News 2024 St.Kilda Media Thread

Only been to 1 training this year (hopefully another 1 this week) - just got the feeling over the next couple of seasons we will find Garcia was an absolute steal at pick #50.
Hope so, we haven't done well trading futures at the draft. Late picks are speculative but all previous attempts are already gone, the longest lasting three years.

2021 - Future 4th for pick 51 (Oscar Adams)
2020 - Future 4th and pick 54 for pick 43 (Tom Highmore)
2018 - Future 3rd for pick 51 (Nick Hind)
2018 - West Coast's future 4th and pick 75 for pick 67 (Robbie Young)

Only been to 1 training this year (hopefully another 1 this week) - just got the feeling over the next couple of seasons we will find Garcia was an absolute steal at pick #50.
Very much the unknown quantity this year, but if you can draft 5 kids and they all come through then it puts you a year ahead of the pack.

Hope so, we haven't done well trading futures at the draft. Late picks are speculative but all previous attempts are already gone, the longest lasting three years.

That's fine. Like you say, late picks are speculative. Most don't make it so we're not an anomaly in that regard and they've more than made up for it with rookie and SPP selections.
The good thing is that the club is cutting those guys promptly now days and there's only one on the list who'll be gone end of this year.

Hind was a good pickup lol, it's weird to see this narrative that he's a dud. He was good for us, and I reckon he'd still be in the team if he hadn't gone to Essendon.

Very much the unknown quantity this year, but if you can draft 5 kids and they all come through then it puts you a year ahead of the pack.

Or in our particular case, one year less behind the pack after a long period of poor drafting.

Hind was a good pickup lol, it's weird to see this narrative that he's a dud. He was good for us, and I reckon he'd still be in the team if he hadn't gone to Essendon.
Highmore not far off it either. Did OK when he got his chances, I thought.
Oscar Adams types usually worth a punt. Robbie Young probably not enough going for him at that size.

The difference with Fyfe and Mitch is Mitch can kick and looks a natural goal kicker. Fyfe's best season was 22 goals from memory and averaged about 10 season. His field kicking was pretty ordinary too. Mitch has a very good touch off the boot and sets up goals with great vision and clean short passing. He's got Fyfe size and attack but he's not the right example. He's more like an upmarket Jake Stringer. He's a threat close to goals but can play a dominant midfield game. Really hard to find a perfect comparison. Elements of Paul Chapman in him too. Maybe Adam Goodes as well.

Kouta fida eedddiiieessss

Shorter version of Spider?

Archived version of the below article. Sidenote, past an article's address into this site in the future to bypass many of the subscription blocks etc.

‘Bet the house on Ross’: The slow-motion takeover at St Kilda' from The Age by Jake Niall.​

It is unclear who will stand in Lyon’s way on football matters if there’s a disagreement or an overreach. As it stands, due to the overlapping relationships and history, he arguably has more power within his club than any other current coach, John Longmire possibly excepted.
this is still my worry with the Lyon-led revival, We've seen it already and I never want to see it again when the Lyon-led Saints become rudderless. I'd have hoped we had a Walsh-type figure above Ross to check and balance, to be the StKilda FC 1st voice. Ross is a 5-year deal, then what? we are so Ross-centric, do we lose our entire footy admin when we lose Ross??

I would have hoped we might have learned.......

this is still my worry with the Lyon-led revival, We've seen it already and I never want to see it again when the Lyon-led Saints become rudderless. I'd have hoped we had a Walsh-type figure above Ross to check and balance, to be the StKilda FC 1st voice. Ross is a 5-year deal, then what? we are so Ross-centric, do we lose our entire footy admin when we lose Ross??

Hopefully we have some structure led\ft next time and there is a civilised handover rather than a fall off a cliff.

Lyon is pulling a much needed Paul Roos job on a team that had forgotten its soul and had almost no understanding of what's required. He's also said they will look to develop the next coach internally which right now is either Banger, Boris or Batch.
IMHO they've targeted 2026 to hit contention which is the last of his 4 year deal. If he takes us to a GF by then then he deserves another 2 years but the timing gives about 7 years of prime Max King, hence the focus on drafting and trading for u25's.
Enough time for both Ross and the next guy to have a proper crack.
Eyes on SOS for a big move this year or next, but we've got to be convincing first.

Four years. Three years to go.

Lyon is pulling a much needed Paul Roos job on a team that had forgotten its soul and had almost no understanding of what's required. He's also said they will look to develop the next coach internally which right now is either Banger, Boris or Batch.
IMHO they've targeted 2026 to hit contention which is the last of his 4 year deal. If he takes us to a GF by then then he deserves another 2 years but the timing gives about 7 years of prime Max King, hence the focus on drafting and trading for u25's.
Eyes on SOS for a big move this year or next, but we've got to be convincing first.
What does eyes on SOS for a big move ...

mean?

What does eyes on SOS for a big move ...

mean?
We can't take too many more kids, we have very few tradable players and the list build is close. Trading Gresh also bought us an extra technical 1stRDP to keep us within regulations for trading one or two 1stRDPs out.
All meaning that SOS has a lot of play money at the trade table, as well as a lot of actual money to offer someone. Like $5M bucks over 5 years lots.

I’m torn on this - RTB needs to have a day to day line of accountability to someone (not his mate Misson) but the Roos analogy is spot on- we were way off the pace re elite standards!

Four years. Three years to go.
Don't get me wrong, I'm as onboard with what's happening atm as anyone, but when I say Ross is a 5-year deal, I'm talking about his shelf life, maybe he gets more, but it's shown that he empties absolutely everything out of the list, and if we hit that moment, I want someone who's been there in STK's corner fighting for the years after Ross is gone. I want the next 5-10 years after Ross still being a competitive team.

as Cobra said, a line of accountability, and it can't be Bassat, the president can't be the checks and balances guy, the footy boss is that person in most cases, but that's now Ross's guy, and the CEO, well he just got rid of one who he didn't like poking into footy stuff, and we know the next CEO will strictly not be allowed input..

Fair enough, l agree with that but the existential possibility of a premiership is the goal here. Clearly they've gone chips in on Ross and that's our go now.
Governance is seemingly good ATM so enjoy the back of the bus for a bit.