AFL Autopsy 4 point loss to Hawthorn

You're probably right on a lot of counts but we add Sicily and we get a player twice as good playing Stratts role. It's all swings and roundabouts mate, for one reason or another we got you twice this year, hopefully AFL schedules 2 more next year, rivalry deserves 2.
Hopefully both at the 'G too; our games should never be at Docklands.

Heppell’s season has been a tale of opposite poles as a leader. Helped us win some games and helped us lose some, too. Has he cost us a shot at finals, on balance? Has his recent good form papered over his pathetic lack of leadership early in the season? Perhaps we back him as a player and hand the captaincy to Smith next season. Captains can’t be shanking it all day at the pointy end of the season. I like the guy but we need more consistency from him.

You're probably right on a lot of counts but we add Sicily and we get a player twice as good playing Stratts role. It's all swings and roundabouts mate, for one reason or another we got you twice this year, hopefully AFL schedules 2 more next year, rivalry deserves 2.

Preferably Saturday arvo matches.

Heppell’s season has been a tale of opposite poles as a leader. Helped us win some games and helped us lose some, too. Has he cost us a shot at finals, on balance? Has his recent good form papered over his pathetic lack of leadership early in the season? Perhaps we back him as a player and hand the captaincy to Smith next season. Captains can’t be shanking it all day at the pointy end of the season. I like the guy but we need more consistency from him.

He was hampered with groin problem, he’s been brilliant last 10 weeks.

And Francis' attack is better than Hurleys at the moment.

What? Not a chance. Francis looked like a kid amongst men yesterday, apart from that bump.

Guelf. Does those little things that others do. Missing a 1st year player is a good sign for the recruiters.

Good point, I thought we missed Guelfi defensive efforts.

This is dead set rubbish, utter crap.

Utter rubbish. He's been great all year with a few down games.

I beg to differ. He has been great for a lot of the year but not all of the year. He was awful for a patch in the early part of the season. I expect more from captains than non-captains.

Just say the way that you see it mate. I reckon we were 20% off our best as well. Is that the pressure from the opposition or just an off day. I suggest the former, but maybe a combo of both. The tackling was full on in this game, like a final.

We had a few missing as well including last years B&F (Daniher) ... in fact we have twice the injuries that the Hawks have.

Both sides definitely made errors that would suggest they were off their game but in reality it's just the pressure of the contest I suspect, either real or implied.

If either side was better, some of those mistakes wouldn't be made and we'd (either of us) be higher on the ladder.

As it was it was just a great contest with many swings and roundabouts. Some great moments from both sides and a fair share of 'oh no' moments as well.

Was a cracker.

Wasn't a 'cracker' or a 'great game' or whatever.

Hawks weren't bad and the bombers were poor for 85% of the game. There's been some decent games this year but this wasn't one of them.

The umpiring was inconsistent as usual, one set of rules for the first half like no holding the ball then the opposite for the second (except the rancid 50 against Raz they had to chuck something in like that).

All this talk about our form the last month fools in the media calling us the second best team in the comp? We were poor against GC and Freo now Hawks. All pretty average teams really.

Blah blah blah I swear people just like saying shit most of the time.

I hope the arrogant Hawks get smashed in the finals. I'd rather see Melbourne or someone challenge.

Wasn't a 'cracker' or a 'great game' or whatever.

Hawks weren't bad and the bombers were poor for 85% of the game. There's been some decent games this year but this wasn't one of them.

The umpiring was inconsistent as usual, one set of rules for the first half like no holding the ball then the opposite for the second (except the rancid 50 against Raz they had to chuck something in like that).

All this talk about our form the last month fools in the media calling us the second best team in the comp? We were poor against GC and Freo now Hawks. All pretty average teams really.

Blah blah blah I swear people just like saying shit most of the time.

I hope the arrogant Hawks get smashed in the finals. I'd rather see Melbourne or someone challenge.

Can't agree. Both sides had as many bad moments as each other. Bombers poor for 85% is highly exaggerated. I dare say if the result was the other way our guys would say we were poor for large parts of the game and you guys weren't bad. I think we played slightly better for slightly longer which is why we won but result aside I think most neutrals would say that was a cracker....if not perhaps a clash of the absolute highest quality.

The umpiring I thought was absolutely inconspicuous all day apart from the advantage howler right at the end against Worpel. If more game were umpired like that I reckon things would be a lot better. Can't recall who we played but we had a game in the past month or so where it seemed like the umps were blowing the whistle every 5 seconds. Yesterday was infinitely better.

Can't agree. Both sides had as many bad moments as each other. Bombers poor for 85% is highly exaggerated. I dare say if the result was the other way our guys would say we were poor for large parts of the game and you guys weren't bad. I think we played slightly better for slightly longer which is why we won but result aside I think most neutrals would say that was a cracker....if not perhaps a clash of the absolute highest quality.

The umpiring I thought was absolutely inconspicuous all day apart from the advantage howler right at the end against Worpel. If more game were umpired like that I reckon things would be a lot better. Can't recall who we played but we had a game in the past month or so where it seemed like the umps were blowing the whistle every 5 seconds. Yesterday was infinitely better.
Yeah I agree the umpires were great for the first half. It's a shame they can't be consistent. First half we were good for the first four minutes of each quarter then quiet average. Hardly the makings of a cracker. The North game was far better in every way. We beat freo and GC and wasn't a cracker so no winning wouldn't have changed my opinion.

If Goddard wasn't paid for touching the line. (dubious on the replay) and we win we still would have played badly for 84% of the game. I guess the positive is we know we are loads better than that and should have creamed the Hawks.

Yeah I agree the umpires were great for the first half. It's a shame they can't be consistent. First half we were good for the first four minutes of each quarter then quiet average. Hardly the makings of a cracker. The North game was far better in every way. We beat freo and GC and wasn't a cracker so no winning wouldn't have changed my opinion.

If Goddard wasn't paid for touching the line. (dubious on the replay) and we win we still would have played badly for 84% of the game. I guess the positive is we know we are loads better than that and should have creamed the Hawks.

He stomped the line, correct call.

North game had no defence at all. Two sides free wheeling end to end. This game was far more strategic and defensive and tougher IMO. And still with 100+ points kicked each.

I feel like you're a bit hard to please. The game need not be the highest quality game of all time to still have been a cracking contest.

Agree to disagree I guess.

Goddard's call was fair, and I thought we did get lucky with the holding the ball when the Hawks player seems to clearly stop and had both hands raised.

Heppell's turnovers hurt us a lot on the weekend but he's been magnificent this year, and instrumental in our run of good form since the carlton game. No fluke he's right up there in the coaches votes.

Strange game. Our whole midfield bar Merrett were off and we lacked a marking target up forward (until Hooker went down there very late) but still only just lost.
Hooker was brilliant at both ends and so much of what worked up forward seemed to go through Stringer. Can't wait to see how he goes after another pre season. If he can drop 5kg and get back his explosiveness he'll cause even more havoc.

McNiece had another promising game.

Goddard has a lot of credits in the bank but I now think he'd be making the right call to go out this year while he's still a best 22 player, especially with Francis, Redman and Ridley all capable of playing a similar role and needing time in the seniors.

AFL Autopsy 4 point loss to Hawthorn