A Section A Section Amateur Football

fish1 said:
how are they planning on getting these blokes to the club if they have no tie with trinity.

and if they cant pay them... they have no reason to play for the jumper if they have no association and if they came from DVFL they would be being paid to play, why would they give that up?

yeah well they dont have a tie, but a few of the blokes down there,particulary the good under 19s who r playign ones and twos down at trinity, are mates with a few.. lets just say that the boys who are contemplating this move are under 18 TAC players. Old trinity to push for next years A grade flag

dv07 said:
Old trinity to push for next years A grade flag

Getting more than 365 days ahead of yourself is pretty risky business in any field, let alone ammos football. I'd suggest that you put your predictions on '07 premiers in a time capsule and open it up in approximately 12 months. That way you can review your tips and not look like a clown while the rest of us might actually give a damn about what your talking about...

If Old Xav's win this again this year they are going to apply to play in the AFL and with the talent that is "coming" to Xav's next year (some of these guy's played for VIC in Under 16's) They will probably win the AFL flag in 2007!!!

dv07 your a tool

mattgreigip4.jpg

Just thought people would want to know what Matty Greig is up to these days. From the Photos he looks like he's up to about 12 feet!!!

Photo sourced from Regional Leagues thread.

Stop it!! That's not fair!!

(sniff, sob!!) :(

That's got to be one of the better still photos from suburban footy in recent years. I presume it's taken off a video recording. Know Greigy, he probably popped a shoulder on landing, slipped it back in, gave a spray to the Noble ferals and slotted the goal. He'd look even better taking them in green and gold and on a bowling green like the Daley Oval, instead of the cow paddock they play on at Vermont (though that may be from the Noble Park game at Noble).

Abyhow, back to A Grade 2006, and the Scotch win looks like being crucial in the context of the jostling for finals' places. Frankly, both Trinity and Scotch were missing plenty of players, and neither side would say they brought their A game to K2 Stadium - so Barry Price would be very happy to walk away with the chocolates and 2nd place with 2 games to go.

De La have put the Hoers' season to rest, and they remain well and truly in contention for finals action. I wouldn't write them off by any stretch as they're playing good positive hard running footy, and have probably exceeded all expectations down at Dairy Bell. I think it'd be fantastic if they managed to sneak into the 4.

Haileybury are pretty much assured of finals as De La play Uni and Xavs - which means those three sides simply can't win all their games to knock the Bloods out. Scotch should be safe too, it's now a 3 way battle for the final two places.

Uni play Old Ivanhoe and De La
Xavs play De La and Trinity
De La play Xavs and Uni

If De La can win both, then one of last years GF teams will miss out.

Makes for an intriguing finish.

Looks like they are playing footy on Sand the deck is that bad, he would have come down with a blood nose he is that high!

Woodrow - Rayson from De La, has had a rippa season, Patto would also have to be right up there.

I can't see Cultera getting it only cause he spends most his time up forward and Trinity's start to the year was pretty ordinary. Jenke has to many on ballers that steal the votes IMO.

holding said:
If Old Xav's win this again this year they are going to apply to play in the AFL and with the talent that is "coming" to Xav's next year (some of these guy's played for VIC in Under 16's) They will probably win the AFL flag in 2007!!!

dv07 your a tool

What talent are you referring to?

holding said:

dv07 your a tool

mate ur callin me a tool, i was suggesting that old trinitys will push for the flag. they had a few young blokes in the ones this year and with a few more comin they wil definately make the 4, they just finished outside the 4 this year

dv07 said:
mate ur callin me a tool, i was suggesting that old trinitys will push for the flag. they had a few young blokes in the ones this year and with a few more comin they wil definately make the 4, they just finished outside the 4 this year

Who's just outside the four??? If your still talking about OT then look again. It's pretty bleak across the club.
Seniors 3 games and almost 50% outside the four.
2's 5 games and 100%+ outside the four
Under 19's - Last with 1 win and 37% (In section 2)

These 'supposed' TAC players would want to be seriously good players who slip under the radar of AFL clubs. And thats if OT can get them. An 18 can change his mind and his loyalties pretty quickly when a local club flashes a few thousand dollar notes in front of him. Trinity are as much chance for next years flag as Derek Kickett being Kevin Sheedy's assistant.

Drizzle said:
Who's just outside the four??? If your still talking about OT then look again. It's pretty bleak across the club.
Seniors 3 games and almost 50% outside the four.
2's 5 games and 100%+ outside the four
Under 19's - Last with 1 win and 37% (In section 2)

These 'supposed' TAC players would want to be seriously good players who slip under the radar of AFL clubs. And thats if OT can get them. An 18 can change his mind and his loyalties pretty quickly when a local club flashes a few thousand dollar notes in front of him. Trinity are as much chance for next years flag as Derek Kickett being Kevin Sheedy's assistant.

leigh cattogio(son of Vinnie Cattogio) and a few others

dv07 said:

if he is THAT good... carlton have first slag at the kid with their father son... also whats to say he wont get picked up by another club... having Vinnie as his old man he perfect prey for AFL clubs and if he is half as good as his old man im sure he will get drafted!

chelsworthgale said:
if he is THAT good... carlton have first slag at the kid with their father son... also whats to say he wont get picked up by another club... having Vinnie as his old man he perfect prey for AFL clubs and if he is half as good as his old man im sure he will get drafted!
He cant go father son, Not eligable as his dad didnt play enough games

Long JOhn said:
He cant go father son, Not eligable as his dad didnt play enough games

i stand corrected! I though vinnie had played more than 110 games. Still a superstar and still crusies around earning an honest living as a painter! Good bloke too! :thumbsu:

dv07 said:

If he's got a hair-doo half as good as his old man he'll be one to watch!
Vinnie Cattogio, that is bloody funny!

dv07 said:

YES I AM CALLING YOU A TOOL! Let me break it down for you starting from the top.

1's - Lack Disipline, currently sitting 8th which is only 1 spot away from B grade, would need a lot more than 2-3 players to win an A section flag.

2's - Very ordinary football side, have been on the end of some serious beat downs this year, They are not fit and if all the rumours are true half the guy's can't be arsed playing anymore.

3's - HAHA they are in division 3 Clubbies what more needs to be said?

U19's - As above, sitting last in Div 2 U19 will be playing in Div 3 next year with only 1 win for the year.

School Boy's - Have been the laughing stock of AGSV football for the last 10 years

Trinity should stick to Basketball and Hockey :)

Plumber - The old Xav's thing was a Gag. :thumbsu:

holding said:
YES I AM CALLING YOU A TOOL! Let me break it down for you starting from the top.

1's - Lack Disipline, currently sitting 8th which is only 1 spot away from B grade, would need a lot more than 2-3 players to win an A section flag.

2's - Very ordinary football side, have been on the end of some serious beat downs this year, They are not fit and if all the rumours are true half the guy's can't be arsed playing anymore.

3's - HAHA they are in division 3 Clubbies what more needs to be said?

U19's - As above, sitting last in Div 2 U19 will be playing in Div 3 next year with only 1 win for the year.

School Boy's - Have been the laughing stock of AGSV football for the last 10 years

Trinity should stick to Basketball and Hockey :)

Plumber - The old Xav's thing was a Gag. :thumbsu:

u play for old xavs, typical soft footballers, mate i am down at trinity nearly every 2nd week and the coaching staff down there are pretty keen on what is forawrd for season 2007. dont start to get all defensive in regards to the 19s and club 18, it is irrelevant.

dv07 said:
u play for old xavs, typical soft footballers, mate i am down at trinity nearly every 2nd week and the coaching staff down there are pretty keen on what is forawrd for season 2007. dont start to get all defensive in regards to the 19s and club 18, it is irrelevant.

You were going along ok till this???? Shocking soft team at Old Xavs. Losing culture, not hard at it, perhaps the most emabrrassing club in Ammos history!!
Tool!

dv07 said:
u play for old xavs, typical soft footballers

MMM no I don't play for Xav's at all in fact i have absolutly nothing to do with Xav's, I like many others can appreciate how much work goes into having the success they have had over the past 10 or so years. As for being soft??? you don't win 6 flags in a row from being soft!

dv07 said:
mate i am down at trinity nearly every 2nd week and the coaching staff down there are pretty keen on what is forawrd for season 2007.

That because they have nothing to be happy about this year you twat i bet OM's and Marc are also trying to remain posative about the years they have had!

dv07 said:
don't start to get all defensive in regards to the 19s and club 18 it is irrelevant

I am not getting "defensive" as i couldn't care less but I personally think it is relevant, if the under 19's are not strong it doesn't say much for the next few years at OT!! You need good depth to be a strong A grade club like Uni, Xav's, Bernards, Scotch ect all of these teams have 2's sides that are pretty handy and they also have handy U19 sides most years. The under 19's will be the ones that are one day filling the spots in your 1's.

holding said:

Scribe where are you? Surely that was the cue to tell Holding about your brilliant 240 game career in the Trinity seconds, and that in your role as club legend/best bloke/club secretary that these scurrilous rumours are completely untrue, are damaging to the club and that you are personally holding the fort down there. Maybe slip in that you earn heaps of money and that you have a hot girlfriend. Also maybe you should give another plug to that excellent show you did with your "hilarious scribe partner in crime" Jonathon Horn. Then everyone will take you seriously.

Where's Mokbel? said:
Scribe where are you? Surely that was the cue to tell Holding about your brilliant 240 game career in the Trinity seconds, and that in your role as club legend/best bloke/club secretary that these scurrilous rumours are completely untrue, are damaging to the club and that you are personally holding the fort down there. Maybe slip in that you earn heaps of money and that you have a hot girlfriend. Also maybe you should give another plug to that excellent show you did with your "hilarious scribe partner in crime" Jonathon Horn. Then everyone will take you seriously.

Fear not Where's Mokbel - I'm here, but obviously you beat me to it. I'm blushing. My girlfriend will be delighted you think she's that flash. :p

Seriously though - I have been following the recent trend of this thread and, if I took seriously what dv07 was saying, then I'd probably back him up.

However, I disagree with most of his points...whilst the influx of several 16 to 18 year olds may be of great assistance in the long term, the immediate impact will not be sufficient, alone, to enable Trinity to challenge for a premiership in 2007. Most of the improvement has to come from within, and finished off with a bit of top-end recruiting.

Suffice to say, I think dv07's a little off the mark. Mind you holding's opinions are simply that as well, opinions, to which we're all entitled.
Let's face it - the results and ladder positions don't lie. Fortunately, our midseason streak of 6 wins was enough to keep us in the top flight. During that time we chalked up some good wins, which is promising. However, we're under no illusions that we've got plenty of work to do in the next 8 months - starting with this weekend against OMs.

FYI - our current club legend is actually Andrew Ramsden. Best bloke is clearly David Beardsley. I took the only other role available.

:thumbsu:

Scribe

PS - I have never seen a Xavs side that wasn't hard, that's why they're consistently in the top 2, and keep winning flags.

Scribe said:
PPS - from your posting history, Where's Mokbel, you appear to have only posted twice, and for the same reason - to have a crack at me. Don't waste your time, it's not worth it.
Your average troll probably thinks it is worth it when he gets essays in reply both times :p

(No matter how well argued :) )