Mega Thread Adam Goodes starring in Lord of the Flies - The only place to post Goodes stuff - Read the OP

You the only one arguing that you can't win AOTY award and be a footballer without some great big injustice being done.

No....I'm saying that Goodes has confused the one role with the other in his politicization of the sport....The public don't like that.

And in so doing has exposed his naivete & ineptness for both the task & the honour bestowed upon him

The thing that irks me about this whole kerfuffle (been wanting an excuse to write that word for a while :D ) is the refusal by the media (Robbo being a prime example) to see this is nothing other than a black and white issue. Booing = racist. Case closed. Nothing could be further from the truth. There are many issues and factors at play here, and while race may be one of them, they refuse to entertain the notion that other factors exist.

Reading over this thread, there are a myriad of different reasons people have given for booing and not booing Goodes. Surely the media would be smart enough to realise that this is the case. In fact, they probably are. But no, they're going to keep on peddling the same agenda because they're committed to it, and outrage sells.

Bottom line for me - the world isn't simple, and can't be compartmentalised into this and that. We're at a football game. People cheer at football games. They boo at football games. Both happen for a variety for reasons, not just one. People have no right to say it's one reason and one reason only, especially without consulting all of those doing the cheering or booing.

Anywho, on to another issue that raised an eyebrow for me - Poor GAJ just can't catch a break this year can he?

However you can get real good odds about him winning the Brownlow this year.

So boo him until he has a nervous breakdown?

NO....You seem to have fallen into the media-fueled hysteria & trap of extremist hyperbole....It is not a question of either/or.

That's as simplistic & nonsensical as 'all those who boo are sheep & racists'....Lazy, over-politicized journalism.

The Jetta incident was but one small incident over an entire w/end of footy....And yet the AFL & medias fixation on it has been blown out of any semblance of proportion.

This entire.... Goodes/aboriginal....Booers/racists attempted dichotomy is farcical.

Well aware of that....You seem to miss the point entirely....He is a full-time footballer, first & fore-most.

I guess that's why I brought up Pat Rafter earlier, has he done any more than Goodes outside of sport? And Steve Waugh? Are they both not athletes first and foremost?

So why the lack of public angst and anger towards the two white athletes who didn't deserve the award?

Your posts on this thread here are very logical and sound. I always read what you write on a topic, because I believe you make sense.

The truth is that if we want to live in a civil non-racist multicultural democratic society then the point has been reached that people should not boo Goodes anymore, unless they want to be called racist..... I believe that any person who boos him from now on should be prepared to accept that they are acting in a racist fashion.

This is regardless of whatever motives that they think they might have for booing (ie. sliding in, faking for frees, carrying on at a 13 year old girl, protected species... etc). All of this might be right, but it is no longer relevant.

Regardless of how any individual might justify it to themselves, from here onwards, the extent of it does not look justifiable. The booing is now out of all proportion to the criticisms that are levelled at Goodes, even if all of those criticisms were 100% right. The booing now looks like a mindless pack mentality. People who join in are empowering others who have racist undertones.

I really dislike Sydney. I desperately want them to fail and I do not like Goodes' on-field antics, but he has a right to feel aggrieved by all of this. It is not a matter of him being a sook.

The truth is that there are many many players who have played the game dirtier than Goodes. There are many many players who have carried on like pork chops and faked for frees. These players might be booed from time to time, but they have received nothing like the negative attention that Goodes has got for all of this year.

I still cannot get over the way Jimmy Bartel dived to get that free against Suckling in the marking contest last year. He is not booed. Stevie J is always picking fights (note how he smashed into Sam Mitchell this year when Mitchell had his back turned to him) and faking for frees. He is not booed anywhere near like what Goodes gets. M Lloyd did not get this much booing after he smashed Josh Thurgood's jaw with an armguard. Joel Selwood does not get this much booing even though he has 154 more free kicks than anyone else in the last 4 years for his ducking style. Some players have been in jail for assault and have not been booed at all.

Whether people like it or not, Goodes is being put to higher standards than the average player. The extent of the booing towards him is by far out of proportion to the boos that other dirty players in the game have received. This means that he is being discriminated against.

I am sorry, but this is not about legitimate "free speech" and a right to boo. This is speech that is designed to hurt a person, and because he cops it more than average players, an element of the booing is because of Adam Goodes' race and his stance on racism, and that is not on. The Racial Discrimination Act legislates against it. Defamation laws provide against it. Our society does not and should not accept it.

It is time to stop, and I am sure that is what all of the players in the AFL would want.

No disrespect to you mate but how will your "line in the sand" be accurate? The line that says that after this point if you boo....you are a racist.

How can you draw a line and then say to people if you cross this line in this way then you are definitely a racist.

That can not be an accurate statement, neither is it realistic. How can booing be racist just because it has reached "a certain level" as well as fall into the category of discrimination on the same basis? That is possibly alarmist...but not actually factual.

This is not an attack on you....just trying to get my head around your statements and logic as I believe that you have made them in good faith.

Dich-what-omy? o_O

I know your having a bit of fun, however, I'll humor you.
  1. A dichotomy is a partition of a whole (or a set) into two parts (subsets) that are: jointly exhaustive: everything must belong to one part or the other, and. mutually exclusive: nothing can belong simultaneously to both parts.

NO....You seem to have fallen into the media-fueled hysteria & trap of extremist hyperbole....It is not a question of either/or.

That's as simplistic & nonsensical as 'all those who boo are sheep & racists'....Lazy, over-politicized journalism.

The Jetta incident was but one small incident over an entire w/end of footy....And yet the AFL & medias fixation on it has been blown out of any semblance of proportion.

This entire.... Goodes/aboriginal....Booers/racists attempted dichotomy is farcical.
I am clearly not arguing that dichotomy. I am saying that the whole debate is pointless. It has lost touch and probably was never connected to the cause of the booing. And given the booing has escalated to a ridiculous point the only outcomes now are continued escalation or everyone walks away. In my view everyone is better off walking away.

Sure i was annoyed by Goodes awhile after he dragged the swans over the line in the '12 grand final but seeing how its affecting him its really time people grow up and cut the bs booing out.
Bullying and doing it just for a reaction is very un australian.
If your one of those that will do it just cos people have said to stop really should just grow the **** up.

I know your having a bit of fun, however, I'll humor you.
  1. A dichotomy is a partition of a whole (or a set) into two parts (subsets) that are: jointly exhaustive: everything must belong to one part or the other, and. mutually exclusive: nothing can belong simultaneously to both parts.
What then is a strapadictome?:)

Kb and sen are the worst thing that's happened to footy in the last 5 to 10 years! There's people on that station that push their agenda from day one and because this state is full of footy head bigots, the 'Agenda pushers' get their messege across with ease. KB is a shit bloke, has always been and has been involved in aa selections and the rules committee???? Why?? Because he played 400 games of footy 40 years ago? He still thinks there's no need for interchange bench FfS!!! Without listening or reading in a long time, can someone SCHOCK me and tell me that these people I'm gonna name ever say anything good/positive about hawthorn? Other than the obvious?
Patrick smith
Caroline Wilson
Kevin Bartlett
Craig Hutchinson
I'm gonna take a good god damn guess and say 'NO'!

How did you only get 5 idiots?

And it's interesting that the talk is all about Goodes this week, and nothing about the Sydney Swans stinking up the AFL competition?
Horse Longmire is talking up Goodesy's problems.

He would be pretty happy no one is talking about the footy!

;)