Review AFL practice match autopsy - Geelong defeats Collingwood

I cant believe the stats of the main ball winners.
All the Pies top midfielders had 30 and ours had 20. You'd think we were smashed if you didn't know the result.

That was because their top midfielders were pretty much the only Collingwood players that did anything. Aside from Cloke, Lynch, Beams, Swan, O'Brien, Pendlebury, and anyone else I've missed, most of their side didn't see much of the footy all day- leaving those players to share most of the pill.

Just got home from the game and have looked through the thread in its entirety. Will try and give a few quick observations:

- Bartel: Back to his best. Even the Pies supporter sitting behind me was in awe of how polished his disposal is.
- Blicavs: Made a believer out of me today. If you didn't know his story, you'd have thought he had a lot more experience playing the game than he actually has. If we could somehow transplant Blake's tapwork and combine it with Blicavs' around the ground work, he'd be a top 5 ruckman.
- Brown: Played both forward and back. Took a couple of good contested marks up forward, and was only really beaten once down back, when giving away about 20kg on Cloke.
- Caddy: Star in the making. Crumbed some good goals up forward and bashed and crashed in the midfield.
- Christensen: Was either pretty quiet, or did most of his work on the other side of the ground. Didn't notice him much at all. Was extremely stiff not to have a one-handed mark against Heath Shaw paid though.
- Duncan: Silk. Is going to take his game to another level this year if his game today is any guide.
- Eardley: His first touch of the game was after he ran full chested into a pack to grab the pill. Did not look out of place at all. Had a steep learning curve too, as I noticed he was on Pendlebury when he was resting forward.
- Enright: At his clinical, professional best.
- Hawkins: Presented well, but kicked poorly. One of his contests, where he got front spot, only to be spoiled but get the crumbs and hand the ball to a runner going past was first class.
- Horlin-Smith: Similar to Caddy.
- T.Hunt: Did his usual job to his usual standard. Very solid.
- Lonergan: Was his usual dire self. Absolute rock down back.
- Mackie: See Enright.
- Motlop: Learnt today he's not a half back flanker. Channelled Billy Slater at times today trying to give don't argues left, right and centre. No harm in backing yourself in to break the lines, but sometimes you have to be smart about it. Did outbody Harry O'Brien to take a nice contested mark though. :D
- Murdoch: This kid is going to be a gun. Kicks it a mile, is a strong mark and has pace to burn. Could be a nightmare match-up for opponents this season.
- Podsiadly: Turned back the clock with his work up forward today. Regularly presented up through the middle of the ground when at centre half forward, and showed why Nick Maxwell isn't a defender's arseh*le in a 10 minute burst in the 2nd term. Was a joy to behold.
- Rivers: Didn't have much to do today, considering the Pies only had two key forwards.
- Schroder: Played his role across the middle. Tough as nails, as is to be expected.
- Selwood: Typical game from the skipper.
- Smedts: Showed his class across half forward.
- Stokes: Was everywhere. Looks cherry ripe for a big season.
- Stringer: See Schroder.
- Taylor: Typical Harry game.
- Varcoe: Going to have a huge year if his pre-season has been any indication. Noticed he started in the middle at a few centre bounces today.
- Walker: Toiled manfully all day. Took a few nice marks around the ground and presented well.

Noticed at one stage in the third term, the three midfielders we had in the middle of the ground were Christensen, Smedts and Varcoe, up against Beams, Swan and Pendlebury. No wonder Collingwood got a little bit of a run-on during the 3rd term as Scott seemed to be experimenting a bit.
So no one played badly? I have to say that if all these players like Jimmy Bartel et al were all under done last year, or missing altogether like Varcoe then we're in for a huge year! To quote Big Kev "I'M EXCITED!"

That was because their top midfielders were pretty much the only Collingwood players that did anything. Aside from Cloke, Lynch, Beams, Swan, O'Brien, Pendlebury, and anyone else I've missed, most of their side didn't see much of the footy all day- leaving those players to share most of the pill.

Could probably add Shaw and Johnson to that list too. But yeah, they seem to be very reliant on their top dozen or so. Blokes like Blair, Clarke and Maxwell (how this bloke is captain has got me stumped. The other captains must repress a giggle every year when they all meet before the season and see this guy there) were rarely sighted.

Their live chat bloke was boosting Dwyer all day too, but I didn't check his figures.

Our back 6 were great today and made Collingwood's forwards appear second rate at times.

As for the first question- based on today's performance and his efforts throughout the NAB Cup, I think Brown should start against the Hawks.
And where exactly do you think we should play him? Do you want four talls in the backline or do you think we should drop Taylor or Lonergan or Rivers?

Go on Partridge, have a crack. :)

It's a remarkably difficult job. Here goes nothing then..........

B: Rivers - Lonergan - Guthrie
HB: Mackie - Taylor - Enright
C: Christensen - Horlin-Smith - Varcoe
HF: Duncan - Podsiadly - Murdoch
F: Smedts - Hawkins - Chapman
R: West - T.Hunt - Selwood
I/C: Bartel - Caddy - Walker
Sub: Corey

No one in that team deserves to miss out. And I can't fit in Brown or Motlop or Stokes. Brown should be in but someone please tell me where. And we've got to lean towards youth. It would be the youngest midfield group we've fielded for some time.

I'll leave in Corey. No Stokes though. Can't fit everyone, and my view is we have to pick for the future as well as now.

I think Stokes will start at the expense of Smedts, or possibly Guthrie, and that if Guthrie does miss out, Motlop may still get in ahead of Smedts. I would prefer the specialist defender to play, but it will ultimately depend upon the MC's game plan.
I know we have to look to the future as well as the present, but I think we only really differ as to the relative weight to be given to one or the other.

I'll leave in Corey. No Stokes though. Can't fit everyone, and my view is we have to pick for the future as well as now.
Your not fooling anyone here Partridge,he has just turned 28 thats hardly over the hill,he was on fire in the first practice match before the injury and from all reports again yesterday and gives support these days to the on ballers.
The only way he misses out rd one is if MC still think our best chance against the Hawks is to play an extra tall in the forward line.(that has Merit)
Your bias against the poor little bugger is bordering on obsession.
How many years have you been righting him off now?Get around him he's wearing blue and white hoops for Good sake..

Stokesy is in great shape this year, he's definitely best 22 now he's got over the ankle injury, I reckon Motlop, Smedts, Blicavs are all 50/50 from here on until the season opener.

What Stokes gives us which Smedts and Motlop don't is that match hardened body and physicality against bigger mature sides and he does play well against Hawthorn.
If rumors about Chapman having done a hamstring are true then one of those youngsters are obviously in.

Brown deserves to play as well (to the haters displeasure), been one of the most consistent performers all pre season.
MC will reward him for that and he may take Walker's spot as he does offer similar versatility playing forward or back.

Brown deserves to play as well (to the haters displeasure), been one of the most consistent performers all pre season.
MC will reward him for that and he may take Walker's spot as he does offer similar versatility playing forward or back.

Can't see that, I think Walker will be in combo with either West or Blicavs; and if not, it will be Blicavs with West, not Brown.

Anyone know where I can look at the stats?
Stats at the end of the game, from the Cats Twitter feed:
BFYlcrVCYAAev-8.jpg-large.jpeg

Unlike last week, where it was our established stars that got us over the line, judging on the stats it seems like it was a more even team performance this week, with many of the lower-tier players topping the disposal counts, including Stokes, Caddy, Duncan, Motlop, Stringer and Taylor Hunt.

Can't see that, I think Walker will be in combo with either West or Blicavs; and if not, it will be Blicavs with West, not Brown.

I can see it, sorry Fred.
Hawthorn have piss poor ruck stocks, it's not as if we are up against West Coast, Sydney, Carlton or Essendon who constantly rotate between both their 1st and 2nd rucks all game long.

West will likely get a run next weekend and it will be enough to see him ruck alone come round 1.

Those that watched game obviously can correct me here but it seems as though Walker didn't do much rucking at all yesterday?
May suggest the MC have stepped back on that trial run.

Hawthorn have piss poor ruck stocks, it's not as if we are up against West Coast, Sydney, Carlton or Essendon who constantly rotate between both their 1st and 2nd rucks all game long.

West will likely get a run next weekend and it will be enough to see him ruck alone come round 1.

Those that watched game obviously can correct me here but it seems as though Walker didn't do much rucking at all yesterday?
Yep under done and only fit one,lets kill him.

if he gets a good run next week, he's ready mate.
It's not as if he's missed the entire pre season like HMac or Simpson, both Vardy and West had their pre seasons but suffered niggles only a 3-4 weeks ago.

Scott said none of them (including West) will be having a run next weekend, they'll have to do what they have to do at practice.
Scott said he was happy yesterday with what Walker did, though he wouldn't say otherwise, of course.
I really can't see Brown in Rd 1, but I don't pick the sides. Yet.:D

Review AFL practice match autopsy - Geelong defeats Collingwood