Player Watch #32: Toby Pink - has been delisted, with the commitment to re-select him in the Rookie Draft

He was behind Rampe, Aliir, Grundy and McCartin in the Swans key defender pecking order, and they’d also already given a long term contract to Melican?

If you dig up the old swans thread, most posters were disappointed he wasn’t given a shot in the seniors. There were a couple comments suggesting that his defensive skill set was stronger than Melican’s in every regard, albeit with only exposure in the reserves.

How quickly things can change. Aliir and Grundy gone and assuming you are referring to Tom McCartin in that post, Paddy McCartin, who looked like replacing one of these, unfortunately forced into retirement through successive concussions.

As yet Melican has not progressed to the degree that they might have hoped.

How quickly things can change. Aliir and Grundy gone and assuming you are referring to Tom McCartin in that post, Paddy McCartin, who looked like replacing one of these, unfortunately forced into retirement through successive concussions.

Yeah he was delisted in 2019. Half a decade can be an eternity in footy years!

And Rampe has become the boundary line field umpire

I have undertaken a fitness campaign to ensure I outlive Dane Rampe.

When he dies I will attend his funeral and interment/cremation and if a single element could be seen to violate the surprisingly detailed legislation governing these matters, I will call for a halt to proceedings and immediate investigation by the relevant authorities.

If this requires me to petition the Coroner to have his remains disinterred, I will do this, make no mistake.

So what was the knock on him when he didn't make it at the Swans?

He had 3 years at the swans. First year was injury interrupted, 2nd year he was inconsistent playing as a key forward, 3rd year he was trialled down back but because of Sydney’s depth he never really got a look in. Guess they didn’t see a long term spot for him which is why he was delisted.

He was behind Rampe, Aliir, Grundy and McCartin in the Swans key defender pecking order, and they’d also already given a long term contract to Melican?

If you dig up the old swans thread, most posters were disappointed he wasn’t given a shot in the seniors. There were a couple comments suggesting that his defensive skill set was stronger than Melican’s in every regard, albeit with only exposure in the reserves.

Think he was earmarked to play forward. We haven't done enough of this type of recruiting imo.

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

He had 3 years at the swans. First year was injury interrupted, 2nd year he was inconsistent playing as a key forward, 3rd year he was trialled down back but because of Sydney’s depth he never really got a look in. Guess they didn’t see a long term spot for him which is why he was delisted.

I can't recall him at all at Sydney. But by the sounds of it he wasn't a bust for them. I like the thinking here. Couldn't trade for a KPD, couldn't draft one who'd be a chance in 2024, so go for the best one in the next best league and spend nothing on it. It's low risk recruiting with hopefully high reward. I look forward to seeing him.

Plenty of previously delisted or mature age key defenders have done well in the AFL later on in the career. The talls always mature at different rates.

The following is a pretty impressive list of key defenders who were either mature age or previously delisted from another club and that’s only in recent years:

Sam Collins - prev delisted
Callum Wilkie
Luke Ryan
Paddy McCartin - prev delisted
Dane Rampe
Marcus Adams
Alex Keath
Liam Jones - prev delisted

Some of our own include:
Scott Thompson
Nathan Grima

If Pink can reach the output of any of the above it will end up being a very astute pick up.

Plenty of previously delisted or mature age key defenders have done well in the AFL later on in the career. The talls always mature at different rates.

The following is a pretty impressive list of key defenders who were either mature age or previously delisted from another club and that’s only in recent years:

Sam Collins - prev delisted
Callum Wilkie
Luke Ryan
Paddy McCartin - prev delisted
Dane Rampe
Marcus Adams
Alex Keath
Liam Jones - prev delisted

Some of our own include:
Scott Thompson
Nathan Grima

If Pink can reach the output of any of the above it will end up being a very astute pick up.
Can add Tom Stewart, Jordan Butts and Nick Murray to the mature age pick up list

Love them all but they weren't drafted in 2010-2020 mate.
yeah, didn't pay attention to the timeline component there! Just goes to show we've picked up some great talent in rookie drafts in the past, perhaps we've been a bit conservative in the last decade or so.....maybe going for speculative guys who we think fit a need, rather than guys who have demonstrated they can dominate at lower levels and have some afl attributes.

From what I saw of Wednesday's game this bloke's as good as McKay and probably a better kick and decision maker!
He's not as good a mark but I like his physicality in the contest and agree his kicking and decision making looks better than McKay but I will wait until I see him in a real game to judge

Pink looks handy but he’s not in the same league as McKay!

We aren’t replacing buckets, best we can do is mitigate.

From what I saw of Wednesday's game this bloke's as good as McKay and probably a better kick and decision maker!

While it would be hilarious to emerge from the McKay trade with both an equivalent key defender and Duursma I'm still gonna remain skeptical until we actually see him play at the level. Did look pretty good on Wednesday.

yep, we've had plenty of shit players dominate intraclub games before (over the 20 years i've been reading this forum) it's a pointless measuring point as it's not in any way comparable to even a trial game, much less a regular season one.

no idea whether Pink will be good at AFL level or not but I'm a fan of the direction the club went in replacing McKay and doing well at SANFL (or WAFL) level playing that role reflects positively over his capacity to be at least serviceable this season.

yep, we've had plenty of s**t players dominate intraclub games before (over the 20 years i've been reading this forum) it's a pointless measuring point as it's not in any way comparable to even a trial game, much less a regular season one.

no idea whether Pink will be good at AFL level or not but I'm a fan of the direction the club went in replacing McKay and doing well at SANFL (or WAFL) level playing that role reflects positively over his capacity to be at least serviceable this season.

My thoughts are with Lindsay Smith who took one preseason towering mark at Princes Park and was crowned the next Wayne Carey.

Reckon we'll see that while Toby has a lower ceiling than Buckets, he'll have a higher floor.
Some of the footy McKay served up last year was putrid, but there were also several games where he was in our top 5 players.
If Pink can be competitive against his man, and avoid making any howlers. He'll be a solid contributor

My thoughts are with Lindsay Smith who took one preseason towering mark at Princes Park and was crowned the next Wayne Carey.

He turned an intra-club at Waverley into his own personal circus. Teenagers made out, old timers wept and ladies swooned.

It was the beginning of our next dynasty even if it only ran for 90 minutes.

Player Watch #32: Toby Pink - has been delisted, with the commitment to re-select him in the Rookie Draft