Preview AFL NAB Cup Round 2 - Geelong v Adelaide, Simonds Stadium, 2:40PM Saturday 2 March

Kicked about 38 goals in an average year last year but looks really fit and fast so far in the NAB, I think he's over the issues that blighted him last season.
Looks mean and lean to me.......might go 40+ goals if we leave him be!
The future in the forward half is Vards, not Pods. If the coach thought Pods was a key to our forward structure he wouldn't be going to also use him in the back half. I'm with the coach.

BTW. Hawk does just fine without Pods around. There's even a case for saying better.;)

The future in the forward half is Vards, not Pods. If the coach thought Pods was a key to our forward structure he wouldn't be going to also use him in the back half. I'm with the coach.

BTW. Hawk does just fine without Pods around. There's even a case for saying better.;)

Have you seen Vardy ripping it up at training lately?

Hawkins didn't play to bad last year with Pods around, like, they didn't have their shoelaces tied together did they?
Hawkins nearly won the Coleman and as I said on a rehab year Pods still did quite well! 38goals.

Pods in the ruck no thanks, he is still our 2nd best key forward

get Vardy in there and then just have Blicavs and Walker as no 2's

With Simpson out for half the year Vardy will likely need to spend a lot of time in the ruck.

Pods playing in the backline is more to do with Taylor playing forward. With Scarlett not being in the team if we come up against 2 monsters it might be an idea to put Pods on one of them and play Taylor forward (thats if Taylor is getting beat)

Do we have a designated kick out for behinds with JH out? No.
Just need to spread the load, work out who can actually do it.

Same scenario with ruck contests. Having a designated #1 ruck is overrated.
Well, it has to be right now as we don't have one. But seriously, we will cope well with spreading the load, using any of Bathie, Blicavs, Walker, Bathie, (TH very sporadically).

No worries. Yet.

Id have Mackie or Enright on kick in duties.

Agree with your second point, If anything it makes us a little more unpredicatable which is not such a bad thing i guess. Just have to hope the guys can atleast compete and our midfield can set up to shark the opposition taps.

Yes your probably right if we are taking the Australian Cricket team approach, but if its about winning premierships in 2013 then both Stokes and Hunt will contribute in a large capacity over the season....

Very Excited about Menzel back on the park in VFL. Looks like he will be in VFL from first round and just track progress from there. Going to be a huge addition to the team!

As for HMac, when back on the park he will be able to show why we have been missing a genuine number 1 ruck. Got the mongrel in him too so will add a lot to that centre square set up....that shouldn't be underestimated!

We're far better run than the Australian Cricket Team. The question is does Scott want the best possible side in 2013, or a good side in 2013 becoming a great side in 2014 and 2015?

You see the problem though, everyone agrees the club needs to move forward; but no one can be dropped, certainly no veterans it seems. Chapman, Enright, Corey, Josh Hunt and Pods will all be 31 or more when the season starts (by comparison, when the club won the premiership in 2007, Darren Milburn was the sole 30 year old on the list).

The club can not, and will not, improve if those players are not steadily replaced. Thanks to extremely sensible list management, there is a glut of promising youngsters waiting in the wings. Josh Hunt has had a very good last two years, but if he's fighting for a spot with Guthrie, Guthrie is more than 10 years younger; it's no choice at all. Stokes has enjoyed a very charmed run, but last year kicked 15 goals in total. More worryingly his average disposals, marks and goals were all the lowest they have been since 2006. That isn't contibuting in a large capacity.

We'll find out in the coming months.

The Midnight Hun:

"GEELONG'S ruck stocks have hit rock-bottom after premiership ruckman Trent West had knee surgery yesterday.
West's operation means the Cats don't have a fit ruckman on their list, with Nathan Vardy (hip), Hamish McIntosh (knee) and Dawson Simpson (back) all sidelined.
They face the extraordinary situation of taking on Adelaide in Saturday's full-length NAB Cup game with two speculative rookie ruck picks.
Former professional runner Mark Blicavs and one-time NBL and US college basketballer Ryan Bathie (both 198cm) are likely to share the duties against the Crows.
West underwent an arthroscope to ease discomfort in his knee in what Geelong described as "minor surgery".
"By having the procedure now, Trent will hopefully be able to put the issue behind him before the season begins," Cats football manager Neil Balme said."

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/ge...urgery-yesterday/story-fnelctok-1226586366581

Pods in the ruck no thanks, he is still our 2nd best key forward

get Vardy in there and then just have Blicavs and Walker as no 2's

With Simpson out for half the year Vardy will likely need to spend a lot of time in the ruck.

Pods playing in the backline is more to do with Taylor playing forward. With Scarlett not being in the team if we come up against 2 monsters it might be an idea to put Pods on one of them and play Taylor forward (thats if Taylor is getting beat)

Agree on all points what you say makes sense, hopefully West and HMac don't take to long, but upside is we may find a future big man.
Ones misfortune could be the making of another, we could get something positive out of this yet.

Agree on all points what you say makes sense, hopefully West and HMac don't take to long, but upside is we may find a future big man.
Ones misfortune could be the making of another, we could get something positive out of this yet.

If we develop a quality ruckman and he does a Mummy I will be filthy!

Have you seen Vardy ripping it up at training lately?

Hawkins didn't play to bad last year with Pods around, like, they didn't have their shoelaces tied together did they?
Hawkins nearly won the Coleman and as I said on a rehab year Pods still did quite well! 38goals.

Um! I was pumping Vards up. I was saying that Vards will be more value in the forward half when we have a full compliment of ruckman, that was my point. Don't think you're across it.

Hawk played magnificent football last year. Again, I think you've lost track of my point. As anyone who has read my posts on Hawk would know I've always been an advocate for him. And have been pumping him up again in this discussion. Hawk was magnificent last year when Pods was nowhere to be seen. He is now our go-to forward. As you keep missing, if Pods was considered an essential ingredient to our forward structure - as Hawk is -the coach wouldn't be contemplating using him in the back half.

Pods was no more than okay last year. There is much more to making judgements about the effectiveness of a forward than goals scored. Although, on that basis, 38 for a key forward is a pass - no more. Pods was just okay last year as his finishing position in the Carji showed.

If we develop a quality ruckman and he does a Mummy I will be filthy![/quot

Do NOT - and I repeat - do NOT even go there.....;)

Lightning cant hit the same spot twice...

Go Catters

If we develop a quality ruckman and he does a Mummy I will be filthy!

we almost nearly did with West, although not in the same class as Mumford as of yet, rumors were speculating that Sheedy and GWS offered him a very nice sum of cash just last season...in fact, not sure if West has re-signed with us yet :confused:

Good thing he stayed though, we'd have to force Vardy and Walker to ruck early on in the season.

we almost nearly did with West, although not in the same class as Mumford as of yet, rumors were speculating that Sheedy and GWS offered him a very nice sum of cash just last season...in fact, not sure if West has re-signed with us yet :confused:

Good thing he stayed though, we'd have to force Vardy and Walker to ruck early on in the season.

He's every bit as good as Mumford. Proved it by breaking even once and thrashing him the other time on the two occasions they met.

UPods was no more than okay last year. There is much more to making judgements about the effectiveness of a forward than goals scored. Although, on that basis, 38 for a key forward is a pass - no more. Pods was just okay last year as his finishing position in the Carji showed.

Possibly, but goals are still number one on the list of requirements and by a fair distance too. It's why Chapman is rightly credited with having a very good year (36 goals) and why Stokes had a very poor one (15 goals).

He's every bit as good as Mumford. Proved it by breaking even once and thrashing him the other time on the two occasions they met.

mate, I'm a Westy fan but even I can see the difference.
Over the past 2 seasons, Mumford has been averaging 30 hit-outs, 3 marks & 11 goals a year.

If West can take his game to a similar level this season, he's every bit as good as Mumford but he's not there yet.

Possibly, but goals are still number one on the list of requirements and by a fair distance too. It's why Chapman is rightly credited with having a very good year (36 goals) and why Stokes had a very poor one (15 goals).
Disagree goals are the number one requirement "....by a fair distance ...",Partridge. That's old school selfish thinking for mine. It's the goals you influence or create, the defensive pressure you apply, the discipline to play the role you're given, your work ethic, your decision making -particularly under pressure, hitting targets, having two way skills et al. They are all important requirements and the significance of any one of those might depend on the game. For example, I thought one of Pods better team performances was in the match against Hawthorn when spreading their back half was a priority and he very effectively took Gibson wide thereby keeping him out of the game for long periods.

BTW. I really rate the Carji as a means of assessing any given players year. Not only because of who assesses it but the basis on which it is assessed. Neither Pods, Chappy or Stokes were prominent in the voting last year.

Disagree goals are the number one requirement "....by a fair distance ...",Partridge. That's old school selfish thinking for mine. It's the goals you influence or create, the defensive pressure you apply, the discipline to play the role you're given, your work ethic, your decision making -particularly under pressure, hitting targets, having two way skills et al. They are all important requirements and the significance of any one of those might depend on the game. For example, I thought one of Pods better team performances was in the match against Hawthorn when spreading their back half was a priority and he very effectively took Gibson wide thereby keeping him out of the game for long periods.

BTW. I really rate the Carji as a means of assessing any given players year. Not only because of who assesses it but the basis on which it is assessed. Neither Pods, Chappy or Stokes were prominent in the voting last year.
I couldn't agree more. If it was all about goals Mitch Morton would have played every game for Sydney last year but didn't due to the fact that his defensive pressure wasn't up to scratch and his team mates didn't trust him. The game has evolved past that way of thinking now and you simply need to be able to do more than just kick goals.

Also just a question on the Carji, i have looked around before but can't seem to find the results anywhere. Any chance that you know where i could find them? Cheers :)

Your right they were all down on 2011 form, when they were all very good. A return to that would be welcome.

mate, I'm a Westy fan but even I can see the difference.
Over the past 2 seasons, Mumford has been averaging 30 hit-outs, 3 marks & 11 goals a year.

If West can take his game to a similar level this season, he's every bit as good as Mumford but he's not there yet.

Honestly FS IMhumbleO, I only rate Mumford for his strong body and durability, as a talented football athlete I'm not that excited by what I see, I reckon Westy jumps way higher and runs much faster for longer, but Mummy's got bulk, that's about it!
West is the bigger talent as far as I'm concerned.

I agree with that meto but my opinion, I just feel Mumford is able to impose himself on a game much more consistently at this stage of their careers which is to be expected given the game differential.
Mumford is intimidating and he calls for the ball at every opportunity while West is still developing and not going to be the main guy Hunt or Enright will look for when kicking in from full-back.
Expecting big things from West this year, he has the ability to become an elite ruckman but will need to have everything go right for him from here on in (injury-wise).

Latest news from Geelong’s medical rooms –

“Although it is a little to early to be totally certain, GFC’s medical advisors are reasonably confident that they can tentatively announce that there is a fair likelihood, all things being equal, but not withstanding a possible last minute setback, and bearing in mind that team Geelong comprises 62 knees, as many hips and a truck full of soft tissue situations, that a competitive outfit of 22 ‘reasonably’ park-fit players will be released from specialist care in time for 1st bounce 2.40 this Saturday.

Coach, Chris Scott, has denied rumours that the 2.40 side will be much the same, personnel wise, as the 11am VFL side.

Wheel chair access facilities have been extended from the players parking area through to the change rooms. Water bottle runners will be equipped with backpack oxygen tanks and zimmer-frames to assist player interchange arrangements.

The AFL has turned down Geelong’s request for two 10-minute quarters.

Past players, at any level, of any standard and from any league, will be admitted free on presentation of a kit bag of old playing gear. Ex-ruckmen, in particular, are requested to register at the gate”

I agree with that meto but my opinion, I just feel Mumford is able to impose himself on a game much more consistently at this stage of their careers which is to be expected given the game differential.
Mumford is intimidating and he calls for the ball at every opportunity while West is still developing and not going to be the main guy Hunt or Enright will look for when kicking in from full-back.
Expecting big things from West this year, he has the ability to become an elite ruckman but will need to have everything go right for him from here on in (injury-wise).

Imposing and intimidating, I'd say fair call, he might have Westy as a centre bounce No1 type.
But around the ground West needs to take more advantage of his natural athletic talents, he could do so much damage to the opposition.
It might be a confidence thing?