Game Day AFL Round 10 - Matchday Discussion Collingwood@Sydney(SCG - 7:50PM)

The stage is set for what should be an intriguing matchup for two teams who’s season has panned out very differently from each other. For Collingwood, they continue to do enough to get the wins on the board, with the Saints being the Magpies latest victim. For Sydney, it seems that this Swans team will have their first disappointing season in a long time.

The last time these two sides met was in the back end of the 2019 season. In what was an enthralling contest, Franklin was the difference, kicking six goals against the inexperienced Jack Madgen.

It wasn’t easy, but Collingwood were simply the better team on Saturday, running out seven goal winners. While the Magpies aren’t setting the world on fire by any means, they are just doing enough to win, thus leaving plenty to work on, and maintaining that hunger in the side. Brodie Mihocek continued his solid 2019 campaign, and Ben Reid managed to return to form, with a good performance up forward. The Magpies will also most likely welcome back Jordan De Goey and Darcy Moore back into the side. The SCG hasn’t exactly been a happy hunting ground for the Magpies, with the team only winning one encounter since the Swans moved to SCG permanently in 2015. Nathan Buckley’s men will have to adjust the team for the smaller dimensions, which the Swans use to their advantage so well. The Magpies will be without Travis Varcoe this Friday, with the forward being suspended for a careless bump. It continues a frustrating season for the small forward, who has struggled to get any consistency in the side. He will still have chances to cement his spot in the side after the suspension due to the injury of Jamie Elliott, and will not want to waste that chance.

The man to watch this week is Will Hoskin-Elliott. WHE had an interrupted pre-season coming into 2019, which has clearly shown with his on-field performance. Too often does Hoskin-Elliott go missing in games, which causes the dynamic Collingwood forward line to lose a dimension. Hoskin-Elliott will need to improve his form if he is to show Nathan Buckley he belongs in the side.

While many were suspect on the Swans coming into the 2019 season, no one could have predicted the dramatic fall this consistent team has suffered. The Swans have suffered numerous injuries, but are due to get some stars in Franklin and Kennedy back for this matchup. While the Swans have started slowly in recent seasons, this season they look so far off the mark, that it’s best for John Longmire to invest game time into the younger players, to rebound the Swans quicker up the ladder in the future. While the Swans are having a poor year, they are on a roll, having toppled Essendon in controversial circumstances, and beat North Melbourne down in Tasmania. Tom Papley was excellent up forward, as was Luke Parker, who had a nice return to form. To win this game, the Swans will need to ensure that they are able to maintain full focus for four quarters, as well as find ways to clamp down on the Collingwood rebound from defense.

The man to watch this Friday is Sam Reid. 2019 has been streaky to say the least for the Swans swingman. Reid has felt the full brunt of criticism in 2019, with many questioning his place in the best-22 at the Swans. If Reid is to cement his spot in the team, as well as silence the doubters, he will need to step up his game, and Friday night will be a brilliant opportunity against quality opposition.
Head to Head odds

Collingwood: $1.36
Sydney: $3.00

TV

Live on Fox Footy, Commercial Free
Live on Channel Seven, National

Radio

3AW
ABC
MMM
SEN

IPTV

AFL Live Pass
Foxtel Now
Kayo Sports
WatchAFL
Tip

The Swans have quietly found some good form, which gives them a good chance this Friday. Expect a tough matchup, with Collingwood just being out of reach all night.

Magpies by 21.

Stephenson to bag 5 sausage rolls.

He's so cool.. he can sit in a room with just 4 walls and listen to Womack and Womack's 'Teardrops' on repeat for 24 hrs.. and walk out with a smile on his face. Where as most would launch there boot through the wall after 15 minutes. I'd probably do it after I hear the first tune. Credit to him re.

He always finds a way. Must have been those Contiki tours as well re.

He's gonna be one of the greats.

I got Stevo for first goal and Pies by 40+ - because things tend to happen in 3s, 3 quarters of miserly footy then for the 3rd week in a row we kick 7-8 goals in the final term

He's so cool.. he can sit in a room with just 4 walls and listen to Womack and Womack's 'Teardrops' on repeat for 24 hrs.. and walk out with a smile on his face. Where as most would launch there boot through the wall after 15 minutes. I'd probably do it after I hear the first tune. Credit to him re.

I like that song!

Game time. I’ll be surprised if total game points exceed 150. Sydney will scrap us all game and will be diabolical. Buddy will kick 5 from 6 possessions and they will be in it with a chance. Still expect us to win but it’s not going to be pretty.

We've got a few who just appear to always be happy and positive - Stephenson, Treloar and Sidebottom. I can't imagine any of them having a shit time doing anything. I think that sort of energy is priceless in a team environment.

We've got a few who just appear to always be happy and positive - Stephenson, Treloar and Sidebottom. I can't imagine any of them having a **** time doing anything. I think that sort of energy is priceless in a team environment.

Precisely.. well said.

Sometimes I wonder how a side would go chocka block full of blokes who proved themselves in tac finals games.. I would overlook a lot of things if they did perform in finals. High on my player selection criteria list re.

We've got a few who just appear to always be happy and positive - Stephenson, Treloar and Sidebottom. I can't imagine any of them having a **** time doing anything. I think that sort of energy is priceless in a team environment.

Can't have em all playing great in finals.. definitely would have workhorses and players that get results in the h&a rounds.. but when the whips are cracking I want my proven finals players at peak fitness.. if it means resting em at stages throughout the yr.. so be it.

Two tight arm wrestles the last two times up there, shaping as the same tonight, just how Sydney would want it

Still reasonably confident we can do enough to eke out the win, but it will be tight. Pies by 8

As an aside, when was the last time we played Sydney down here? Can't recall a recent one, off the top of my head

I would add Adams and even Brown to that group. Have a look at the fist pumps Brown does when he or someone else kicks a goal. Gold.

Ins/Outs for either team compared to Round 20, 2018:

Swans:

In - Mills, Melican, Thurlow, Blakey, Reid, Clarke, Fox, O'Riordan

Out - Smith, McVeigh, Johnson, Cunningham, Ronke, Jack, Robinson, Newman

Pies:

In - Roughead, Howe, Wells, Reid, Wills, Beams, Aish, Treloar

Out - Moore, Langdon, Varcoe, Cox, Sier, Adams, Murray, Daicos

Both sides have eight changes from the last time they played each other.

Two tight arm wrestles the last two times up there, shaping as the same tonight, just how Sydney would want it

Still reasonably confident we can do enough to eke out the win, but it will be tight. Pies by 8

As an aside, when was the last time we played Sydney down here? Can't recall a recent one, off the top of my head

R9 2013 @ the G. Was a Friday night game and we got spanked by 47 points.

Ins/Outs for either team compared to Round 20, 2018:

Swans:

In - Mills, Melican, Thurlow, Blakey, Reid, Clarke, Fox, O'Riordan

Out - Smith, McVeigh, Johnson, Cunningham, Ronke, Jack, Robinson, Newman

Pies:

In - Roughead, Howe, Wells, Reid, Wills, Beams, Aish, Treloar

Out - Moore, Langdon, Varcoe, Cox, Sier, Adams, Murray, Daicos

Both sides have eight changes from the last time they played each other.

I'd argue that we have more experience coming in while they have a lot going out.

Can't have em all playing great in finals.. definitely would have workhorses and players that get results in the h&a rounds.. but when the whips are cracking I want my proven finals players at peak fitness.. if it means resting em at stages throughout the yr.. so be it.

I reckon draft camp should be replaced by a 10 hour shift doing some boring factory line task. See which kids have a significant mood drop and go into themselves and see who is cracking jokes the whole way through. Draft the latter.

If you're not taking the piss.. seek help re.
giphy.gif

I’d suggest Sydney are on struggle street.

We just have to apply our game and concentrate and we should win.

Franklin should be rusty and notwithstanding his usual fondness of magpie flesh we should win nicely and close him down.

Obviously I am an old South supporter and should not be posting anything here. Just wanted to say that the suspension of Travis Varco is an outrage and he should be playing against us. Varco wore the number 37 armband with the colours in solidarity with Adam Goodes. A very good footballer and man. Also it would be a decent thing if Margaret Varco is remembered by all tonight. A fine indigenous footballer who tragically died playing this great game that she loved.

really looking forward to seeing Wells back in the side. Have had reservations about his place on the list due to his durability but when he's up and about he is a joy to watch. precise delivery will certainly help in the scrap that it will be with the swans at the SCG.
pies by 30.