List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.2

no we wont be..... thats a horrible idea...
We weren't that far off it this year, closer yet in the previous year. The evolved game plan is working well and add a few more pieces in key areas of weakness. Pick 8 could easily be a bust, lets take 1 top 10 talent and speculate with some later picks for the future. Maximise our return on the current group of senior players and get finals experience into our developing players. Build a culture of success that carrys on like Geelong carrying there young players through early finals series to current day those same players bringing new ones through Finals experience.

Looking at the Port board, there are multiple people who genuinely believe Houston should net them pick 8 and either our future first or one of good SA born players.

They are deluded.

We don’t need him. And he isn’t worth pick 8 let alone anything else.

We should be loading up at the draft, not wasting an early pick on a bloke who is 28 next year.

If you add Houston, Treloar, Laverde/Tomlinson/Serong & Ivan Soldo plus a promising top 10 draftee then we will be challenging again next year.

no we wont be..... thats a horrible idea...
2EdGWuK.gif

If you add Houston, Treloar, Laverde/Tomlinson/Serong & Ivan Soldo plus a promising top 10 draftee then we will be challenging again next year.

You must be trolling.

Hey mate,

Yes, Adam Treloar plays predominatly inside midfield for the AFL Football Club: The Western Bulldogs, formerly known as Footscray. You can read more about him here.

Cheers,

HS
Not sure id be chipping like this when youre making suggestions like the ones youre making about trades.

You must be trolling.
Appreciate the Feedback Neil,

I'm not trying to troll, not sure why this would be considered trolling?

Line-up of the below would definitley be challenging for finals:

B: Webster, Howard, Laverde
HB: Houston, Wilkie, NWM
C: Hill, Steele, Wood
HF: Henry, King, Butler
FF: Higgins, Sharman, Camaniti
R: Marshall, Treloar, Phillipou

Bench: Soldo, Sinclair, Treloar, Owens

Sub: Garcia (HHF)

Squad rotations: Wilson, Windhager, Brynes, Stocker, Clark, Jones

Cheers,

HS

Cheers,

HS
This is your issue in bold, we dont want to be challenging for finals

we want to be challenging for a flag, that requires more top end talent and not trading in older players by using top picks....

Just saw Dylan Shiel training at a local oval this morning with some St Kilda training gear on. Was doing some sprints and kicking some darts with what looked like a mate.

I yelled out to him and said "are you signing for us next year, mate?". He did a quick 180 to face me and I couldn't believe that both of his knees snapped in two. May have heard a hamstring ping as well, not sure as I had my Airpods in.

Anyway, welcome to the club, Dylan.
I don't believe this even happened.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Not sure id be chipping like this when youre making suggestions like the ones youre making about trades.
I was asked a question about Adam Treloar. Happy to hear your point of view, let me know what you think about my projected line-up. Giving us the best opportunity to make finals creates a winning culture where players want to come to and stay at.
This is your issue in bold, we dont want to be challenging for finals

we want to be challenging for a flag, that requires more top end talent and not trading in older players by using top picks....
Well we can do both, highlighting the depth and evenness of the draft is the idea here. That best 23 v our current Best 23 then I know who I'd be putting money on. We got Hugo Garcia at Pick 50 last year there will be other gems this year and probably more. We know our recruiter specialises in that later range of the draft anyway.

If we can snag Murphy Reid with Pick 7/8 whichever one we have left after the Houston and Soldo trades then we are in business. Also really like Travaglia or Lindsay at that pick.

@gringo2011 what do you reckon? We would have something to argue about for the next decade about top ups or list coverage

They are deluded.

We don’t need him. And he isn’t worth pick 8 let alone anything else.

We should be loading up at the draft, not wasting an early pick on a bloke who is 28 next year.
Definitely worth pick 8 and probably something else and we would have the best Half back line in the league, NAZ, Sinclair and Houston
But.... we need mids and blowing up our firsts with Tassie coming in is as dumb as it gets.
Houston is an AA, but we are in no position to trade for him.

I was asked a question about Adam Treloar. Happy to hear your point of view, let me know what you think about my projected line-up. Giving us the best opportunity to make finals creates a winning culture where players want to come to and stay at.
No, the post i replied was being smart assy and you know it was.

I think your projected line up robs us of the development of our own stars which is needed for long term success and confidence.

Houston costs to much and is another body in a position we actually have alot of talent in anyway.
Treloar actually might work but again, would cost a bomb coming off a career year, we would be better to target FAs for older midfield heads.
Tomlinson has been discussed, i think its a good, free stop gap solution.
Soldo is a waste of time. Ro works better alone and if were going to work him in with another ruckman get an uncontracted younger one in the yearly ruck merry go round.

Cheers,

HS
No Shield???

Definitely worth pick 8 and probably something else and we would have the best Half back line in the league, NAZ, Sinclair and Houston
But.... we need mids and blowing up our firsts with Tassie coming in is as dumb as it gets.
Houston is an AA, but we are in no position to trade for him.

spot on. Drafting is a risk, but It's a risk you have to take.

List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.2