Game Day 2024 Trade Period - Lian Yu - that liminal space between trade and draft.

Doubt it… they are trading out the trouble. Might be more keen to stay.

Melbourne are right on the precipice with Oliver going, the Petracca/Goodwin stuff and 2-3 years of worsening performances after they were earmarked as a dynastic side.

Stranger things have happened.

He will probably request a trade now because he will start to think melbourne are going to rebuild
Reading between the lines I assumed Oliver out was one of the conditions that Trac asked for.

I don't think Pickett's reasons for wanting to leave are anything to do with that whole situation though. That article that Melbourne did when he visited his hometown makes me believe it's genuine homesicknesses that would be behind any move.

But I do think that Oliver leaving means that Melbourne won't let anyone else of note leave.

Reading between the lines I assumed Oliver out was one of the conditions that Trac asked for.

I don't think Pickett's reasons for wanting to leave are anything to do with that whole situation though. That article that Melbourne did when he visited his hometown makes me believe it's genuine homesicknesses that would be behind any move.

But I do think that Oliver leaving means that Melbourne won't let anyone else of note leave.
Agree just can’t see them doing it now unfortunately. He probably hasn’t officially requested a trade because Melbourne have just said a flat No. can’t blame them,
Ryan Daniel said on hard ball gets podcast he’s here nothing new with Pickett. He’d be all over it if something was happening

So you can honestly say watching last year (bulldogs game aside) that we wasn't a liability? Zero pressure, constantly exposed defensively. As soon as the ball leaves contested situations its game over for him.

If you genuinely think he still has "juice" to propel this team forward next year you are kidding yourself
That midfield he was an integral part of produced some serious, I mean crazy serious, clearance numbers. They're not doing that if he's a liability.

Oliver is clearly going to Geelong. I look forward to them completely burying his off field issues through media control.

Does anyone else get unreasonably pissed off on the whole Melbourne circus? I just feel that club is an absolute dumpster fire but ruled by a bunch of selfish pricks which would burn the place to the ground rather than admit they are ****ed. The volume of bullshit coming out of everyone managing that club would fertilise the free Geelong farms they hand out to players.

I reckon there's a decent chance they are on their way to ceasing to exist. They are timing their fall off the cliff to coincide with Tassie coming into the comp. Very small supporter base. Times are going to be rough. I think the AFL should merge Melbourne and North into one entity. Call them the Melbourne Kangaroos or something.

Geelong going to trade for them how? What picks?
Unless ask some players to be traded.
Close for example could.

Geelong win by short fleecing others. Same old. Meanwhile Fremantle traded second rounder for Clark even though he was never a B22 lock
Think Melbourne will take unders to get him out. Maybe F1 & sometime small on top. But they have to get smith too I guess. McCure said Oliver knows trade mightn’t happen

so Geelong are getting B. Smith, Oliver and Martin..?!?!

The hactual fu...can they afford all of them?!?!?! Wasn't it B. Close we were 'linked to' (tenuously). Surely they'd have to shake a few loose?

Only had 3 players in the top 100 paid list. Cameron, Stewart and Dangerfield. And the latter only sneaking in at 96 on 650k. And can't see too many other big bucks players that could make the 2025 top 100 ... Stengle, Holmes.

Plus they have all sorts of rorts with public speaking jobs post career, cheap farms, etc.

It's one of the reasons I keep going on about our salary cap. Dangerfield was the 3rd highest paid player at the Cats in 2024. And we had 7 guys paid more than him, and trying to add another 1 or 2. Not to mention Pearce, Clark, Treacy, Amiss.

Ok who else is on the small forward available list?
Richards? Port
Owies
Rosa
Jacob Konstanty

Keep Emmett?

Offer hill shit load to get him home?

Ok who else is on the small forward available list?
Richards? Port
Owies
Rosa
Jacob Konstanty

Keep Emmett?

Offer hill shit load to get him home?
Apart from Richards very early on we haven't been linked to any smalls which is annoying. You'd think we'd be trying extra hard to fill that deficiency on our list.

Only had 3 players in the top 100 paid list. Cameron, Stewart and Dangerfield. And the latter only sneaking in at 96 on 650k. And can't see too many other big bucks players that could make the 2025 top 100 ... Stengle, Holmes.

Plus they have all sorts of rorts with public speaking jobs post career, cheap farms, etc.

It's one of the reasons I keep going on about our salary cap. Dangerfield was the 3rd highest paid player at the Cats in 2024. And we had 7 guys paid more than him, and trying to add another 1 or 2. Not to mention Pearce, Clark, Treacy, Amiss.
Geelong isn't enticing players to come join them by offering them well below market value. There's clearly some dodgy back door stuff going on which is why players are forfeiting hundreds of thousands of dollars a year to play for them. Salary cap is kinda useless to have in place when some clubs have the means to offer all these extra incenties.

Dangerfield was a bit of a freak event though. Whatever the actual machinations of his contact is, he was willing to (nominally) be paid a lower amount to ensure extra talent could be brought in to better ensure success.

I reckon there's a decent chance they are on their way to ceasing to exist. They are timing their fall off the cliff to coincide with Tassie coming into the comp. Very small supporter base. Times are going to be rough. I think the AFL should merge Melbourne and North into one entity. Call them the Melbourne Kangaroos or something.
Melbourne need a small reset. It's actually lunacy they think they can turn things around in one year. They need to rejuvenate their list because atm they don't have the personnel to make top four and losing Oliver will make that worse.

Petracca is only 28 so they have time to turn things around before he retires. The chances of Pickett staying until the end of his contract in 2027 are low so he won't be there when they turn things around. Might as well load up on trade capital and draft/bring in players. Literally every premiership team goes through this.

Gawn is 33 next year, Petracca is injury prone and no Oliver, they aren't going to make finals next year.

Melbourne need a small reset. It's actually lunacy they think they can turn things around in one year. They need to rejuvenate their list because atm they don't have the personnel to make top four and losing Oliver will make that worse.

Petracca is only 28 so they have time to turn things around before he retires. The chances of Pickett staying until the end of his contract in 2027 are low so he won't be there when they turn things around. Might as well load up on trade capital and draft/bring in players. Literally everything premiership team goes through this.
Oliver going is more likely to shift Melbourne's view of where they're at than Pickett's. Once things are in motion, sometimes it tends to get other things swept up in it.

Petracca is only 28 so they have time to turn things around before he retires. The chances of Pickett staying until the end of his contract in 2027 are low so he won't be there when they turn things around. Might as well load up on trade capital and draft/bring in players. Literally every premiership team goes through this.

Gawn is 33 next year, Petracca is injury prone and no Oliver, they aren't going to make finals next year.
Pickett is 23, they’ll try to keep him as long as they can

My point is he will be gone by the time they are contending again. If they want to fast track their reset might as well bank pick 10 + F1 and trade in a player/draft.

Game Day 2024 Trade Period - Lian Yu - that liminal space between trade and draft.