Traded Adam Saad [traded to Carlton with #48 and #78 for #8 and #87]

Who won this trade?

• Essendon

Votes: 10 34.5%
  • Carlton

Votes: 19 65.5%

You should be happy with a top 10 pick. You should be happy with the fact this seems to have jolted your club into the realization that somewhat of a rebuild is required, and that this should kick start that process.

As an Essendon fan I wouldn't be happy with the circumstances around the trade - but that's as much the fault of the club than it is the player, if not more so.

Regardless, the point was that comparing what you paid for him to what you received for him years later, is a completely ridiculous way of measuring how you did in a particular trade.
In a way agree, but in another you could view it as return on investment.
Use a 2nd rounder, develop player, trade for top 10 pick. That's pretty good trading.
Why it's worth noting we used a top 10 pick on Daniher, spent years and $$ on developing him and building a side around him, and lost him for a slightly better pick vs. could have had 2 (including one better than the one we got).

But you're right, it's not the right measure.

I'd also add Daniher was probably the catalyst for the rebuild. He stays, i reckon we keep chasing top ups.
Which is funny, cos we have a far more reliable forward both fitness and kicking wise as his replacement.

You can get these type of players for much cheaper.

Such a silly line, one wonders why it is so often repeated.

You can get any type of player in any position "cheaper".

There are 44 starting half back flanks on any given weekend. Two of them will be AA. MAYBE another three are genuine result influencers.

But hey. The other 39 are cheaper. Why bother with a game changing player when you can have a cheap player?

I'd also add Daniher was probably the catalyst for the rebuild. He stays, i reckon we keep chasing top ups.
Which is funny, cos we have a far more reliable forward both fitness and kicking wise as his replacement.

Given a choice no club would take that "far more reliable" forward over Daniher.

Carlton and Geelong wouldn't be interested in either of them.

I'm happy to add an elite player who fits into our structure perfectly for a Top 10 pick.

Surely Dodoro will head to the draft this year add another little guy who poor footskills with a lesser pick, but is that doing much to move the dial?

When you've spent early selections on guns like Walsh, Weitering, Curnow and McKay you've the luxury of using an early pick an establish senior player not quite reaching their potential at a lower-ranked club.

Such a silly line, one wonders why it is so often repeated.

You can get any type of player in any position "cheaper".

There are 44 starting half back flanks on any given weekend. Two of them will be AA. MAYBE another three are genuine result influencers.

But hey. The other 39 are cheaper. Why bother with a game changing player when you can have a cheap player?

No it's not silly, because it's the overall strength of the list that matters. If we can replace Saad with a player that isn't much weaker and add a top 10 player on top of that (as long as that pick works out) it is an overall net positive. And Redman has more coaches votes than Saad this year, so it's not like Saad is levels above him, even if he is better.
And there's significantly more than three 'result influencers' at that position.

No it's not silly, because it's the overall strength of the list that matters. If we can replace Saad with a player that isn't much weaker and add a top 10 player on top of that (as long as that pick works out) it is an overall net positive. And Redman has more coaches votes than Saad this year, so it's not like Saad is levels above him, even if he is better.
And there's significantly more than three 'result influencers' at that position.
Not easy to jag votes when you’re competing against the likes of Walsh, big Rick Cripps and a couple of Coleman medalists.

When you’re as bereft of talent as the Bombers naturally mediocre players like Mason Redman are going to look like world beaters in comparison.

Not easy to jag votes when you’re competing against the likes of Walsh, big Rick Cripps and a couple of Coleman medalists.

When you’re as bereft of talent as the Bombers naturally mediocre players like Mason Redman are going to look like world beaters in comparison.

Saad got even less votes when he played for the bombers though ;)

Given a choice no club would take that "far more reliable" forward over Daniher.

Carlton and Geelong wouldn't be interested in either of them.
No club is ridiculous.
Wright is 4th in the coleman in a side that's been bottom 3 all year and just crept to bottom 5.
top 5 for marks I50, top 4 for contested marks in the comp, top 8 for score involvements.

Daniher isn't top 20 for any of those stats in a top 4 side.

No club is ridiculous.
Wright is 4th in the coleman in a side that's been bottom 3 all year and just crept to bottom 5.
top 5 for marks I50, top 4 for contested marks in the comp, top 8 for score involvements.

Daniher isn't top 20 for any of those stats in a top 4 side.

I'm happy that you're happy.

No club would take him ahead of Daniher. None.

What about using trades of similar ability who play a similar position?

Carlton gave up Zach Tuohy for a six pick upgrade and Saad went for a top 10 pick.

Obviously the preference is not to lose good players but given Saad was uncontracted and wanted to leave pick 10 was a clear win.
So did Austin shit the bed with this trade (as you said) or did he pay what he’s worth?

Bent over? We paid a future second for Saad and got a top 10 pick back. That alone is a big win. He is a gun, but good half back flankers can be found a lot cheaper. And it's not like Essendon is hurting for players in his position - Redman actually has more coaches votes than Saad this season. We are rebuilding anyways and Saad is 28 years old. So I don't think any Bombers supporters are losing sleep over this trade.
Oh no. To the contrary. There are PLENTY losing sleep over this trade. That’s why there are so many Essendon supporters on this thread. Poor old Ambrosia hasn’t slept for nigh on two years since it happened.

This was such a great get for a Carlton side lacking a player of Saad’s quality. A player who beats his own player, breaks the lines and is so lethal with that left foot.

Oh no. To the contrary. There are PLENTY losing sleep over this trade. That’s why there are so many Essendon supporters on this thread. Poor old Ambrosia hasn’t slept for nigh on two years since it happened.

This was such a great get for a Carlton side lacking a player of Saad’s quality. A player who beats his own player, breaks the lines and is so lethal with that left foot.

Bumps a thread by quoting a post from last year then accuses other posters of losing sleep over the trade 🤔

I’ve certainly lost no sleep over Saad coming to Carlton!!! Have slept so much better having this gun in our side.

Bumped this thread to show how ludicrous your statement was. The sad thing is you still want to believe it because he dare leave Essendon 😂.

He was a flawed player at the Bombers.

Now he’s starting to reach his potential.
I had viewed Saad as a bit like Brad Hill. Could be electric but could also go missing and be unaccountable.
But totally reversed that view on him now. Is an excellent rebounding defender whose attacking side is prob more beneficial to Carlton than his defensive actions. The game last week against GWS was a pearler.

Has he spoken about why he wanted out of Essendon? I read a few comments on this in the thread but it comes across as purely speculation

I’ve certainly lost no sleep over Saad coming to Carlton!!! Have slept so much better having this gun in our side.

Bumped this thread to show how ludicrous your statement was. The sad thing is you still want to believe it because he dare leave Essendon 😂.

A couple of post 10pm posts and then quickly jumping back in here first thing this morning before 7:30am to comment again would suggest otherwise :tearsofjoy:

That is surprising to me, because in the end it has worked out well for us too. Saad is a 28 year old half back flanker when we are just starting our rebuild. He most likely wouldn't be in his prime by the time we have finished our rebuild and are moving up the ladder. We got a top 10 pick and have drafted good replacements for him. So I don't understand why any Bombers supporter would lose sleep over that trade.

I’ll make it simple for you.

The Essendon fan mentality is that you have to ‘win’ every trade.

You then follow every player who has left and hope upon hope they play poorly so you can beat yourselves on the chest and say you’ve won a trade because they are no good.

BUT. If a quality player like Saad leaves, and plays better footy, All Australian standard footy, you have to save face and say the other club paid overs/we drafted the best young player with that pick/he’s not that good anyway.

See old mate Ambrosia’s bleating posts on this thread for an example. He obviously hasn’t slept since Saad left.

Anyways, it’s been fun explaining what you already knew. FWIW you picked up one player with the Saad pick, Nick Cox. Great first year. Injuries second year. Hoping he delivers for you, as I do for all young players drafted, because it’s a tough gig.

Traded Adam Saad [traded to Carlton with #48 and #78 for #8 and #87]