A Section A Section Amateur Football

The Human Keg said:
To those young "men" for want of a better word, schooled just north of the Gardiner Creek swamplands,

Is that the best you can do? Did some idiot book the end of season trip for 9 September and you tightarse spineless weasels don't want to forfeit the deposit on the airfares?

"Gay Paris" is supposed to be lovely in September. Enjoy it. Gotta be better than playing football and getting muddy. eh boyos. Better pull out those berets you've been hiding with in your closets for all those years and get them dry cleaned.

The men of "Gay Paris", beware, don't bend over for the soap for a few weeks. Scotch are spending September in France.

Good Spray!

On the other matter...
Ivanhoe are like Collingwood supporters. For some reason they are more interested in what everyone else thinks of them than their results on the field (ie all we heard from Collingwood supporters early this year was "When are people going to give us some credit?" and all we hear from Ivanhoe is how good they'd be IF they had all their players. In 10 years the records will list the premiers, not the beaten favourites or the 'best list'.

Give it up we all have injuries.

Drizzle - well said mate I have even heard them complain about some bloke who hasn't even pulled on the boots this year WTF?? Next they might start complaining about guy's who no longer play at OI.

The Late Mail - I hate to echo the thoughts and sentiments of basically everyone on this site but Xavs and Blues are that far ahead of everyone its not funny.

Your Username is spot on buddy! who delivered that late mail?? ;) And I agree the Xav's guys are a pretty decent bunch of blokes on and off the field except for the odd few (1 springs to mind immediatly but i won't name names)

Bell Ringer said:
Didn't realise Gary Ayres took such an interest in Ammos football.

Appreciate the stitch up BR, I realise I sound like a d**k head! But if I were to name all of the Xavs quality mid-fielders I'd be here all day. Johnston, Chatfield, Scanlan and Graham are just a few who spring to mind!

Not sure where all this talk is from about OI and complaining about injuries. Must be supporters, because it certainly isn't coming from the playing group.

Injuries are a part of footy. It is the depth of your club that ultimately decides the success of the team/s (obviously assuming most clubs have their fair share of talented players).

Destination A Grade said:
Not sure where all this talk is from about OI and complaining about injuries. Must be supporters, because it certainly isn't coming from the playing group.

Injuries are a part of footy. It is the depth of your club that ultimately decides the success of the team/s (obviously assuming most clubs have their fair share of talented players).

It was great to see the OI players back to their ground of choice on Saturday night. Most would agree this is where they've played their best games.

Slay Master G said:
It was great to see the OI players back to their ground of choice on Saturday night. Most would agree this is where they've played their best games.

It is also where they obtained most of the injuries, i.e. OP and hammy strains.

Slay Master G said:

No doubt. A better run than the OX's over the last 15 years have OI had there. It feels more like home than Pine Lodge.

Destination A Grade said:
No doubt. A better run than the OX's over the last 15 years have OI had there. It feels more like home than Pine Lodge.
DAG word around Pinelodge is that you were barred from the balcony of the OI sat night "home ground" as the moon was full and your pale tan was in danger of becoming transparent

There is a few massive games this week that could really make or break finals chances

Ivanhoe VS De La (the Lodge)
Scotch VS Trinty (Camberwell)
Xav's VS Hail (At the Rack)

Who is everyone tipping

holding said:
There is a few massive games this week that could really make or break finals chances

Ivanhoe VS De La (the Lodge)
Scotch VS Trinty (Camberwell)
Xav's VS Hail (At the Rack)

Who is everyone tipping

OI - mathematically possible, relying on a few other results so a must win
OS - gotta show something before finals dont they?
OH - toorak park voodoo

Eddie Woloschek said:
I'm tipping you didn't pass Grade 4 English Grammar.

Yea I passed but it took me 4 attempts Kn0b, it was harder than I expected.

I'm also tipping your a virgin who has nothing better to do than correct everyone's grammar mistakes on a footy forum :p I'm also tipping you should change your name from Eddie Woloschek to Eddie Wannaswallowload you p00f, if you can't post anything better than smart ar$e remarks about grammar then don't post at all. :D

holding said:
Yea I passed but it took me 4 attempts Kn0b, it was harder than I expected.

I'm also tipping your a virgin who has nothing better to do than correct everyone's grammar mistakes on a footy forum :p I'm also tipping you should change your name from Eddie Woloschek to Eddie Wannaswallowload you p00f, if you can't post anything better than smart ar$e remarks about grammar then don't post at all. :D

Over-sensitive as well as frightfully immature are we? Go play with your mobile phone. Even if you can't figure out how to spell out text messages, you can always play Snake.

Eddie Woloschek said:
Over-sensitive as well as frightfully immature are we? Go play with your mobile phone. Even if you can't figure out how to spell out text messages, you can always play Snake.

COME ON EDDIE is that the best you could come up with? your not much chop are you son? (upstairs or downstairs).

Rule number 1 - If your going to poke $hit at people on forums make sure you actually have somthing FUNNY to write.

Anyways...Back to the football.

As previously mentioned, 2 massive games this wkend and the one in Camberwell should be red-hot too. It's not often that a side third-bottom on the ladder has so much to play for so close to the end of the H&A season. However, if Trinity pull off a surprise victory on Sat their slim finals chances are still alive and the race for 4th will be well and truly alive. I fancy OS to regroup but if Cultrera can get going and big Rambo fires up then who knows..?

Out at Pine Lodge come 2PM two sides with no love lost between them will be going at it hammer and tongs. There's a lot of recent big-game history with OI and DLS clashes, but this one potentially has the biggest rewards yet for the winner, (depending on whether you rate a B-Grade flag over a possible A-Grade finals spot or V.V.). OI won the previous encounter this year, however DLS have shown a bit of late. Tough one to pick but my heart says DLS and so does the ladder position, so that's good enough for me.

1 V 2 will see two sides trying to get ahead of the pack in a bid for a definite top-two finish. I'm not tipping against a side who kicked 28 goals last week so it's OX for me.

The remaining two games should see the away sides getting the four points but as we all know there's no such thing as a certainty in Ammos football.

BR,

Your eternal optimism is admirable, but the chance of OT making the finals now are 10000/1 at best. With percentage where it is and Uni or OI only having to win one of their last three - it ain't going to happen.

However, the motivation for a win lies in:

1. making up for last week's awful effort at the Pit;
2. harpooning OS's finals chances; and
3. finishing off strong, given the list will remain largely intact over summer and needs to keep working on the new game style.

Point #2 is the strongest, and I trust all bar OS supporters would wish us well in this regard.

As for the other games, Bernies will nail OMs easily, Xavs should nudge the Bloods out, Uni will tune up for September at Marcellin's expense and De La will narrowly snuff out OI's finals' hopes.

A few of OI's best should be back this week, and it will be very interesting to see how the notoriously disinterested bench user Sholly operates.

webbo_83 said:
A few of OI's best should be back this week, and it will be very interesting to see how the notoriously disinterested bench user Sholly operates.

Have you got splinters in your arse Webbo? Been spending a fair bit of time on the Pine at the Pine Lodge?

Scribe said:
Point #2 is the strongest, and I trust all bar OS supporters would wish us well in this regard.

I don't follow OS but i would like to see them play finals :thumbsu: I don't think they are good enough to win it (well actually they are far from good enough) but i think they deserve a chance and a little september action.

Can anyone give me any mail on how Ryan Colberts year for Old Xaverians has
been?? I had a bit to do with him through the TAC Cup Bendigo U18's.. He was always extremely lightly built, but very dangerous with the ball in
his hands (very clean), just needed to add to his light frame.. Hows his form been and is he amongst Xavs best??

Shumway said:
been?? I had a bit to do with him through the TAC Cup Bendigo U18's.. He was always extremely lightly built, but very dangerous with the ball in
his hands (very clean), just needed to add to his light frame.. Hows his form been and is he amongst Xavs best??

Ripping form. Would be in top 3 or 4 in club B&F. Played every game. Made state team with 3 other Xavs. All in all a 9/10. Wins plenty of the ball. Had a good team around him which helps.

Shumway said:

I heard him the other week being called "Schapelle" by his teammates.

Schapelle Colby instead of Corby.... a stretch but pretty funny.

Remaining games

OH - Scotch then Bernards
OS - Hail then Marc
OX - De La then Trinity
UB - Ivanhoe then De La
LDS - Xav's then Uni Blues

Very interesting week this week if Xav's loose to De La they will find themself in 5th position. Can Ivanhoe upset the Blues again and maybe push them out of the 4? Can Scotch cement a top 2 finish by knocking off the Hail boys at Badlands?

Great 2 weeks ahead for all thoughts?

old trinity, looking for a very successful season next year, trying to recruit younger blokes to the club, which is very good. A few under 19s from other VAFA clubs and Diamond Valley will be moving to OT's next year..