Preview AFL Rd 18 - Collingwood v Greater Western Sydney Giants - Changes and Prematch Discussion

There won't be too many changes this week.

In: Grundy, Martin
Out: Hudson, Mooney

I called for Grundy to be given a chance in this game a few weeks ago. It just makes sense. Hudson is tired. Jolly not right. Neither Lynch or Witts are good enough yet to take on first ruck duties.

Martin's form in the VFL is irresistable - ~35 touches and 15 tackles. Get him in and let him crash through the middle.

Other changes might see Blair or Brown come in for Elliott.

His 30 this year and whilst that's not a "young pup" that certainly is not retirement age. Plus he spent 3 years out of the game. No wear and tear on him. You mention small forwards - Kennedy, Elliot, Fasolo and Mooney.....I don't think they can crumb as good as him. No player in the team crumbs as good as him.

But it's your opinion and thanks for your thoughts mate.

Cheers.

I love Krak as a player and our side lacks quality crumbers, I personally thought Buckley stuffed up subbing Krak instead of Witts. AK doesn't need to get 30 disposals to have an impact and in the last quarter he may have jagged a couple goals when the ball was being bombed in at will. He certainly can change the game in 5 minutes.

But I will say this, I question whether HE wants to play on next year and if he wants to put in the same work as the rest of the side, he has taken leave twice this year the 1st time he came back over weight after looking very good physically from utah then again as he was finding form.

Now people have personal problems and taking time out to fix it is fine but in the case of the first instance surely he could of kept some sort of conditioning knowing he was to return to AFL footy?

Andy is in our best 22 without doubt, he is just about the only small fwd who knows what the word crumber even means and the rest of the smalls could learn a lot from him about positioning in particular.

I called for Grundy to be given a chance in this game a few weeks ago. It just makes sense. Hudson is tired. Jolly not right. Neither Lynch or Witts are good enough yet to take on first ruck duties.

Martin's form in the VFL is irresistable - ~35 touches and 15 tackles. Get him in and let him crash through the middle.

Too much Maccaffer, he has been in fairly poor form for a solid block of games.

If he doesn't have the right match up as tagger then I think due a lack of pace and physical intent (mental scars from knee??), Mckenzie gave him an absolute bath on the weekend.

Maxwell deserves to be dropped but we all know that wont happen.

Maccaffer out Kennedy in on top of your changes.

Thank God someone makes sense on this forum. Grundy and Martin should be certainties. 35 touches 15 tackles also another couple of shots on goal. I'm bias I love Kmart but his form speaks for itself an goes very much unnoticed baring a couple of posters.

I'd like to see Martin and Kennedy get a run. Blair in as well.

Grundy's form has been ok, but GWS have 2 big bodied rucks so interesting call for selectors as to whether he gets a run or not. Hudson probably needs a rest and this would be the week to give it to him.

Brown in over Keefe would be my other preference. This means Reid still starts as a defender. That's right.

In: Martin, Kennedy, Blair, Grundy, Brown

Out: Krakouer (inj), Hudson, Keefe, Elliott, Mooney.

We do lose 2 quality small forwards there, but I reckon Martin, Blair, Kennedy are decent replacements and Sidebottom to go forward too.

I reckon ultimately Elliott will hold his spot though.

Too much Maccaffer, he has been in fairly poor form for a solid block of games.

If he doesn't have the right match up as tagger then I think due a lack of pace and physical intent (mental scars from knee??), Mckenzie gave him an absolute bath on the weekend.

Maxwell deserves to be dropped but we all know that wont happen.

Maccaffer out Kennedy in on top of your changes.

Yep, wouldn't be against dropping Macaffer. I've never really rated him best 22 (certainly not this year) so I can abide by his axing as well.

Imo he needs to spend more time on ball in seniors and less time forward.

Yep, does his best work in & under. Lacks leg speed which counts against his selection given we already have a number of plodders in the team. Dwyer is more creative offensively which is why I think he gets the nod ahead of Martin who is better defensively.

Yep lynch averaging 1 goal every 3 games.. paine seriously struggling in the VFL, both paine and lynch can't provide any sort of pressure and cloke can't kick a goal unless directly in front

The dream team :rolleyes:

Wasn't a fan of the recruiting of Lynch but his first few rounds swayed me. I'd like to know when he hurt his back and just how long he carried the injury prior to writing him off. If he can recapture the early season form and we can arrange a 3rd tall forward (whoever that is) then I think he can still offer the team something. I certainly wouldnt count against him being sellected this week irregardless of his game against Geelong Friday night.

Krakouer had a poor game against the Suns but he was good against the scum and Adelaide. Is he injured or something?

Both he and Ball apparently injured their knees sometime during the game. Haven't seen any follow up but I'd assumed that was why he was subbed.

Most people here are agreeing that Krakouers time in AFL is over, and his bad game on the weekend has just given the fire more oxygen

Krak won't be in our next premiership side, we thank him dearly for his services but we need to play the youth because it is best for the club.

No one is saying krakouer is lazy, you don't become a professional sportsmen if you are lazy, however after watching him in every game he doesn't work as hard as some others in the black and white. That is not a go at him personally just stating the facts

I disagree. Krak still offers heaps. Such a clever footballer. Never been quick and maybe the knee reco has slowed him even more but smart enough to know his limitations and make the most of his abilities. Has a good inside game as well which is why he'll always get sellected ahead of Didak.

Love to see him clock 100 games at the Pies and give his kids a real future... I mean you wouldn't want them stuck at Richmond would you!

Tend to agree that there won't be too many changes this week.

Fitness and availability of Brown, O'Brien, Blair, Ball and Krakouer might impact that.

Love to see Mooney get a full game, so maybe Macaffer out instead.

Martin or Dwyer as the sub.

I see Witts still managed to get 19 hit outs. Does anybody know how much time he spent in the ruck?

Or how effective they were?

Buckley said today that we wont be resting players or doing managed rotations. The best team will take the park.

Also said Dayne Beams, Lachie Keefe and Tyson Goldsack had much to offer as they return from extended breaks and that the Ben Reid 'swingman' experiment would continue.

Which one could draw a conclusion that keefe and goldsaco will be named this week, and there will probably be minimal changes : probably blair, obrien (dependent if medicos deem mentally fit), potentially swap of witts or huddo to grundy.

Wasn't a fan of the recruiting of Lynch but his first few rounds swayed me. I'd like to know when he hurt his back and just how long he carried the injury prior to writing him off. If he can recapture the early season form and we can arrange a 3rd tall forward (whoever that is) then I think he can still offer the team something. I certainly wouldnt count against him being sellected this week irregardless of his game against Geelong Friday night.

I don't think he was ever that excellent early in the year though, just gave a contest in the ruck which we all went crazy for because it was twice as much as dawes would do

Buckley said today that we wont be resting players or doing managed rotations. The best team will take the park.

Also said Dayne Beams, Lachie Keefe and Tyson Goldsack had much to offer as they return from extended breaks and that the Ben Reid 'swingman' experiment would continue.

Which one could draw a conclusion that keefe and goldsaco will be named this week, and there will probably be minimal changes : probably blair, obrien (dependent if medicos deem mentally fit), potentially swap of witts or huddo to grundy.

Oh ****ing brilliant.. we are going to head into finals were all our opponents have their superstars with a nice rest a few weeks before finals and all of ours are going to play every single game and be exhausted...

Because it is soooo important to smash GWS this weekend, much more important than having a fresh pendlebury when the game is on the line in week 1 of the finals.

The club continually tells us hows its such a hard long marathon of a season and now won't take a rest when their a perfect opportunity to? Baffling, again.

Oh ******* brilliant.. we are going to head into finals were all our opponents have their superstars with a nice rest a few weeks before finals and all of ours are going to play every single game and be exhausted...

Because it is soooo important to smash GWS this weekend, much more important than having a fresh pendlebury when the game is on the line in week 1 of the finals.

The club continually tells us hows its such a hard long marathon of a season and now won't take a rest when their a perfect opportunity to? Baffling, again.

Agreed, however i wouldnt put it past them to say they have a "niggle" rather than blatenly admit to resting

Will obviously have to wait and see tomorrow night as to how they play their cards.

He maybe too slow however, could be a good opportunity.

Cameron will turn Keeffey John inside out and kick 10.

Keeffe is good at straight line but has a slow turning circle Cameron is agile as all f@$k, even Carlisle who is agile couldn't keep with him and got given a footy lesson last week.

N.Brown to Cameron, Keeffe to O'Hailpin or Tomlinson.

Keeffe is good at straight line but has a slow turning circle Cameron is agile as all f@$k, even Carlisle who is agile couldn't keep with him and got given a footy lesson last week.

I am not sure there is much difference in agility between Brown & Keefe.

I don't think he was ever that excellent early in the year though, just gave a contest in the ruck which we all went crazy for because it was twice as much as dawes would do

As a short ruckman, in round two, he rucked for 85% of the entire game, managed 25 hit outs and 22 odd disposals. You'd take those stats any day of the week.

Didn't mention excellent, just indicated that his early season form surprised me and that hopefully he can recapture it.

I also don't see the need to run down a former player to make my comments more or less relevant, just made a comment about Lynch.

A bit left field but maybe the Sack could go to Cameron. I know he plays small for his 193cm but he's a good match on pace and agility.

Preview AFL Rd 18 - Collingwood v Greater Western Sydney Giants - Changes and Prematch Discussion