Kobe Gryant
'07, '09, '11, '22
Premierships = Mediocritycmon mate, noone cares about crowd numbers.
Big crowds while winning SFA for 30 years = Success and relevance
It's the Carlton model, we should all implore our clubs to follow it.
Premierships = Mediocritycmon mate, noone cares about crowd numbers.
Premierships = Mediocrity
Big crowds while winning SFA for 30 years = Success and relevance
It's the Carlton model, we should all implore our clubs to follow it.
By old mates logic, absolutely.Eagles are the biggest club in the afl, they should be the best right?
Carlton supporters certainly won't if they lose a few more gamescmon mate, noone cares about crowd numbers.
Look, start of the year you tell me that we play a top 4 side, lose narrowly in a slog, while getting nothing from our recognised names over 30, and I would be pretty happy that the rebuild is going well.
Not concerned. I took alot of positives from tonight. Played a good side who were very hungry and at their best wih thr game played entirely on their terms all night and we still had plenty of chances to win the game. That is the sign of a good team to still have the ability to win it even when they are down.
It took everything melbourne had to get the job done, and a bit of luck as well with the bailey fritsch ball staying in like that.
A few individuals we had were incredibly off like cameron henry stewart dekoning guthrie...
When you play the style we do, the difference between a slingshot hitting the mark and being off can be 2% drop in ability on the night with a few things going wrong.
Strategically i think we backed our game in and tried to get the ball going corridor a bit more and we looked more dangerous when it pulled off, but too many of our elite kickers also struggled uncharacteriatically tonight under little to no pressure to hit the mark.
We should analyse it well and tweak some things, but also put it down to being a bit off
Was thinking more Goody & Clarry stumbling home after a night on the gear.billyboutsis is that Kossi Pickett with Clarry?
Was thinking more Goody & Clarry stumbling home after a night on the gear.
Truly the blind leading the blind
Kicking holes in walls and smashing windscreen wipers is an extreme sport I've heard.It looks a lot like Clarry but why would he be wearing the bike helmet?
I never see him ride a bike before. He's usually driving around unlicensed.
Looks more like the melbourne boys after a night out sniffing powder.billyboutsis is that Kossi Pickett with Clarry?
Chris didn’t disappoint, blames every cat being “off”, too much dew on the grass, the ball fortuitously falling in the lap of the Dees and tried to create fights with journos on Hawkins. As humble as ever.Looking forward to Goodies, if he hasn’t already woofed a few points.
Well that’s disappointing if true…Chris didn’t disappoint, blames every cat being “off”, too much dew on the grass, the ball fortuitously falling in the lap of the Dees and tried to create fights with journos on Hawkins. As humble as ever.
I had to check this, in spite of my loathing of press conferences, just because Danny is known to twist things a bit and create melodramatic narratives.Well that’s disappointing if true…
Do you still hold it against him cos of the excuses from 2021 prelim? I can understand that…. Reality is that year was lost at kadinia park in round 23, should have faced you in the granny (probably same result though)
Shakespearean alarum bells requiredI had to check this, in spite of my loathing of press conferences, just because Danny is known to twist things a bit and create melodramatic narratives.
First up asked about thoughts on the "interesting" game, Scott says he thought Geelong were off and the nature of the game was different to a dry weather one. Most posters on here - GFC supporters and neutrals - said Geelong were a bit off.
Now, specifically asked about what Melbourne did well around their intercept defenders he mentions that it was actually their kicks exiting d50 and marked by Petty/Van Rooyen that were a big factor, with their players ahead of the ball generally winning battles. He DOES mention a couple falling into their lap and I think this is where Danny's steam is coming out of his ears.
Scott then mentions Geelong not having many winners on the day or players who thought they played well. But he frames it in a somewhat positive way where they played poorly but still stuck in there and had a chance to steal a victory.
That's 2 mins in and I'm already bored, unlike Danny hanging on every word to manifest his angry rant. But the journos continue to ask how Geelong played and dealt with Melbourne's players/game plan so Scott simply refers to how Geelong did or didn't handle things. Shocking, I know.
There is no indication that he is chest beating, delusional or smug. The one positive he could cling to is that a bad day at the office still translated into a competitive match rather than his side being destroyed. Sound the alarms!
No current season stats available
The only knock is that I think by saying Geelong missed you also need to counter it with the fact we also missed a lot as well. Other than that it’s pretty standard.Really struggling to find what about Chris Scott's press conference has set whatshisface off:
- 'Interesting game' - we were off early and didn't adapt to the dewy conditions, over-handballed, over-used the footy too much.
- Played ordinary but hung in there and were still in with a chance to win - counts as a 'positive'.
- Melbourne's play out of D50 was good and their marking targets were strong - a few 'fell in their lap' but their transition game was better than ours.
- Praise for our midfield against Melbourne's (on paper) better one.
- Defending Hawkins and some of the senior players for having 'down' games - more than just the numbers, even not at the peak of their powers they're still handy players, etc.
- Cameron/Hawkins had chances but missed - narrative might have been different if they'd nailed it, game of inches, that's the way the ball bounces.
- Focus on positives - just need a few tweaks, bit of luck going our way.
So absolutely generic stuff from most coaches who lose a close game.
And so it was. Melbourne are always a tough match up for Geelong.I think it'll be a really close match again.
Outside of the prelim final in 2021, these sides love having close matches over the past few years - often dour affairs. The match at GMHBA last season was really close until Geelong pulled away very late.
Melbourne's defence will cope with Geelong's forwards much better than Carlton's did and can still have similar midfield dominance. Gawn is a scary prospect after Pittonet was near-BOG against Stanley.
You'd think Geelong's defence would cope well with Melbourne's forward line but we haven't been afraid to let Melbourne forwards of varying quality get off the chain previously. Petty will go from spud to superstar or something.
Stewart might be back, but could miss another week too. I'll be more confident if he returns to the line up.
You’ve definitely got to have confidence that your best footy is the best. I don’t think he is wrong by being overly optimistic after one loss by 8 points. The deeper you go the harder it’ll be. It was a greasy night. I doubt you’ll get a GF like that. I’d not like to think Hawkins will be dropping or missing in a GF.Bunnings just to finish my review of the situation and why it made Danster so bloody angry: there is an implication that Scott believes his side playing at their best would beat Melbourne. Any coach of a contending side believes exactly the same. But nuffy supporters have insecurities, and they need someone to validate that their side is the best ever.
Personally I think that's silly. Scott should have that belief and let it drive his work, but I think we could very well play our best and still get beaten by a few of the top teams. We just have to wait and see.
Stewart couldn’t impact like he normally would which is critical.
That’s going to be the key. Keep Stewart quiet. Play in front of him and almost look for him when leading in and go around him. It’s not easy when you’re going at 100% and need to hit a target.Demons defence and tactics were very impressive, they refused to put the ball anywhere near Stewart for most of the night, ran the ball instead, denied us our preferred style of game - the discipline was evident all night.