Rewatching the game, I probably did overrate Lloyd's game. It wasn't as noticeable as it seemed the first time. However he was still class and I think his work to steady things was very important. And I think it's crucial if you're gonna have rebounding types like Blakey and Florent who are more unpredictable.
When Lloyd is running, say after kicking, to take a handball receive then kick or handball again, he is very effective. Runs into space and already sizing up options.Rewatching the game, I probably did overrate Lloyd's game. It wasn't as noticeable as it seemed the first time. However he was still class and I think his work to steady things was very important. And I think it's crucial if you're gonna have rebounding types like Blakey and Florent who are more unpredictable.
Yeah he's just not that strong to put body on without giving away obvious frees.When Lloyd is running, say after kicking, to take a handball receive then kick or handball again, he is very effective. Runs into space and already sizing up options.
Where things can go wrong is if he takes a mark and props if there isn't a good target immediately obvious. Then the pattern gets all out of whack very quickly and almost has to start over.
There is a responsibility on the other players to make position too.
My problem with Lloyd is his one-on-one defending which is pretty crook. No lack of courage but his technique sucks.
I'm amazed and delighted at what Roberts has shown. I'm certain that the coaches and his teammates are too. Reminds of when Tommy went back - it was like he'd played there all his life. Incredible confidence right from the start. Kicks everything from a chip to a moon-launcher.Yeah he's just not that strong to put body on without giving away obvious frees.
I think he'll find his feet on the wing. If anything's plagued him this year it's been the time and space. It's like his years spent hemmed into the back pocket under pressure has made him skittish. He seems to be anticipating contact out on the wing that isn't actually coming, and then looking fumbly and unsure because of it. He's a great player and an experienced player, so I'm backing him in to come good.
FWIW I don't think he's in any danger of being dropped. He's in the top 5 players for efficiency in the competition (Roberts is as well.)
Nope, the kick followed his eyes perfectly. He lost some of that ferocity as he tired a bit but played a huge role in gaining mental ascendancy over the GC mids. Coaches and teammates know.I might make a GIF of that kick Adams did to Heeney early in the first. Just kinda sizzled a kick off the side of his boot slightly to find Heeney alone in the pocket but disguised where he was kicking it really nicely.
Could've been an accident of course but didn't seem it to me. He looked the goods early.
Yep. Thought he had a good game yesterday, but his good games have all come against teams that have been struggling. If he can do that when we are in a scrap I'll sing his praises.Just need him to be that involved when we play a top 3 team & in finals. Consistently.
I very much want Roberts to win the Rising Star because the Eagles crew will go ballistic. Reid has been okay but I reckon Roberts will be giving it a fair look.I'm amazed and delighted at what Roberts has shown. I'm certain that the coaches and his teammates are too. Reminds of when Tommy went back - it was like he'd played there all his life. Incredible confidence right from the start. Kicks everything from a chip to a moon-launcher.
I think you're right about Lloyd too because Jordon is being used differently so they're not in competition.
Gee it's a hard team to get into.
I very much want Roberts to win the Rising Star because the Eagles crew will go ballistic. Reid has been okay but I reckon Roberts will be giving it a fair look.
I think that Roberts is performing to the level in his position that warrants serious consideration but Reid will be getting all the media attention given that Sanders, McKercher and many of the other early picks aren't doing much at all. Windsor maybe is going OK. Wardlaw from last year but in a losing side. Big Darcy?I very much want Roberts to win the Rising Star because the Eagles crew will go ballistic. Reid has been okay but I reckon Roberts will be giving it a fair look.
20 points ahead is insane now that the byes are doneVOTES
PLAYER (CLUB)
9 Nick Blakey (SYD)
9 Brodie Grundy (SYD)
6 Isaac Heeney (SYD)
2 Errol Gulden (SYD)
2 Oliver Florent (SYD)
1 Matt Rowell (GCFC)
1 Justin McInerney (SYD)
VOTES PLAYER CLUB 47 Isaac Heeney SYD 27 Zach Merrett ESS 25 Christian Petracca MELB 25 Elliot Yeo WCE 24 Max Gawn MELB
22 Errol GuldenSYD
Lucky for usYeah he was flagged as a first round pick but got cruelled by injury during his draft year.
Adams does look held together with sticky tape though
I very much want Roberts to win the Rising Star because the Eagles crew will go ballistic. Reid has been okay but I reckon Roberts will be giving it a fair look.
And when has a Reid ever missed half a season ?i agree roberts has been terrific, but reid would need to miss half the season to lose that award ...
Posted on Twitter. Don't know it's accuracy but......This might go down like a lead balloon, but I think James Rowbottom is one of our smartest players. I think it can be easy to judge him off the few times a game he'll bomb it forward with little thought, but that discounts the other stuff he does with ball in hand that is usually pretty great.
You almost need slow-mo replays to appreciate his footy IQ at times.
His kick to Papley that made him land on his arse seemed like a lofty skyball, but it's only on the replay from a different angle you see there was literally half a dozen players between he and Papley he had to get it through, and he lowers his eyes but instead changes his mind in a split second and opts for a high ball to get it to Papley over the back.
At another point he gets the handball receive and is running through off half back and has the awareness to handball it over the top to put it out in front of Wicks to run onto rather than trying to get it straight to him when he's under pressure.
And later on it's him winning possession back from a tackle he lays himself that starts the chain leading to Papley's brilliant mark & goal against the boundary line.
I feel like things like this are the reasons he doesn't win as many possessions as he could. He's usually just so good at making the right choices as to who to give the ball to that there's no need for the ball to come back to him in a passage. It's an efficiency that's really well-suited to our game plan IMO.
This might go down like a lead balloon, but I think James Rowbottom is one of our smartest players. I think it can be easy to judge him off the few times a game he'll bomb it forward with little thought, but that discounts the other stuff he does with ball in hand that is usually pretty great.
You almost need slow-mo replays to appreciate his footy IQ at times.
His kick to Papley that made him land on his arse seemed like a lofty skyball, but it's only on the replay from a different angle you see there was literally half a dozen players between he and Papley he had to get it through, and he lowers his eyes but instead changes his mind in a split second and opts for a high ball to get it to Papley over the back.
At another point he gets the handball receive and is running through off half back and has the awareness to handball it over the top to put it out in front of Wicks to run onto rather than trying to get it straight to him when he's under pressure.
And later on it's him winning possession back from a tackle he lays himself that starts the chain leading to Papley's brilliant mark & goal against the boundary line.
I feel like things like this are the reasons he doesn't win as many possessions as he could. He's usually just so good at making the right choices as to who to give the ball to that there's no need for the ball to come back to him in a passage. It's an efficiency that's really well-suited to our game plan IMO.
No argument here. Been a fan since NEAFL days.Posted on Twitter. Don't know it's accuracy but......
Rowy's CPR (cont. possession rate) of 54% with a disposal efficiency of 73% is bettered by only three mids in the AFL - Cripps, Liberatore and Rowell.His handball efficiency of 88% is 2nd at the Swans and the highest of all Swans mids.
Rowy's kick rate has decreased by 5% but his kicking efficiency has increased by 10%. We're seeing him take more short kicks in congestion to targets, rather than bombing it long.
Means a decrease in his metres gained by an average of 40m, but an increase in the rest of his offensive game in many areas. 2024's seen career-highs for Rowy in intercept possessions, score involvements, score launches, goal assists and ratings points.
But Rowy is gonna' Rowy. He's still had career-highs in tackles, tackles inside 50, pressure acts and spoils. He is the number one tackler in the AFL this season, averaging 2 tackles more than last year when he broke the all-time club record for tackles in a season.