillips.

It’s an interesting situation. North seem more desperate to split pick 2 than Richmond are to acquire it
Amazed you found time from draft strategy meetings with Hartley- to come here to let us know what to do with pick 2

North only split 2 for 6 and 18 if we are taking Armstrong/Tauru at 2 either way. That way it works for North. If we aren’t taking one of them that early I doubt we move for it.

FOS, Lalor, Draper or Langford make sense for our list and the club loves a high end mid.

This is bang on. And if we have a surplus gun mid we trade them for need.

If we have surplus dud mids then our midfield wasn’t as good as people think it is.

6+18???? F**k me!!! Geez I hope you are wrong.
I think we do it if our plan is to take Tauru or Armstrong at pick 2. Doesn’t make sense to stay if you get a player you want and an extra.
If we plan on taking FOS or another mid we need to be convinced to move back. I don’t think we do 6 and 18 at that point.

I think we do it if our plan is to take Tauru or Armstrong at pick 2. Doesn’t make sense to stay if you get a player you want and an extra.
If we plan on taking FOS or another mid we need to be convinced to move back. I don’t think we do 6 and 18 at that point.
Yeah ok. There’s no guarantees though. Pretty big gamble. I don’t think we would be any chance to take armstrong or Tauru at 2.

Then he chisels that kick inside 45 to a teammate streaming through the middle.

surround him with mckercher, daniel and Hardeman once he’s intercepted at chb

I reckon 2 for 6, 18 and 20 gets done.
Well, that's possible, so many different pick swaps it could go a number of ways, I still think Richmond are going to do it, trade picks #6 and #10 for our pick #2 and a future 2nd or 3rd rounder, they will want the two best talents on their list at pick 1 and 2 no matter how many tiger supporters come on here and say otherwise, I don't believe they will get their top two players any other way and even though they will end up with a good player at 6, I'm betting he won't be from that elite group.