- Banned
Hey calm down lads,just my opinon Im not saying Im right
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Not attacking you mate just doing the maths. not that I am good at it.Originally posted by maccas_no1
Yes but you're opinion is based on the following three things happening:Originally posted by maccas_no1
Originally posted by DaveW
Great result.
Was I the only one cheering on the Swans almost as heartily as I would the Crows?
e.g. When Hall took that mark late in the game I let out a big scream of "YES!"
I didn't really like that last Williams goal, that was just a little % boost.
I kinda like the 1st option.Originally posted by DaveW
Just looking at the how things could shape in the final two rounds. I'd say things are looking good...
If we win both our remaining matches, we'll finish second - i.e. home qualifying final.
* Barring Collingwood winning both theirs with significant % boosting.
If we win one of our remaining matches, we'll finish fourth - i.e. qualifying final against Port. Assuming:
* Brisbane win both their remaining matches (v Geel & WB - very likely)
* The winner of Syd/Coll also wins in R22 (v Melb and v Ess respectively - probable)
* Fremantle lose at least one remaining match (v Ess in Melb and v WC - probable)
It's looking good for a match at Footy Park in the first week of the finals.
At home, according to what the AFL said recently.Originally posted by Leigh
Tell me what'd happen in the second week if we lost the first week - where would we play (provided we get to top 4 of course)? Footy Park or MCG?.
OK, now we really are getting ahead of ourselves...Originally posted by macca23
We must beat them in the last showdown because if we do we guarantee second spot. Our opponent is likely to be Sydney who IMO will beat Collingwood and Melbourne in their last two. For some reason we handle Sydney very well and would have a great chance to go thru to the prelim.
This is now best case scenario. (Unless you think the fanciful sequence of events in Jars' thread is somehow possible.)Originally posted by DaveW
If we win one of our remaining matches, we'll finish fourth - i.e. qualifying final against Port. Assuming:
* Brisbane win both their remaining matches (v Geel & WB - very likely)
* The winner of Syd/Coll also wins in R22 (v Melb and v Ess respectively - probable)
* Fremantle lose at least one remaining match (v Ess in Melb and v WC - probable)
Well that's now looking unlikely since the ****ing Swans couldn't beat ****ing Collingwood.Originally posted by DaveW
On second thought I might try and work out the permutations required for Adelaide to play a first or second week final in Sydney.
Originally posted by macca23
There goes any chance for second place and probably even a chance for top 4.
The selectors need horse whipping. The foundation of any good team is a stable defence. With Hart not available and eventually Edwards, the dropping of Bassett defies all logic. We paid the price for it too.
The selection of Mark Stevens and Welsh resuming given the state of the weather known all week proved disastrous. As did the selection of Stenglein who was obviously far from recovered from the flu as was Ladhams.
As Cornesy said on 5AA, we showed no respect for our opponent and got burnt.
The game plan was rubbish. We heard that the Crows were going to use the game to work out how to beat teams such as Port, collingwood and Brisbane. If that was it we wouldn't beat a mini-league side with that plan. I was convinced that there must have been goalposts all along the boundary because that's where we played all day. Chipping short to men under pressure and along the flanks. Absolute rubbish.
As for the players, they should go and have a look at themselves in the mirror - most of them gave a flat dishonest performance.
We played a team in 11th position who had nothing to play for but pride - and we didn't put in with so much to play for.
The scoring shots reflected the true status of the game and we were lucky not to be thrashed.
Definitely our worst performance of the year in every respect.
Originally posted by DaveW
Well that's now looking unlikely since the ****ing Swans couldn't beat ****ing Collingwood.
Grrr... no good is coming out of this weekend.