Training 2024 Pre-Season discussion

I don’t worry too much about Dempsey getting an opportunity.

The reality is this is not a side stacked with young talent, if he can’t break in, there is a problem there.

I feel like we have assessed talent pretty well as a club over last 5 years or so.

We haven’t made too many bad calls.

Big year for Dempsey. I like him. He finds space in the forward half.

I think that is an excellent summary. I watched most vfl games last year and it was noticeable that he was more subdued and doing more of the “hard work” rather than the flashy stuff. In fact one of the games I was down next to the bench…he came off after going and getting the ball and doing something spectacular for the team….and Egan came over and said that was great but you won’t be able to do that yet in the afl…you need to focus on playing the role we want (which was creating space and running) that will translate into afl if we need you etc. given I assume he wants to play afl he would be doing what he is told will give him best chance.

what I hope is that 2023 was a year of learning (given his background) and creating good habits - and putting the flare away. But that he now has confidence (vfl team of the year, last afl game) to combine the flare and mundane?

I still think he needs and injury to be a round 1 selection. I could argue there is a spot with Smith retirement (who did a lot of HHF). Ollie could take that or Miers could and open his spot for Ollie. But when I do the team I can’t find Dempsey a spot (and he is also competing with man agh). So injruy is the opportunity? From then it is just form

in terms of drive and hard work I have upto info from my track watcher…

Dempsey won the offical shuttle test this week. He has been second the last 3 offical ones (to three different people…Miers then Bowes then Knevitt) and this week he was battling it out with MOC (Knevitte and Miers a couple of seconds beind). Apparantly staff were really impressed - not just the run but the grit…he was 10 metres behind MOC with not long to go and “out-willed” him to get over the line.

in the end he needs to be able to compete and get the ball and make goals happen - but winning things like this keeps his name in the mix with the coaches I suspect. Think it could still be a frustrating year for him but who knows
Ok so now I have the weirdest erection

The reality is this is not a side stacked with young talent, if he can’t break in, there is a problem there.

I feel like we have assessed talent pretty well as a club over last 5 years or so.

Agree for the most part, but it's a strange reasoning you've got there.

Dempsey will have these names almost certainly ahead of him.

• Stengle
  • Close
  • Miers
  • Henry
  • Rohan
  • Mannagh

In the midfield, (where he can also play) he'll almost certainly have these names ahead of him.

• Dangerfield
  • Blicavs
  • Atkins
  • Guthrie
  • Holmes
  • Bruhn
  • Bowes

The main names he's competing with as the first cabs off the rank are Knevitt, Clark, Willis, & Parfitt, which he should be at the front of.

But to act like it's going to be easy for him to be a walkup start is a bit much.

He's competing with veterans, All Australians, high draft picks, and players in their prime. We're not talking about scrubs here.

To go a step further, these players are all expected to either be best 22, or play significant gametime in 2024.

• Sam De Koning (First round pick)
  • Tanner Bruhn (First round pick)
  • Connor O'Sullivan (First round pick)
  • Ollie Henry (First round pick)
  • Max Holmes (First round pick)
  • Jhye Clark (First round pick)
  • Mitch Knevitt (Early second round pick)
  • Toby Conway (Early second round pick)
  • Shannon Neale (Early second pick)
  • Oisin Mullin (Irish prodigy who the club love)

*Not included: Willis, Stevens, Humphries, Wiltshire, etc.

We're not Gold Coast or Sydney, but we're not as far off as you're making it out to be.

Ollie's going to be competing with high quality senior players, and a large contingent of highly rated/drafted young footballers.

He's a ripper of a kid, and will work his butt off to get into our side...but to act like if he isn't featuring week to week then it's game over is a bit of a stretch.

He's going to be up against it, and I reckon he'll find a way...but I'm not going to be writing him off if he doesn't.

We have a wide squad. I think back to the last 15 years on the guys that could have made it if favoured by the MC but did because they weren't.

Agree for the most part, but it's a strange reasoning you've got there.

• Stengle
  • Close
  • Miers
  • Henry
  • Rohan
  • Mannagh

In the midfield, (where he can also play) he'll almost certainly have these names ahead of him.

• Dangerfield
  • Blicavs
  • Atkins
  • Guthrie
  • Holmes
  • Bruhn
  • Bowes

The main names he's competing with as the first cabs off the rank are Knevitt, Clark, Willis, & Parfitt, which he should be at the front of.

But to act like it's going to be easy for him to be a walkup start is a bit much.

He's competing with veterans, All Australians, high draft picks, and players in their prime. We're not talking about scrubs here.

To go a step further, these players are all expected to either be best 22, or play significant gametime in 2024.

We're not Gold Coast or Sydney, but we're not as far off as you're making it out to be.

Ollie's going to be competing with high quality senior players, and a large contingent of highly rated/drafted young footballers.

He's a ripper of a kid, and will work his butt off to get into our side...but to act like if he isn't featuring week to week then it's game over is a bit of a stretch.

He's going to be up against it, and I reckon he'll find a way...but I'm not going to be writing him off if he doesn't.
Even if he isn't best 22, Dempsey will just about to be first in line when any of those players miss (Knevitt the other) and there's probably over 20 games of "scraps" from that source.

Smith gone, Tuohy and Bews should be pushed out minus a turnaround. 3 new spots and likely careful rotation of senior players on top of injuries. Dempsey should be getting 15 plus games this season.

So a player's weight is now deemed private information, to follow on from the cessation of skinfolds.

I guess the logical progression is that the AFL then have time trials and other performance data concealed, for fear of comparison and injury to delicate egos.

Then they should probably stonewall any information on what role a player has on-field, so the footy public doesn't intrude on their sense of privacy in their workplace.

Maybe the AFL could further shield them from scrutiny in their well-paid roles by locking the crowds out, so they're not in the public gaze and feel even safer.
Don't forget not revealing age.

That's way too personal! :rolleyes:

What a joke.

So a player's weight is now deemed private information, to follow on from the cessation of skinfolds.

I guess the logical progression is that the AFL then have time trials and other performance data concealed, for fear of comparison and injury to delicate egos.

Then they should probably stonewall any information on what role a player has on-field, so the footy public doesn't intrude on their sense of privacy in their workplace.

Maybe the AFL could further shield them from scrutiny in their well-paid roles by locking the crowds out, so they're not in the public gaze and feel even safer.

Who cares?

I know we don't have much football based substance to talk about, but can we please not start turning threads into pissing contests

If a subject doesn't interest you, please move on, as even a simple throw away line that's ignored during the season has the ability to act as kindling at this time of the year when there's not much else being discussed

I'd also ask we don't start reading too much into comments from others, decide that "2 + 2 = 5" which then unnecessarily derails threads

The players only returned from their Xmas & New Year break this past week - hopefully as pre-season ramps up so does football content to talk about

Let's try to enjoy the rest of the weekend

So another update from track watcher…

said the first training back was the sharpest he has seen in a decade of watching. For this time of year. Yes it was largely skills and running but just looked sharp. only had 2 not training so good availability. And only 1 of those didn’t look in great shape (Rowan). Everyone else looked super fit. in particular Duncan and Guthrie whose body clocks looked like turned back a bunch of years. And some of the younger blokes getting benefit of more time in the gym (Tanner, Mitch, both Ollies).

who knows whether day 1 sharpness means anything for the season but better than the alternative update!

So another update from track watcher…

said the first training back was the sharpest he has seen in a decade of watching. For this time of year. Yes it was largely skills and running but just looked sharp. only had 2 not training so good availability. And only 1 of those didn’t look in great shape (Rowan). Everyone else looked super fit. in particular Duncan and Guthrie whose body clocks looked like turned back a bunch of years. And some of the younger blokes getting benefit of more time in the gym (Tanner, Mitch, both Ollies).

who knows whether day 1 sharpness means anything for the season but better than the alternative update!
This is the information I live for! I don't care if it's meaningless or misleading, I am on the train!

This idea of “who does x or y replace?” dilemma we invent as supporters simply comes down to how good you are.

If i was to say to you.. Ok... Who ca we squeeze out for ollie dempsey?? Alot will go mmmm very tricky... Tough to break in.. But if i was to say ok... I have a 18yo garry ablett/jimmy bartel or joel selwood... Can you fit him into the team?? All of a sudden 100% of people would find a spot and someone that gets the boot.

It all boils down to how highly we rate them.

Get over it. This is not the 70s and 80s (which I lived through). It’s 2024. Our understanding of mental health has improved and social media/forums like this are now a thing. Employers committed to player well being should not invite or facilitate public ridicule and body shaming by publishing players’ weights. Sadly, it won’t stop keyboard warriors but it’s the right thing to do. And it won’t change our enjoyment of the game.

Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com

Get over it. This is not the 70s and 80s (which I lived through). It’s 2024. Our understanding of mental health has improved and social media/forums like this are now a thing. Employers committed to player well being should not invite or facilitate public ridicule and body shaming by publishing players’ weights. Sadly, it won’t stop keyboard warriors but it’s the right thing to do. And it won’t change our enjoyment of the game.

Each to his own.

It's honestly a recurring theme in the saddest conversations in modern Australia: people who have never personally experienced something lashing out at their mild inconvenience. It's a solid through line.

Except no-one ever truly knows what another has been through, or is going through.

But getting way OT here, so back to the footy.

I hope that it's not this year of bust for any of the young talent on our list. Unless they show nothing in the VFL then I think most should be safe and given time to mature with the amount of players on the verge of retirement.

Even if a Dempsey, Knevitt or Willis don't crack the 22 regularly this year we would be stupid to get rid of any of them as mature bodies will be needed in the next 1-2 years.

I hope that it's not this year of bust for any of the young talent on our list. Unless they show nothing in the VFL then I think most should be safe and given time to mature with the amount of players on the verge of retirement.

Even if a Dempsey, Knevitt or Willis don't crack the 22 regularly this year we would be stupid to get rid of any of them as mature bodies will be needed in the next 1-2 years.
Given the number of retirements expected at the other end of our list this year, I think most of them will be retained until at least post-2025.

Absolutely 1000% correct , and some posters are carrying on like Geel are totally devoid of talent

If you had your life riding on it , and that is allways the best test , and you had to pick a side in season 2024 to make the 8 - and the sides you were choosing from were around the flip of the coin odds - the old even money , you know the WB are $1.95 , there are other sides around that mark , and Geel are bang on $2 - you know heads or tails - red or black , thats how the market have assessed the Cats

Then given Geelongs history - re the record last 20 years , and there is still alot of talent amongst those senior players , and the possibility of jagging a couple of nice recuits from a decent number they picked , then id be quite comfortable nominating Geel to make the 8

Fascinating to speculate on who may or may not make the grade. It's entirely possible one of the lesser hyped young fellows will leap frog the others; remember Ling - went on hols a slow forward and returned a supremely fit on-baller? It could be Willis. Or Stevens. Who knows?

I do like Dempsey a lot and will be surprised if he doesn't make it. He and others won't lack for opportunity because many of our champs are so near the end and a few are very prone to injury now - Duncan, Rohan etc.

Absolutely 1000% correct , and some posters are carrying on like Geel are totally devoid of talent

If you had your life riding on it , and that is allways the best test , and you had to pick a side in season 2024 to make the 8 - and the sides you were choosing from were around the flip of the coin odds - the old even money , you know the WB are $1.95 , there are other sides around that mark , and Geel are bang on $2 - you know heads or tails - red or black , thats how the market have assessed the Cats

Then given Geelongs history - re the record last 20 years , and there is still alot of talent amongst those senior players , and the possibility of jagging a couple of nice recuits from a decent number they picked , then id be quite comfortable nominating Geel to make the 8
100% agree.

Trust and respect is earned in football, and if you told me my life depended on a team who missed the 8 in 2023 making it in 2024, I'm still taking the Cats.

I reckon that would be a common theme even for non-Geelong supporters, too.

We're obviously going pretty extreme here, but if those were the stakes...are you really willing to put your faith in the likes of Bevo's Bulldogs? Essendon? Fremantle? Even Adelaide? (who I actually rate quite highly).

For those of us who have watched this game for a long time (and aren't here to make headlines), we just view it differently.

I can't trust clubs who have endured virtually nothing but turmoil, or haven't shown they can consistently (or ever) get it done when it matters.

You have to earn that trust, and year on year people fall into the same trap.

We'll all see it yet again in a month or so when the season predictions come out.

Expect Carlton, Brisbane, Sydney & Port to be amongst the fancies, with Essendon, Freo, and Adelaide seen as the smokeys.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying it can't happen...but I'm a bit more in the 'I'll believe it when I see it' camp.

100% agree.

Trust and respect is earned in football, and if you told me my life depended on a team who missed the 8 in 2023 making it in 2024, I'm still taking the Cats.

I reckon that would be a common theme even for non-Geelong supporters, too.

We're obviously going pretty extreme here, but if those were the stakes...are you really willing to put your faith in the likes of Bevo's Bulldogs? Essendon? Fremantle? Even Adelaide? (who I actually rate quite highly).

For those of us who have watched this game for a long time (and aren't here to make headlines), we just view it differently.

I can't trust clubs who have endured virtually nothing but turmoil, or haven't shown they can consistently (or ever) get it done when it matters.

You have to earn that trust, and year on year people fall into the same trap.

We'll all see it yet again in a month or so when the season predictions come out.

Expect Carlton, Brisbane, Sydney & Port to be amongst the fancies, with Essendon, Freo, and Adelaide seen as the smokeys.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying it can't happen...but I'm a bit more in the 'I'll believe it when I see it' camp.

It's an interesting call. The Dogs, Crows and Bombers were all one win closer to making finals than us. The Crows really got going after the bye, whereas we really struggled after about round 8. The Bombers' last 7 or so rounds were awful, and the Dogs were up and down all year.

1705296858292.png 1705296868261.png

1705296815491.png

Attachments

• 1705296843487.png
    1705296843487.png
    19.2 KB · Views: 42