Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received

Wouldnt suprise me at all to see him play a different role with more freedom and play career best footy at WC.

Dont get some of the distasteful comments in here after his 2017 and 2020 Finals heroics.

He is a ****ing warrior and ripping fella. Wish him nothing but the best.

And 2019 prelim when he played with his shoulder slipping out

He’s been a ripper for us

But most French the early mediaeval English adopted was Norman french. Which was apparently quite different to 'normal' french. So there are layers of complexity on top of your erudite and informing explanation.

And bloody snobby english speakers doing stupid things using latin in so true. Most of the rules of grammar were created straight from latin in the nineteenth century. The teachers knew latin rules and so just translated them to english. English has a totally different structure and the rules people get taught are mostly garbage. I've won a few bets on the rules of english that way.

I have absolutely nothing to add to this discussion about Graham but I love this subject quoted so will just add one thing. That's correct that it was Norman French that influenced English. William the Conqueror, or more accurately, Guillaume the Conquerer brought his version of Norman French and after looking into it and even looking at his name it's why we have quirky double ups like "Guardian" and "Warden" that mean the same thing. English is a mess because it is a Germanic language (compare old english to old high German and the cognates are obvious) bastardised by a romance language that itself has been Germanised. Robwords on YouTube is absolutely amazing channel if anyone is into this subject.

And... Something something jack Graham, now we're back on topic.

Two ****ing game and last five seasons ago. Any wonder we had two wins for the season with people accepting such poor standards. I hope you purchased a dozen digital bricks for your loyalty in accepting mediocrity?..
I think you misunderstood my intention.

I don’t see the point shit canning a guy who has done what he’s done for our club. Sure he didn’t reach the heights we hoped but it’s not through a lack of trying.

Imagine we all shit on you every time you don’t live up to our expectations.

Dick response mate.

And 2019 prelim when he played with his shoulder slipping out

He’s been a ripper for us

That’s what I meant 🤦

I’ll put my hand up and say that I honestly thought he’d be in contention as a potential captain 2-3 years ago once Cotch and Co finished up but unfortunately his game never went to that next level once our top liners faded, if anything it’s diminished.

I respect him as a premiership player and he’s been a great clubman.

However respectfully let’s hope he takes the WCE offer and if we get compensated pick #22 that is the best parting gift he can leave us as part of his Richmond legacy.
I kind of quietly laugh to myself and think how is he going to cope in the scorching heat in Perth with his lack of pace and then on top of it have the demands of flying all over the country ever second week when he already has a history of soft tissue injuries. I just can’t see him thriving over there and he will fast become a whipping boy for the Eagles.

They will pile on mini quickly if he picks his favourites unconditionally especially when he brings in “outsiders”

Wouldnt suprise me at all to see him play a different role with more freedom and play career best footy at WC.

Dont get some of the distasteful comments in here after his 2017 and 2020 Finals heroics.

He is a ****ing warrior and ripping fella. Wish him nothing but the best.
Others past on him during his draft year due to concerns about pace , the fact he played any AFL games at all , is a credit to his work ethic. Unfortunately for him , the arrival of Taranto and hopper who both lack pace meant further trouble for Graham who wasn’t a certainty for his last contract.
Pace and skills has never been more important , not traits he excels in .

But most French the early mediaeval English adopted was Norman french. Which was apparently quite different to 'normal' french. So there are layers of complexity on top of your erudite and informing explanation.

And bloody snobby english speakers doing stupid things using latin in so true. Most of the rules of grammar were created straight from latin in the nineteenth century. The teachers knew latin rules and so just translated them to english. English has a totally different structure and the rules people get taught are mostly garbage. I've won a few bets on the rules of english that way.
Who cares about the French, arrogant pigs if you don’t speak French your nothing in their eyes

Lovely country to visit. But yeah, the French know they are the world's elite and f the rest.

However, last year I was cycle touring there and going up the Atlantic coast around La Rochelle and I started seeing yellow and black everywhere. Turns out the local rugby team (Rugby union rules there) had won the European championship. So I felt at home with yellow and black everywhere and crowds of nuts celebrating. Got a flag that was blowing in the wind and broguht it home. The wife won't let me put it up indoors, but it's in the shed. (Image not my flag)

1727742177707.png

I have absolutely nothing to add to this discussion about Graham but I love this subject quoted so will just add one thing. That's correct that it was Norman French that influenced English. William the Conqueror, or more accurately, Guillaume the Conquerer brought his version of Norman French and after looking into it and even looking at his name it's why we have quirky double ups like "Guardian" and "Warden" that mean the same thing. English is a mess because it is a Germanic language (compare old english to old high German and the cognates are obvious) bastardised by a romance language that itself has been Germanised. Robwords on YouTube is absolutely amazing channel if anyone is into this subject.

And... Something something jack Graham, now we're back on topic.

And they are all IndoEuropean languages. Awesome topic.

Got to look at that channel.

Jack Graham .... That Is

I’ll put my hand up and say that I honestly thought he’d be in contention as a potential captain 2-3 years ago once Cotch and Co finished up but unfortunately his game never went to that next level once our top liners faded, if anything it’s diminished.

I respect him as a premiership player and he’s been a great clubman.

However respectfully let’s hope he takes the WCE offer and if we get compensated pick #22 that is the best parting gift he can leave us as part of his Richmond legacy.
I kind of quietly laugh to myself and think how is he going to cope in the scorching heat in Perth with his lack of pace and then on top of it have the demands of flying all over the country ever second week when he already has a history of soft tissue injuries. I just can’t see him thriving over there and he will fast become a whipping boy for the Eagles.

They will pile on mini quickly if he picks his favourites unconditionally especially when he brings in “outsiders”

That's actually a well thought out post. After the 2017 GF I thought we'd unearthed a superstar with pick 54? I thought he then had 2nd year blues. After that I was convinced his 2017 GF was his Dean Polo debut and when he had Crows, Blues, Bombres and whatever other team throwing massive offers at him I was filthy the club didn't cash in. I've got a connection at Carlton I see rarely now but saw very often back then and the deal that ultimately landed Cerra was there for us to take for Graham. He's already accepted the WCE gig. People don't realise that after the GF there's a quick breather then FA starts Friday. Nothing can happen before then. Our upped offer was smoke and shadows behind the windows to give off the charade we actually want him. We're trying to get him a better deal and better compensation.

WCE only have picks 3, 23 and 59. They'll obviously get picks for Barrass but that's a lousy hand for a perennial cellar dweller team that's still got to get Baker. Some years there's an abundance of FA, this year not so much. Graham isn't going there as a saviour or potential gun mid. He's going there to be a bullocking workhorse who will make Reid's job easier. He's a competent stopgap who will fill a role til they can surround Reid with more guns. You're right too about the heat and travel factor. Once he acclimatises the heat might actually be beneficial to his soft tissues. But the flights will smash him. Surely Clarke and Mini do the right thing to help us trigger Band 3 pick 22 as their salary cap must have way more wiggle room than ours now.

Baker gives us an upgrade from 10 to #3
Graham gets #22
Few on here in the same bandwagon as you re Baker upgrade of picks.

What u are potentially saying is we give up Baker and Armstrong (best key forward in the draft) for Langford. Is this good for us?

I am not so sure. Probably not. What do others think?

Few on here in the same bandwagon as you re Baker upgrade of picks.

What u are potentially saying is we give up Baker and Armstrong (best key forward in the draft) for Langford. Is this good for us?

I am not so sure. Probably not. What do others think?
Could be FOS , JAGGA , LALOR

Yes that would be good for us

We will all be hoping for band 3 (start of 2nd round pick 22/23) but I think it’s more realistic to expect band 4 (end of 2nd round pick 40/41)
I agree, but in order to get a player to move to WA, when he has a 4 year contract with his current club, we could get lucky that they have had to pay overs $$$$

Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received