Oppo Camp Adam Treloar (Traded to Bulldogs 2020)

You also forgot Geoff Hayward in the late 70’s. Then president Ted Parker paid $20,000 out of his own pocket to lure him from Tasmania and it caused turmoil within the playing group. Rene Kink wasn’t a fan in particular.

Who’s Rene Kink? Surely you’re thinking of Tank O’Donahue....

Are you sure? Some here think Eddie founded Collingwood.

Didn't that happen on the Third Day after He created Broadmeadows, or was it on the Fourth Day after He created Football?

I'm a bit behind in my readings and I can never recall whether He created Collingwood to give Football meaning, or whether He created Football to give Collingwood something to do.

I hope people are preparing to be absolutely robbed in this Treloar deal, I keep reading pick 4 etc

This board is in for a rude shock.

If this all goes down the way people think it may the the club itself may be in for a rude shock when it comes to requests for membership renewals being politely declined in the shorter term.

The thing about Treloar’s family situation, most people assume that Treloar will be the one that is flying every week to Queensland. It will be the other way around. Kim will have more time off from Netball than Adam. It will be Kim flying down to Melbourne more often than Adam.

We are talking about a 2 hour flight. If there is a day off from training, either could take the 6am flight. Spend 12 hours together during the day then take the last flight home. Regular people who work 10-14 hour shifts often only have 4-5 hours together prior to sleep.

And even if there is another COVID outbreak and state borders are closed. Players have just spent the past season dealing with this and being away from their families. Only a select few had their families with them. If most of the players made it work last season being away in hubs, then they can make it work again.

Collingwood is absolutely being irresponsible trying to force Treloar out. The family reason to move Treloar on is mostly crap. It is driven by our poor salary cap situation.

It's much more than 2 hours when you consider travel to the airport, check in times, picking up luggage, travel from the airport. All with a baby. It'd be exhausting. It wouldn't be easily managed at all.

Let’s be mature about it and not get emotional. It’s business and professional sport.

I wish they had have been professional and treated it as business regarding contracts back in the middle of 2011 when they were deciding whether to go ahead with the succession plan. I wish they'd be professional now when it came to non-playing staff contracts.

Hey you’ve been a staunch supporter of the Buckley regime....what’s wrong now?
When tough decisions need to be made it doesn’t sit well with you?
The treatment of AT does not sit well with me. Not at all.

I was listening to a fox footy podcast last night.

It was mentioned by Treloar that post retirement, he wants to move to the Gold Coast to live. However, whilst playing football he wants to stay in Melbourne.

So, the club thought given that Kim is moving to QLD then they would try and make the move happen now.

I think the narrative at Fox footy (possibly due to Ed) is swinging back in favour of Collingwood.

Its a big if, but if the above is true then the club has not done much wrong.

I was listening to a fox footy podcast last night.

It was mentioned by Treloar that post retirement, he wants to move to the Gold Coast to live. However, whilst playing football he wants to stay in Melbourne.

So, the club thought given that Kim is moving to QLD then they would try and make the move happen now.

I think the narrative at Fox footy (possibly due to Ed) is swinging back in favour of Collingwood.

Its a big if, but if the above is true then the club has not done much wrong.

Yes, the accuracy is a big 'if', like a lot in this situation.

I also think that your interpretation is questionable.

The club negotiated and came to an agreement with Treloar about his playing future when it re-signed him. Treloar himself seems willing to stick with that.

For the club to now unilaterally declare that it would do Adam a favour by offloading him to GCS doesn't really put it in a good light at all, in my opinion. It still looks self-serving, but the only debate in my mind is whether the club is really capable of serving its own best interests or not.

That's another big 'if' for me, at this stage.

If Collingwood pay a percentage of e.g. Adam Treloar's salary to another team to take over his contract, in which team's total player payment is that amount included?

If we're paying it's included in our TPP.

It's only his last year that is backended, and we wouldn't be paying part of his salary for 5 years, probably just the last year. Now don't have a meltdown but I think treloar is just an accumulater, he can't kick on the run anymore, constantly gives out hospitol handpasses, gets pushed aside easily in a contest, doesn't kick goals and never gets tagged because the opposition know this, his time of tearing anyone a new one ended in 2018 when he did both his hamstrings

If he were to leave his destination club can reconfigure his contract so we'd pay any contribution year 1 and potentially year 2. Doubt we'd commit to anything beyond that.

Is there any universe where Adz could end up back at the Giants for one of the 1sts they get for Cameron?

Hear me out. There has been quotes attributed to Kim where she’s said “you need to meet me half way”. Sydney is smack dab in the middle of Melb and Brisbane. A lot easier for him to visit from Sydney than Melb. He has history there, which could allay any anxieties he has over moving clubs again.

Giants want ready made players not picks. If they are losing Caldwell, Hately, Williams. Treloar is a pretty handy mature mid to slot straight in.

They should have good cap space to fit him in too with Jezz and Williams gone.

Probably unlikely but who knows.

Brilliant post mate. Only problem is that it’s wrong. Treloar is being traded because we stuffed up our cap.

Hi buddy, I agree with you in part, in that I think a very big reason we are seeking to trade Adam is our 'self inflicted' cap problems and indeed, no cap problems then probably no trade talk. I do think I mentioned that in my post, but maybe didn't give it enough emphasis. However, I feel that the other issues I've outlined in my post, have contributed to the decisions we have made with Adam.

Well if you buy the media trash all good then.
Its not media trash, listen to buckleys reply. He chooses his own words
Why because of the narrative and doomsday scenario the media is rattling every day?
Do you believe everything you read in the paper?
No I don't listen to everything in the paper I chose to listen to the so called response from our coach and it told me everything I needed to know.
Buckley stated they would continue to talk to Ads and his management, now he has a 5 year deal whybwouof he need to talk to his management? And if he was a required player he would just say so, no need to continue talking to his management.
The club tried to offload him last year. This year they just had the perfect excuse to do it.

There still a Descent Chance he won't be Traded

100% gets traded to much damage has been done.

Pies will take a shit deal late in the final day and just hope we don't cop much crap.

I'm starting to hope that there will be no trades out of Collingwood this year. There has been a lot of talk about Treloar, including a little from me, but there are few actual facts. This might be enough for a legal challenge in the US, but as things take their courses here, it may be that the only "damage" done in all the feverish speculation has been to the airwaves. I never wanted any of the players discussed to leave, and I will be very happy if they all stay. Then we will see what we can draft, and approach next year with enthusiasm.

I doubt we'll ever know the full story, but I reckon I can make one up. How's this:

Adam and Kim like the look of Queensland and Adam asks his management to explore his options in QLD.

Kim thinks that's where we're heading and joins the QLD netball club.

Our club gets wind of Adam exploring opportunities, and thinks, this might suit both parties.

Word gets out about the situation and everybody handles it poorly.

Now this may not be how it really happened, but the reality is, we didn't sign him long term if we didn't believe he'd be with us long term.
Most poster on BF believed we should have been chasing a tall forward, rather than beams, and this highlights how poor our decisions have been regarding our salary cap. Adam will become a victim of this.

I suspect there is two parties at fault, and while I'm often critical of the club decisions, I suspect Adam is happy to play the victim at this time.

Oppo Camp Adam Treloar (Traded to Bulldogs 2020)