Adrian Dodoro: Football’s Biggest Fraud IMO

I don’t give a s**t about Dodoro personally. Recruiting and list management isn’t ever a one man job (you’re in fu**in trouble if it is) and is managed by committee including football management and coaches.

I’ve been happy with our trade periods of late and I think we did a very good job of navigating the years where we lost draft picks and had key players such as Carlisle, Ryder, Crameri and Hibberd leave the club.

That was a very difficult period which would’ve tripped up many clubs but I reckon we came out of it well.

We’ve had some misses at the draft but that’s always the way. McGrath, Parish and Francis are travelling well even though I reckon they’ve been stunted by not being played consistently and in the right positions.

I don’t have any huge issue with him and equally if he was replaced by somebody else I wouldn’t really care. SOS aside I don’t think I could name a list manager at another club.

I don’t really get his celebrity and why he exists so prominently in the heads of opposition supporters. I think it’s just because they know his name. For example, St Kilda’s list is a bloody train wreck and nobody is starting angry threads about their list manager. Nobody even knows who it is. Same with plenty of clubs.
Dodoro has celebrity because he has had his job for so long with so little success. No one else would last with his record. St Kilda have moved on under performing list managers in recent years.

Dodoro's problem is selecting the right mix of players. After being embarrassed in a final 2 years ago due to lack of inside mids with a cooked Jobe, he went out and traded draft picks for 3 flankers, missing out on Constable and Worpel.

The question with Adrian, after 10, 12, 14, now 16 years without getting within cooeeee of winning a final, is "Why wouldn't you sack Adrian?"

In the real answer to that question, is the reason for Essendon FC's 21st century malaise.
Cos he is in tight with influential coterie types like Mark Casey who want to get close enough to the action to be able to really sniff the liniment

Dodoro has celebrity because he has had his job for so long with so little success. No one else would last with his record. St Kilda have moved on under performing list managers in recent years.

Dodoro's problem is selecting the right mix of players. After being embarrassed in a final 2 years ago due to lack of inside mids with a cooked Jobe, he went out and traded draft picks for 3 flankers, missing out on Constable and Worpel.

What?

Smith is a mid who won our B&F in his first year and is a tackling machine.

Saad is a defender. He was a replacement for Hibberd and has turned out to be a major upgrade. For a second round pick.

Stringer is a marking forward who’s already one of our best players and we got for a song. Our forward line would be rooted without him.

None of them are flankers.

Constable and Worpel? Who were passed over by every club multiple times? Are we really gonna play that “cherry pick the late draft gem and say we should’ve drafted him” game? What is this, primary school?

I love how the wide football community hates Dodoro because how hard he negotiates with other teams.

I'd rather a list manager that gets the best deals, rather than one who bends over when pressured e.g SOS.
Is that like when dodo took st kilda for a ride in the jake carlye deal ?something that some Essendon fans still boast even though greasham is ten times the player Francis will ever be we pretty much got caryle for free but somehow they still think dodo won the deal😂

What?

Smith is a mid who won our B&F in his first year and is a tackling machine.

Saad is a defender. He was a replacement for Hibberd and has turned out to be a major upgrade. For a second round pick.

Stringer is a marking forward who’s already one of our best players and we got for a song. Our forward line would be rooted without him.

None of them are flankers.

Constable and Worpel? Who were passed over by every club multiple times? Are we really gonna play that “cherry pick the late draft gem and say we should’ve drafted him” game? What is this, primary school?
Yet they still applaud SOS for trading GWS rejects e.g Kennedy, Setterfiled and 10s of others. Trading their pick 3 for Stocker (Lmao) and pick 8.

I think they're a little upset after having every decent trade target (Saad, Smith, Shiel, Coniglio and Kelly) reject their pathetic little club.

Cos he is in tight with influential coterie types like Mark Casey who want to get close enough to the action to be able to really sniff the liniment

Linament sniffers. The further you can keep them away, the better a Club is. At EFC, they grow on trees and Adrian is the quintessential facilitator and benefiter.

He is a genius. A very rich genius.

But the malaise just continues for Essendon fans.

If you were to apply the same logic to SOS would you not come to the same conclusion?

Dons have won exponentially more games over the same time SOS has been in charge.
Silvagni has been at Carlton for a whopping 4 years. Absolutely kidding yourself if you think you can properly judge a rebuilding list in that time.

Dodoro someone said has been at the Bombers 17 years.

Not surprised an Adelaide fan is trying to derail a thread with Silvagni rubbish though. Talk about an obsession.

I don’t give a s**t about Dodoro personally. Recruiting and list management isn’t ever a one man job (you’re in fu**in trouble if it is) and is managed by committee including football management and coaches.

I’ve been happy with our trade periods of late and I think we did a very good job of navigating the years where we lost draft picks and had key players such as Carlisle, Ryder, Crameri and Hibberd leave the club.

That was a very difficult period which would’ve tripped up many clubs but I reckon we came out of it well.

We’ve had some misses at the draft but that’s always the way. McGrath, Parish and Francis are travelling well even though I reckon they’ve been stunted by not being played consistently and in the right positions.

I don’t have any huge issue with him and equally if he was replaced by somebody else I wouldn’t really care. SOS aside I don’t think I could name a list manager at another club.

I don’t really get his celebrity and why he exists so prominently in the heads of opposition supporters. I think it’s just because they know his name. For example, St Kilda’s list is a bloody train wreck and nobody is starting angry threads about their list manager. Nobody even knows who it is. Same with plenty of clubs.
How are Francis, Parish and McGrath travelling well?

They may play games and find some footy but there lies a problem. They simply aren’t as good as other options that were available at those picks and unlikely ever will be.

Parish in particular isn’t a footballer I’d say is travelling well either.

Yet they still applaud SOS for trading GWS rejects e.g Kennedy, Setterfiled and 10s of others. Trading their pick 3 for Stocker (Lmao) and pick 8.

I think they're a little upset after having every decent trade target (Saad, Smith, Shiel, Coniglio and Kelly) reject their pathetic little club.

Should have drafted Mitch Brown and Shaun McKernan instead of turning Tom Bell and Lachie Henderson into Charlie Curnow and Harry McKay.

At this point in time we’re happy to have dodged Shiel, who’s been exposed as a front-runner without a stack of hard-working inside mids doing the heavy lifting for him.

His pulling out of a contest in the 2nd quarter yesterday was telling.

How are Francis, Parish and McGrath travelling well?

They may play games and find some footy but there lies a problem. They simply aren’t as good as other options that were available at those picks and unlikely ever will be.

Parish in particular isn’t a footballer I’d say is travelling well either.

Apart from last nigh (he wasn't alone) Parish has had a fantastic season.

Should have drafted Mitch Brown and Shaun McKernan instead of turning Tom Bell and Lachie Henderson into Charlie Curnow and Harry McKay.

At this point in time we’re happy to have dodged Shiel, who’s been exposed as a front-runner without a stack of hard-working inside mids doing the heavy lifting for him.

His pulling out of a contest in the 2nd quarter yesterday was telling.
Brown and Mckernan cost us pretty much nothing. Curnow, Mckay and Cunningham nearly 5 years into the system have done nothing lmao. It's telling when our 2nd, 3rd and 4th round picks have performed just as well as your first round picks.

Their list is a just a genuine hodgepodge. They’ve actually got quite of a few players who are one best in their position, but then their bottom 6-8 are journeymen (Brown, Bellchambers, McKernan) or young guys who wouldn’t be getting games in other finals-finishing teams.

Shiel’s kicking and decision-making is a major flaw, and he went to water during some crucial plays last night when he should have been the one setting the tone for Essendon. He got shown up for effort and skill-level by a 20 year old Andrew McGrath.

They chalked up last year as an aberration after making the finals in 2017, but last night showed they are still well off the pace and not making inroads.
If anyone knows what a 'hodgepodge' list would be, it's a Carlton supporter

Brown and Mckernan cost us pretty much nothing. Curnow, Mckay and Cunningham nearly 5 years into the system have done nothing lmao. It's telling when our 2nd, 3rd and 4th round picks have performed just as well as your first round picks.

Carlton are much more advanced than Essendon. Curnow and McKay I'd give my left nut for. Essendon have Daniher but I'd take Curnow and McKay, both younger, and more durable.

McKernan and Brown are your bog average forwards - Brown below average - and won't play finals footy with where Essendon's list is at.

Silvagni has been at Carlton for a whopping 4 years. Absolutely kidding yourself if you think you can properly judge a rebuilding list in that time.

Dodoro someone said has been at the Bombers 17 years.

Not surprised an Adelaide fan is trying to derail a thread with Silvagni rubbish though. Talk about an obsession.

Yes it takes time to build a list but 4 years in and you're still 3rd to bottom on the ladder. There's a difference between having concessions to do a rebuild and getting a complete free pass.

If you want to be critical of Dorodo then SOS can hardly escape criticism either.

Not surprised a Carlton fan can't accept criticism of Silvagni. Talk about blind obsession.

It is irrelevant what you paid for them - these are currently the guys you’re trotting out as your key position forwards. Granted Daniher is currently injured, it’s hardly a surprise you’re underperforming with so many consistently poor journeymen running around. These guys would arguably make few teams in the league, aren’t getting better and yet are expected to perform in a final.

I’d happily take our young players, and by a long way. Nice to see McGrath having a good game last night though - showed up a number of your senior players for intensity.

Yes it takes time to build a list but 4 years in and you're still 3rd to bottom on the ladder. There's a difference between having concessions to do a rebuild and getting a complete free pass.

If you want to be critical of Dorodo then SOS can hardly escape criticism either.

Not surprised a Carlton fan can't accept criticism of Silvagni. Talk about blind obsession.
Drafting young players and expecting instant success is ridiculous.

Regardless Silvagni has nothing to do with this thread. If you want to criticise him find a thread about him or make one yourself. Classic Bigfooty poster. Can’t help but attempt to derail a thread.

Bugger off if you want to bring up another list manager in a thread about Adrian Dodoro.