List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.2

Yeah, strange move on the surface

So where are all the people saying Battle is coward or lack character for not showing up last night? Bunch of sheep

Maybe it’s the club that lacks a bit of character

Weak as p1ss from the club

Josh Battle is a coward, and he’ll fit in well at Dingley.

Cant believe he didn’t have the character to show up to the best and fairest last night… we actually given the text message story I can. Hope Cooper Sharman kicks a bag on him.

don't agree with this.

From what I have heard battle done a dirty on the club, why would they want him there

how in the hell did he do the club dirty?

the club gave him last contract that put in him UFA status. the club then offered him a new contract that was below what he could get from hawthorn and then shopped him. when they learnt it was close to band 2 they suddenly upped the offer after battle had agreed to terms with hawthorn. battle did the right thing and stood by his initial agreement rather than going back on his word.

the only party manipulating the situation was us! its on us here. not battle.

agree with the President being vocal on inequities in the system. He's right. Finey is right.

but also the reason we are where we are at is because of our inability to get better and not make the same mistakes over and over again. we have returned back to a long period of form of being completely incompetent in running a football club.

So where are all the people saying Battle is coward or lack character for not showing up last night? Bunch of sheep

No, just the opposite. If his conduct was such that nobody wanted him there then it's good for the club to show some backbone. Looking after the people they should be looking after.

the club gave him last contract that put in him UFA status. the club then offered him a new contract that was below what he could get from hawthorn and then shopped him. when they learnt it was close to band 2 they suddenly upped the offer after battle had agreed to terms with hawthorn. battle did the right thing and stood by his initial agreement rather than going back on his word.

Battle did the wrong thing..
Club did the wring thing...
Both are guilty....
Neither are guilty....

Who knows, who cares?
1. It is football
2. Battle wanted to go, so go, good for him.
3. Saints players don't want him there? Good for them.

Battle's footy career is at Hawthorn. Everyone deal with it and move on.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Josh Battle is a coward, and he’ll fit in well at Dingley.
Cant believe he didn’t have the character to show up to the best and fairest last night… we actually given the text message story I can. Hope Cooper Sharman kicks a bag on him.
Sounds like he was asked not to come, which is pretty shite IMO. Yes, I get that he’s gone, but could have avoided that and the reputation to others that comes with it.

Have you heard any story behind the decision Mowman? Or has the club just cracked the sulks?

I applaud Bassatt for his stoicism, and Im sure he was vocal at the meetings to affect change. The Ashcroft example is exactly why it needed addressing.

However, the AFL have made the changes they are going to make in the short term. Let's see how the points/picks alterations work next year and onwards before we shoot ourselves in the foot with the AFL.

The AFL have shown in the past they are thin skinned and become resentful when they are criticised by people inside the industry. But sometimes like Andrew last night you just have to draw a line in the sand and stand up for whats right.

Well done President you fired one acorss the bow, now keep pressing.
Honestly can’t believe all they’ve done is modify the points a little.

And they need to grandfather these changes, which they didn’t do with the NGA changes. Ie, should be some rules around changes not being applicable to those that haven’t benefited. I know that’s very hard to create a rule such as that, but let me have a sook.

Orrrrrrrr

He wanted to go to Hawthorn

There’s a lot to unravel here and most of it from where we as posters sit is based on if statements. If Battle lied about staying and sent a text next day would you want him there?. If Battle was offered more and if we genuinely wanted to retain him would you want him at the B&F justifying his position?.

I have no doubt we talked about trading him or letting him walk but how many players does that happen to. Paul Roos this morning talking about frank discussions with the swans leadership group and players including Jude Bolton being shopped but retained because the return wasn’t good enough, it happens at most clubs every year.

Anyway he’s gone, it’s clearly acrimonious now, he’s heading to a new club and we want our pick. Past that who cares, I’m sure the guys he was close to at st Kilda will still catch up and a few extra boos when we play will get old quickly and just be water of a ducks back anyway.

💯 infuriates me every time someone brings them up. Everyone passed on them. Imagine a world where we missed out on Owens, windy and Mackenzie.
Yep, when assessing how favourable it is, the only thing that matters is the pick they were taken at. If you have one that is pick one, but they’re rubbish, then it doesn’t change the access. Same with our boys that weren’t taken anywhere near Rd 1.

No, just the opposite. If his conduct was such that nobody wanted him there then it's good for the club to show some backbone. Looking after the people they should be looking after.
Player finish’s 3rd in your best and fairest and you can’t even mention or acknowledge it ? Pretty immature from the club, great standards they are setting

agree with the President being vocal on inequities in the system. He's right. Finey is right.

but also the reason we are where we are at is because of our inability to get better and not make the same mistakes over and over again. we have returned back to a long period of form of being completely incompetent in running a football club.
Prefaced it with the reason we have one flag in 150 years is because the mistakes we have made.
Now we are drafting well should we be disadvantaged by
.having 4 clubs get free NGA's?
. Having the Premier get the best player in the draft for free?
. Top 4 teams getting FS for free?
.Never getting a blockbuster whole Essendon get two every year even though they haven't won a final in two decades?

Simple solution to this issue.

For either F/S or academy players, the club must use their natural pick (ie: the pick linked to where they finished on the ladder).
If they do not have enough points at their natural pick to match the bid for the player, the deficit is rolled over against their natural picks in the same round in following years until the deficit is eliminated.
With this year and Ashcroft (the most extreme case): Richmond bids on Ashcroft at #1, Brisbane matches at #18. But the point deficit is automatically rolled over against their next first round draft picks in following years until it is eliminated.
Brisbane gets their F/S, Brisbane pays a reasonable cost but the cost is spread over multiple years and they still retain their future first round picks.
If multiple F/S or academy players are bid on in the first round (the GC situation from last year), the same thing applies: points deficit is rolled over into future years until eliminated.

Note:
I believe this system already exists (but not for F/S or academy).
IIRC, Fremantle went into deficit on a first round pick a couple of years ago.
It also applies for second, third and fourth round picks too.
More clubs have experienced deficits at these later rounds.

Glad that Mr Bassat made a point, and needs use the media as much as possible to criticise the AFL, though it's one thing talking the talk- getting more money into the club is another important factor he needs to address.
And there aren’t many clubs in our boat. North, but they’re hardly going to be vocal given they have 32 top 3 picks. Melbourne - but they had this level of success because of very high picks, albeit longer ago.

That’s a fair point mate and agree there is always a point where someone is too damaged. Clarry maybe at that point, but I definitely think it’s worth doing due diiligence on him, before ruling it out.
Look its all mostly second hand but some of the stories around him from footballing circle mates and the like are deeply deeply concerning

Simple solution to this issue.

For either F/S or academy players, the club must use their natural pick (ie: the pick linked to where they finished on the ladder).
If they do not have enough points at their natural pick to match the bid for the player, the deficit is rolled over against their natural picks in the same round in following years until the deficit is eliminated.
With this year and Ashcroft (the most extreme case): Richmond bids on Ashcroft at #1, Brisbane matches at #18. But the point deficit is automatically rolled over against their next first round draft picks in following years until it is eliminated.
Brisbane gets their F/S, Brisbane pays a reasonable cost but the cost is spread over multiple years and they still retain their future first round picks.
If multiple F/S or academy players are bid on in the first round (the GC situation from last year), the same thing applies: points deficit is rolled over into future years until eliminated.

Note:
I believe this system already exists (but not for F/S or academy).
IIRC, Fremantle went into deficit on a first round pick a couple of years ago.
It also applies for second, third and fourth round picks too.
More clubs have experienced deficits at these later rounds.
Really like this post

Using last year as a precedent for getting pick 27-30 is such lazy reporting. I'd like to see Ralphy name the 11 bid matches/FA compensation picks that he thinks would push the pick back from 19 to 30. Not that any of those players would really be available to us anyway.

As far as I'm aware it's just Ashcroft, Lombard, maybe Kako and/or Marshall. GWS' band 2 pick(s) would be after ours and it's been confirmed the North handouts are also. So it'd be more like pick 22. Not ideal but also not the complete disaster it's being made out to be.

I don't completely agree with him but Bassat has been very consistent on this from well before we knew Battle was leaving, to paint it as an opportunistic attempt to get Band 1 is fairly disingenuous, he is playing a much longer game.
Completely agree on your last paragraph. I don’t believe for a second that we would not know already, without it being formal.

Glad that Mr Bassat made a point, and needs use the media as much as possible to criticise the AFL, though it's one thing talking the talk- getting more money into the club is another important factor he needs to address.
We made more from Spuds game than the whole of the rest of our home games.

We get to play GC at 4.45 pm on a July Sunday every year. Essendon, Collingwood, Carlton, Richmond get multiple blockbusters every year. WA get two derby's, SA get two showdowns, etc.

Like the pres said, making up the numbers. They want us to be the Washington Generals.
Well f*** that.

So you pick the fight anyway.
We're losing as it is.
This way were telling them we are not rolling over and will call them on it.
Behind Basset every step of the way on this. Its about time.
Sorry to intrude, but just wanted to say I could not agree more. I loved what Basset said, although I was obviously prejudiced to given I also support a small club. I hope this is a fire starter and I’d be incredibly grateful to the Saints if it was