• Hawthorn > 30 pts

Votes: 2 6.9%
  • Draw

Votes: 1 3.4%

No - I don't.

Nevertheless, after Round 1 to be potting blokes pre-season predictions....

Premature.
They deserve potting.

Hawthorn finished top 4 last year, added Wingard, Scrimshaw and Scully and at the close of the trade period those two clowns tipped Hawthorn to finish bottom 4.

I didn't watch this game as I just got home and saw the end score... but how did Adelaide not win this game? Looking at the stats, Adelaide lead nearly all of them. How did Hawthorn get so many scoring shots?

You guys always do with the umps.

Assume you are joking, given out of the 12 teams that have played so far this round, we've had the lowest number of frees for. Not just a little bit lower either. We got 11 today, the next lowest so far this round was 20. Always pretty hard to get HTB decisions paid at AO as the away team. Seems without half the crowd yelling 'ball' the umpires don't know when to blow the whistle on that one.

I didn't watch this game as I just got home and saw the end score... but how did Adelaide not win this game? Looking at the stats, Adelaide lead nearly all of them.

Clarko mostly. We made their forwards almost completely non-functional. Look at their goal scorers. Most of them are midfielder goals. Betts got 2 but one was from a 50m penalty that brought him from about the 65m mark. Clarko seems to have unlocked the secret to making the Crow tall forwards irrelevant, as this keeps happening to Adelaide against us. Basically our team defence nullified their inside 50s and our mids - while they got out possessed - put enough pressure on the ball carriers that their forward 50 entries were mostly fairly low quality. We also usually moved the ball forward much quicker than them when we did have it, which gave us more scoring shots. Adelaide looked much more flat footed than you normally see them. Sicily hitting up targets 60m further up the field when coming out of defence helped. Impey was good coming off the back line too which also helped. Losing Doedee relatively early didn't help the Crows either. We'd probably have had less scoring shots if he didn't go down, and their rebound might have been better too.

Adelaide by 36 points

Granted Hawthorn has done reasonably ok in Adelaide in recent times, could be a rip snorter!
Bastardization of Big footy at its best.

I turned $10 in to $45 thanks to the hawks winning 25 plus.

Round 1 always has its fair share of upsets

They deserve potting.

Hawthorn finished top 4 last year, added Wingard, Scrimshaw and Scully and at the close of the trade period those two clowns tipped Hawthorn to finish bottom 4.
You have the right to use Bastardization tactics on this board, Especially the posters that predicted the hawks to finish bottom 2.

Clarkson has drilled certain tactics to the players brains such as accurate 30-40 metre kicks.

I turned $10 into $45 by backing hawks by over 25 thanks for that.

Clarko mostly. We made their forwards almost completely non-functional. Look at their goal scorers. Most of them are midfielder goals. Betts got 2 but one was from a 50m penalty that brought him from about the 65m mark. Clarko seems to have unlocked the secret to making the Crow tall forwards irrelevant, as this keeps happening to Adelaide against us. Basically our team defence nullified their inside 50s and our mids - while they got out possessed - put enough pressure on the ball carriers that their forward 50 entries were mostly fairly low quality. We also usually moved the ball forward much quicker than them when we did have it, which gave us more scoring shots. Adelaide looked much more flat footed than you normally see them. Sicily hitting up targets 60m further up the field when coming out of defence helped. Impey was good coming off the back line too which also helped. Losing Doedee relatively early didn't help the Crows either. We'd probably have had less scoring shots if he didn't go down, and their rebound might have been better too.

Yeah, that's a good point. I can see the Hawks smashed them in tackles, hence the pressure you are talking about. Also surprised to see guys like Worpel and Cousins as the guys standing up for the Hawks. Good stuff.

I think the problem with relying on sub-15 gamers like those two is that they don't have enough pre-seasons under the belt to play out the season strongly. Scrimshaw is in a similar boat at only 5 games. Cousins and Scrimshaw had their third pre-season this year, but I think Scrimshaw had injury issues, that have likely impacted how much of an engine he's built over those years. I can see all three tiring badly later in the season, but Birchall may come back to relieve Scrimshaw, and hopefully Wingard/Scully returning can help the midfield group spread the load. It is also not out of the question that if things go perfectly for Mitchell he may well be available by the end of the year. Today was a good win, but our lack of depth in key areas doesn't allow us a lot of room for further injuries without dropping off badly.

I'd like to know why this Hawthorn win over the Crows was an upset, that nearly every commentator said including Jason Dunstall, didn't the Crows have a terrible year 2018 , didn't Hawthorn finish near the top, lost finals but were there.
Got to ask yourself the question about these expert commentaries, first its about how massive and great Adelaide will be this year, THEY MIGHT!
But this is the first game. Commentary like I heard today is imbecilic, they talked like Hawthorn had no hope, it was all Adelaide , so I wonder what these blokes get scripted to say, and not one of them well maybe one or two, will actually say what they really think, when they see the same crap as the rest of us with the frees.
Dunstall if you are one of the Hawks, be biased that'd be great!!!! , But your not , then get assigned to other games then , but your negativity to the team is weird, is it just for TV ?
You aggravate , and to say the umpire explained the ridiculous 50 against us, is like hearing an advertisement in excuse manner for promoting how good some of these nonsense 50's and frees are. Or why they were correct? I don't know if its smart alec comment because you think some of this is crap, or whether it pays your good life and your bills? So we'll roll with the Gils boys.

A fifty because a bloke follows on past an opponent with the mark or free and is hunting another opponent who he needs to not let get away, well the umpire may as well just shepherd the chaser out of the chase, but the ump pays this crap because the AFL rules people write them into the laws, 50 's should be for seriously rough deliberate contact with a player who marks or has the ball and is hammered by over the top violence from an opponent.
Not this unbelievable crap they have now that stops everything flowing, AND GUYS LIKE YOU JASON should be looking into that, but you don't your in the payroll loop and won't make waves, yet we have nonsense for free kicks now, that will make our game crooked sooner than later.

I am still amazed that no one can explain why out on the full is paid even if it is an accident from a foot out, OOTF was to stop people using the boundary as a defence, and kicking the ball out deliberately!!!! But some accidents change games, out on the full from a 30cm on the line accident does not deserve a FREE KICK it happened twice, that I noticed today , the second one that we got off Adelaide bamboozled me , Tex is a big man at full bore , he ran over the boundary with the ball, when he grabbed it he was about 3 feet from the line, why is that a free. but the game does that.

I don't know why the fifty is called on most occasions, and when I do, I think , but WHY?
Because its a penalty that does not have a reason thats why.
It did once for deliberate, ( the fifty) but its lost in the accumulation of stupid useless grey rules. And accidents.

The zone is ok for the opening initially. But a block whats that as opposed to a shepherd? Any people out there explain why? Not what
BUT Why these frees are even in our game, because the umps do it by guess work .

I saw today, an in the back paid and the same thing, in the doggies game later on, called holding or caught , what ever phrase the umpires use.
Same thing different interpretation. With TV these days you can see it a milliontimes over if you want, there is an argument for canning some of these unfair things that we never used to have and are uselss.How brilliant is our game how much better if it flowed and real frees were paid, but its over complicated to the point frustration now.

Hitting the ball accidently off the side of the boot, and it goes out, say from a big kick not a 30cm accident, then the umpire has to decide whether its deliberate, well its so hard to pick, for them on the move or down the ground, but outside the fence when watching you can see how at that pace they do hit the ball wrong it skewed the wrong way it wasn't meant to go out deliberately should be a throw in, , its an accident most times, there are clever bastards that can have a ball directed to bounce out.
But three in this game in Adelaide today, were off the side of the boot, in an endeavour by the player to to get out and try to pass it to a team mate,

ITS A SKILL ERROR, NOT A GODDAMNED REASON FOR AN UMPIRE TO CALL UNFAIR FREE KICK?

You don't give the opposition a free if your pass goes over a team mates head but stays inside the boundary NO you have to go and retrieve it save it ?
But the ump doesn't say well you missed that pass its a free to your opponent. Whats the difference of that to an umpire saying every off the side of the boot is deliberate when obviously sometimes its not, thats the rule jammed into heads of Umps its why we see teams lose because of these cruel grey rules.

It is ridiculous its not basketball. Some times these mistakes /accidents create shots on goal.

These are the types of crap that happen and are unfortunately accepted by the people and commentators , well maybe the people aren't all that accepting .

But the AFL says, that's it and on it goes.
What ??? Are they planning to rig some games down the track ?

Last year the AFL was going to look at the game, they did we got a zone, at bounces in the centre, we got a better kicking out from a behind , more space which cut out the absolute bullshit of a backman putting his boot half an inch outside the 10 metre line, then the ump bringing the ball back to bounce it, WHAT CRUD! That was.

Its gone, well good.

But the garbage that can change a game, that garbage being the pedantic over adjudicated, petty, tiggy touchwood "frustrations" we call frees and so many whistles blown and so much of the match pulled up stop/ start the flows on and then the whistle goes .

Proper frees should be paid we have so many un-proper rules, that I just ask the experts or any one, the AFL has stuffed around with rules for over 15 years now , well Jason WHY???????
Why the crap we don't need, see is it something else on the agenda? Is it? Indoor footy? Who knows with this mongrel Gil.

This game now is ripe for the crooked gamblers to take a shot at, watch?

Get rid of game changing rules that are not fair to call frees from!

Come on Big Footy have a say , I've been asking for some support from fans , you get a laugh now, give some opinions.

For me I get angry with stupidity, good rules, and only a few rules are the best, not guess work!
Why won'rt the AFL take the crap out of our game. But while the fans the money base that they are accept it, they'll screw your sport further.

No idea what you said, but that you must've missed most of the game to post all that.

Missed a tiny bit, heard from the other room two free kick goals ( yes free kick goals) that got the Crows back in the game, I do rave on but the game is being hurt with basketball style umpiring, and you tell me, do you reckon more goals come from frees than from normal play these days, and that some of those frees are just piddly and unfair?
If you don't then maybe you... didn't watch the game. As I said in my next post which I called " War and Peace" heh heh heh , I described the second half as bad as the first with bulldust frees, but they went more to Hawthorn, I just see things that are unneeded and we should all complain about it but nothing will probably ever change, and the game will disappear, really though some free rules are just wrong and should have no free kick as a penalty. Simple ,. Read both or any others if you've been here a long time you'll know I love a debate, but I am pretty set on how I think the AFL has stolen our sport.

They deserve potting.

This.

Add S Mitchell to the coaching panel, and it seems even more ridiculous.

T Mitchell will be back post bye. Add Cogs next year and it's happy days again.

Dont hold your breath on Mitchell.

I would think R20 if we are a lock for finals.

And I think that is the best case.
Tyler isn’t just someone throwing out his hopes.

AFL 2019 Round 1: Adelaide v Hawthorn, 4:05pm ACDT AO