List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃

Still believe we need to draft a young KPD

It will be difficult, even with being able to trade 2 years worth of picks

This year, talk of trading 12 and 14 for 3, eliminates getting pointy end talent, same with next year given we have traded out our F1. 2026, we'll need a 1st rounder for Walker

Add to that, no decent RFA KPD in 2025
Reckon we have someone already in mind …

Still believe we need to draft a young KPD

It will be difficult, even with being able to trade 2 years worth of picks

This year, talk of trading 12 and 14 for 3, eliminates getting pointy end talent, same with next year given we have traded out our F1. 2026, we'll need a 1st rounder for Walker

Add to that, no decent RFA KPD in 2025
What about collins?

The trading up to 3 doesn’t make much sense to me, I was thinking one of our 1sts would be used on a KPD

Interesting what we do preparing for next year, given we don't have a 1st round

Nor is there a heap of worthwhile free agents, many of which are unlikely to move and or given cap position

-D Fogarty, unlikely to leave SA
-Starcevich, extremely underrated, but another HBF and would attract big offers
-Rayner, would be a massive get, but again unlikely and will also attract massive offers
-Maynard, next to no chance
-Draper, upgrade on Pitto, but not on salary expectations
-Brayshaw, no hope
-Worpel, probably not the type we are after
-Spargo, probably in our cap range, interesting watch
-LDU, next to no chance if he leaves, will get massive offers
-Farrell, right cap range, wrong type
-Clark, you'd ask the question, but injury prone
-Petruccelle, cheap, has speed, ask the question
-Richards, perfect type, but perhaps outside our cap range

Not a big list and not a KPD amongst them

Nor is there a heap of worthwhile free agents, many of which are unlikely to move and or given cap position

-Rayner, would be a massive get, but again unlikely and will also attract massive offers
-Brayshaw, no hope

Sam Collins? But i can’t see him leaving Gold Coast

-Brayshaw, no hope

My assumption is that we'll look at the mid-tier types in free agency. But the biggest part of next off-season will be centred around trading our future picks to plan for Walker because we'll be allowed to trade two years in advance. For example, I could see us trading our 2026/2027 picks into 2025 first round to secure players and 2026 lower rounds to accumulate points.

My assumption is that we'll look at the mid-tier types in free agency. But the biggest part of next off-season will be centred around trading our future picks to plan for Walker because we'll be allowed to trade two years in advance. For example, I could see us trading our 2026/2027 picks into 2025 first round and 2026 lower rounds.

Maybe

No 1st next year, at least 1 needed in 2026 for Walker, leaves a 2027 1st

Is it confirmed that we'll need to hold a first to match a bid? Or can we stockpile lower picks?
Confirmed?
It’s not a requirement, but it will be much harder to match bids than it is now.
If Walker goes in the first 5, would be hard to match without holding a 1st.
Eg 27+28+29 (3 good 2nd rounders) can’t match a bid at 5.

So what you are saying is that 17 other clubs can draft him for a single 1st round pick but we will have to give up 2 plus more?
More like the teams that finish bottom 3 will be able to draft him with a single pick, but given we’ll be starting with #18 after winning the flag, we’ll have to find more points

I hear what you are saying but 2 first rounders? Seriously, what sort of BS system is that.
17 & 18 can match a bid at 5, and is just short of 4.
Nobody would do that trade back from the top of the draft, even in an extremely deep even draft like this year.
The clubs matching bids are still at an advantage, it’s just much much fairer than the rort that is the current system.

I hear what you are saying but 2 first rounders? Seriously, what sort of BS system is that.
Everyone is going to feel so sorry for us when we secure the best kid in the draft as the reigning premier

love & hip hop laughing GIF by VH1

17 & 18 can match a bid at 5, and is just short of 4.
Nobody would do that trade back from the top of the draft, even in an extremely deep even draft like this year.
The clubs matching bids are still at an advantage, it’s just much much fairer than the rort that is the current system.
Also, 15, 17 and 18 (3 x 1st round picks) will be still insufficient to match a bid at pick 1 (12 points short).

The positive is that you can now trade 2 years ahead, so we could use 2026, 2027 and 2028 picks. BUT... with Tassie coming in, it complicates things considerably. Say we do finish top-3 or so in 2026. Who is going to want to trade for our future 1st round picks, that might end up ~30? I think it could be tricky to get the points we'll need to match without trading good players. Hope we have a plan...

Also, 15, 17 and 18 (3 x 1st round picks) will be still insufficient to match a bid at pick 1 (12 points short).

The positive is that you can now trade 2 years ahead, so we could use 2026, 2027 and 2028 picks. BUT... with Tassie coming in, it complicates things considerably. Say we do finish top-3 or so in 2026. Who is going to want to trade for our future 1st round picks, that might end up ~30? I think it could be tricky to get the points we'll need to match without trading good players. Hope we have a plan...

Firstly, you hope he doesn’t get bid on at 1.
And although you won’t be able to get the same value, trading a 1st back for multiple picks, and repeating it, should help.

You could also just cop the deficit.
Hopefully the AFL would go by current deficit rules and ignore the Tassie picks.

The timing of the Weitering signing leaves me thinking that we’re getting our cap in place for Houston.

Didn’t see the need to otherwise finalise that piece of the puzzle right now.

Firstly, you hope he doesn’t get bid on at 1.
And although you won’t be able to get the same value, trading a 1st back for multiple picks, and repeating it, should help.
It is a shame Cody isn't a few weeks older and available next year as a bottom ager rather than being one of the oldest in his draft year. Will be interesting to see if he makes U18 AA next year.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃