Player Watch #3: Harry Sheezel - 23 AFL RS/NM SBM, AFLPA BYP, '24 AA squad, '24 AFLCA BYP

I think two concerns I had with taking him with such a high pick were his pace and his toughness.

I’m not concerned any longer.

I think speed wise, he will struggle as a deep forward on certain matchups. Tough quick smaller defenders might prove difficult for him to overcome. But I knew his versatility would help him. But watching him closely his running power is very good at cruising speeds. The breakaway centre clearance showed that his toe is decent.

And his toughness looks reasonable as well. He’s obviously not going to be a high tackle numbers player but he certainly laid strong tackles. He did spend a little bit too much time on the periphery of packs but with his skills, and out abundance of guys that can get the footy out to him, that’s not an issue.

All in all, maybe a little bit of Higgins?

I think two concerns I had with taking him with such a high pick were his pace and his toughness.

I’m not concerned any longer.

I think speed wise, he will struggle as a deep forward on certain matchups. Tough quick smaller defenders might prove difficult for him to overcome. But I knew his versatility would help him. But watching him closely his running power is very good at cruising speeds. The breakaway centre clearance showed that his toe is decent.

And his toughness looks reasonable as well. He’s obviously not going to be a high tackle numbers player but he certainly laid strong tackles. He did spend a little bit too much time on the periphery of packs but with his skills, and out abundance of guys that can get the footy out to him, that’s not an issue.

All in all, maybe a little bit of Higgins?
At u18 level the thing that really stood out to me was his balance in the contest. Doesn’t lose his feet. Combine that with his composure which is as good as we’ve drafted through the rebuild. It’s why I wasn’t concerned about the pace factor, he makes up for it in other areas, which is why he will be an elite afl player.

How many did he kick today? Got dicked around with a 10.30 meeting that ran pretty much the entire game, so filthy

3 goals apparently (didn't watch the game, busy with Carlton and Boston Celtics viewing commitments)

Really happy to see him do well, frankly all fapping over Will Ashcroft from media and draft dorks aside, always felt Sheez was/is the best/most impactful player from his draft class.

Looking forward to seeing him live in person several times this year (thanks to Le Grille for convincing me to buy a North Membership) and on Good Friday too (Up the Baggers ! )

I have been wrong before, but am extremely confident Sheez will be a far better player at AFL level than JH-F, so Kane Cornes and other Port Power flogs can so suck on a sour sauerkraut lol

3 goals apparently (didn't watch the game, busy with Carlton and Boston Celtics viewing commitments)

Really happy to see him do well, frankly all fapping over Will Ashcroft from media and draft dorks aside, always felt Sheez was/is the best/most impactful player from his draft class.

Looking forward to seeing him live in person several times this year (thanks to Le Grille for convincing me to buy a North Membership) and on Good Friday too (Up the Baggers ! )

I have been wrong before, but am extremely confident Sheez will be a far better player at AFL level than JH-F, so Kane Cornes and other Port Power flogs can so suck on a sour sauerkraut lol
Wait Carlton AND the Celtics?

It was a bit tricky but both my teams got the job down (Jesse Motlop gives me a boner lol)

Putting money on Sheezel to win the Rising Star by a landslide ...

It was a bit tricky but both my teams got the job down (Jesse Motlop gives me a boner lol)

Putting money on Sheezel to win the Rising Star by a landslide ...
Mate you’re pushing the friendship with the teams you support. I’ll be disappointed if you are a braves fan

I’m the same as you - my boss’ kid went to school with Harry and idolized him, so I followed him pretty closely this year. After it became apparent that we were getting s top draft pick he was always the one I wanted.

Props also to Wardlaw though, in his only game on the field with Ashcroft, Georgie got the chocolates

Mate you’re pushing the friendship with the teams you support. I’ll be disappointed if you are a braves fan

Lol nope. All Boston/New England Team fans.

Least you won't have reason to hate my English Premier League team (pitiful Leeds United) :)

Player Watch #3: Harry Sheezel - 23 AFL RS/NM SBM, AFLPA BYP, '24 AA squad, '24 AFLCA BYP