Preview AFL Round 15 - Geelong v Hawthorn, MCG, 7:40PM Saturday 6 July

Predict the margin

I think, fortunately, that it's unlikely the MC will, against a team like Hawthorn, replace an in and under 4-quarter goer like Stringer with a hit-and-miss F50 player like Smedts, especially since (a) we already have one in Murdoch, (b) Stringer's game last week was better than any Smedts has played this season, and (c) Smedts' 2nds performances have been well short of "banging the door down".

Better than Smedts vs. Essendon (15 disposals, 2 goals, 2 goal assists, 6 tackles)?

I've got no problem with Varcoe playing if they think he is fit enough.

1/ He is a burst player
2/ He was as fit as I've ever seen him before the injury.
3/ I'd actually prefer a 90% fit Varcoe over half of the team.

If he was coming back from a hammy it would be a completely different story.
I dont expect it, but I've got no issue with it.

Caddy did enough IMO.

West and Smedts in for Blicavs and Murdoch. Murder had an impact as a sub, coming on when the game was all but over, but Smedts has had some pretty important possessions in our last two games v Hawthorn. He's a dangerous target and they will need to pay him respect.
At the moment I'm far from Smedts biggest fan. But I reckon this game suits him.

I think, fortunately, that it's unlikely the MC will, against a team like Hawthorn, replace an in and under 4-quarter goer like Stringer with a hit-and-miss F50 player like Smedts, especially since (a) we already have one in Murdoch, (b) Stringer's game last week was better than any Smedts has played this season, and (c) Smedts' 2nds performances have been well short of "banging the door down".
Depends whether you want someone to do something special to make Hawthorne HB accountable or somebody that makes up greater depth in the guts.

Smedts was pretty good round 1 and think he kicked two goals. I actually don't think Hawthorn have an incredibly strong midfield, but exploit others through there drive off half back and forward line. Smedts gives us a genuine x factor who kicks goals, he plays half forward well and isnt a grunt mid who can win 20 possies.

I would rather us go with Smedts and make the Hawks weak backline accountable to him. Either him or Caddy could give Hodge something to think about.

Better than Smedts vs. Essendon (15 disposals, 2 goals, 2 goal assists, 6 tackles)?

Better, given the opposition, and his significantly lower time on the ground. But at the very least, equal.

We can't afford both Smedts and Murdoch against Hawthorn, it's one or the other. And the MC seems to prefer Murdoch, at least while Smedts is in the 2nds learning (according to Knights) how to play at clearances.

no change, or varcoe as sub for (insert player you have an irrational dislike for here.)

noone 'deserves' to be dropped from last week, so i would be happy with no change. I think our forward line has enough height and marking ability without needing to drop blitz for vardy, and i think as long as simpson if fit enough to handle most centre bounces, blitz does fine in the round the ground stuff, and offers more run and link up ability when rebounded out of D50.

if we aren't sure about simpsons durability, then maybe blitz for west, but i would be perfectly happy with no change unless they decide to give varcoe 25 minutes of burst footy.

In - Vardy & Smedts
Out - Bliltz & Murder

I also agree with VC about Trav, with the shoulder
injury he still would have been doing plenty of running.
Thats if the MC go for him.

Looking forward to how they pick for this game!

no change, or varcoe as sub for (insert player you have an irrational dislike for here.)

noone 'deserves' to be dropped from last week, so i would be happy with no change. I think our forward line has enough height and marking ability without needing to drop blitz for vardy, and i think as long as simpson if fit enough to handle most centre bounces, blitz does fine in the round the ground stuff, and offers more run and link up ability when rebounded out of D50.

if we aren't sure about simpsons durability, then maybe blitz for west, but i would be perfectly happy with no change unless they decide to give varcoe 25 minutes of burst footy.

I think no changes is the most likely scenario but that, if there are any, it may be in the ruck set-up; they may jiggle with this a little until they find what they think is the best combo.
On the other hand, they may leave it alone if they think Simpson can run out the whole game, relying on Blicavs to do his share of boundary throw-ins, and to use his pace to get back and defend when their ruckman goes into the forward line.
I think it unlikely they will play Varcoe in the ones first-up, even as a sub, he hasn't played for 3 months or so.

I've got no problem with Varcoe playing if they think he is fit enough.

1/ He is a burst player
2/ He was as fit as I've ever seen him before the injury.
3/ I'd actually prefer a 90% fit Varcoe over half of the team.

If he was coming back from a hammy it would be a completely different story.
I dont expect it, but I've got no issue with it.

I don't have an issue with it either funnily enough but it's no chance.

We're generally conservative with injured players and I'd expect it'll be the same this time.

Be good to have him back soon though.

We'll win enough ball.

The real issue against the Hawks is you need guys who can punish the other defenders who will try and sag off to help Lake and Gibson (who will otherwise get owned by HawkPod). Without Chapman, Smedts will be very useful as a forward.

Gee I hope we win this Hawthorn are flying ATM if there is team capable of beating them its us but if we lose this they will be 21-1 at the end of H&A games ... Go Cats

Better, given the opposition, and his significantly lower time on the ground. But at the very least, equal.

We can't afford both Smedts and Murdoch against Hawthorn, it's one or the other. And the MC seems to prefer Murdoch, at least while Smedts is in the 2nds learning (according to Knights) how to play at clearances.

Generally the premise that Smedts and Murdoch shouldn't be lining up together against the better teams is correct, but when viewed in isolation I still think Billie has produced two or three performances at AFL level this year that would have been more than commensurate with the match committees expectations of him at this stage of his development. Certainly Stringer's effort vs. Freo was encouraging but he's playing a different position to Smedts and as such the KPIs he has to meet are different. For team balance though the argument that Stringer should stay in is a strong one.

Random tangent: broadly speaking I consider Smedts to be the most 'intriguing' of our young kids, as he has such an unusual mix of strengths and weaknesses that I have no idea what type of player he's going to become, or in what position he'll eventually find his niche. Billie just has a unique way of going about it; I remember reading someone on this forum compare him to Jarred Brennan, and even though they're different footballers, as a loose comparison I can definitely see the similarities between the two in both a positive and a negative sense. Brennan's name carries a certain stigma as he's synonymous with unfulfilled talent, but it shouldn't be forgotten that the guy had (and still has) freakish abilities.

Also, the substitute rule does mitigate the potential danger of exposing two hit-and-miss types to the big stage. We could easily just give Murdoch two and a half quarters and then throw Smedts on to replace him for the rest of the game.

Random tangent: broadly speaking I consider Smedts to be the most 'intriguing' of our young kids, as he has such an unusual mix of strengths and weaknesses that I have no idea what type of player he's going to become, or in what position he'll eventually find his niche. Billie just has a unique way of going about it; I remember reading someone on this forum compare him to Jarred Brennan, and even though they're different footballers, as a loose comparison I can definitely see the similarities between the two in both a positive and a negative sense. Brennan's name carries a certain stigma as he's synonymous with unfulfilled talent, but it shouldn't be forgotten that the guy had (and still has) freakish abilities.

That was me.
Smedts has talents that are unique. We need to find a way to harness them. Brissie failed to do that with Brennan.

We have a good compliment of players to choose from this week. So it all comes down to who are the best match ups for the night. That's the guys who'll get selected by the MC. Anyone who even has a smidgeon of doubt should he held back.

I think Varcoe, for example, would be better with some time in the VFL this week and then back in the main squad against Melb next week if that goes OK. Last year after a long lay off with injury they played him straight up in the AFL and he did his foot within 15 minutes and was out for the rest of the season. Play it safe as it's only a H&A game in the end.

The Melb game will be a good one to bring in players like Chappy, Varcoe, and Rivers for a run.

Generally the premise that Smedts and Murdoch shouldn't be lining up together against the better teams is correct, but when viewed in isolation I still think Billie has produced two or three performances at AFL level this year that would have been more than commensurate with the match committees expectations of him at this stage of his development. Certainly Stringer's effort vs. Freo was encouraging but he's playing a different position to Smedts and as such the KPIs he has to meet are different. For team balance though the argument that Stringer should stay in is a strong one.

I think you're right that the MC is prepared to give him time to develop, as witness they continued to play him after his slow start to the season, and he'd probably still be there if he hadn't got injured.
I think that's also a very good summary of where he (may) be and where he (may) end up, ie we don't know, but he sure looks like he's got something, and it may be very good if we can tap it. :D

Also, the substitute rule does mitigate the potential danger of exposing two hit-and-miss types to the big stage. We could easily just give Murdoch two and a half quarters and then throw Smedts on to replace him for the rest of the game.

The sub option is available, but you're still taking up 2 spots for hit and miss players, one of which might be better used, in a big game, for someone (arguably) less prospectively brilliant but more likely to come off. It's a question of approach. ;)

But I still don't think Smedts will come in unless there's a forced change.

Minimal changes please. We just played perhaps our most complete performance of the season. As Chris Scott said on Tuesday, there are going to be some good players playing VFL. Not everyone who plays a half decent VFL game will automatically elevated the following week. It's a good problem to have.

I reckon Vardy/Blitz as the only change.

FWIW, that's probably not Gullan's mistake. Sub editors usually do the headlines.
That may well be true. And quite possibly he's content in thinking that's the reason his writing is so bad. Others know better. Gullan is the human embodiment of a grammatical error.

It amazes me how many sports reporters (I refuse to call them journalists) simply can't write.

If another book is to be written about this era, PLEASE let Gerard Whateley have a go! I ran out of red ink during Gullan's trilogy.

That may well be true. And quite possibly he's content in thinking that's the reason his writing is so bad. Others know better. Gullan is the human embodiment of a grammatical error.

It amazes me how many sports reporters (I refuse to call them journalists) simply can't write.

If another book is to be written about this era, PLEASE let Gerard Whateley have a go! I ran out of red ink during Gullan's trilogy.

How difficult would it be to hire some English majors part time? Or just some retiree to proof the copy before it goes out.

My personal two least favourite teams, geez knocking them off back to back would be something.

Can't recall a more dominant display then that which the Cats put on last week, forty one points flattered the dockers as we were a ten to fifteen goal better side on the night; bring that form/intensity this week and we could be looking at eleven straight.

West and Smedts in for Bilcavs and Caddy for mine.

Agree totally with that -never been more confident that Geelong will beat Hawthorn and beat them easily

Hawthorns recent form hasnt been that super duper -17 points down in the 3rd qtr against Gold Coast at the MCG - should have been 5 goals behind Carlton at half time -you wouldnt write home about that

Burchall out -where as battlers like Simpkin and Duryea are getting a game

Its funny how you get feelings about certain games -wasnt surprised at all when Collingwood beat us -but i think this week -Geelong will lead from go to wo

I would leave in Blitz to run their big guys into the ground then hang about the left wing to stop and counter attack. I like Billy for this one, he has that X, he can take one grabbers and kick a goal. But I reckon they will go with Murder cos he did nothing wrong last week in a great win, plus had (I think) 7 tackles in 1/4 and a half. Whichever of them it is needs to be given a huge rocket to switch them on for the full 120 minutes.

Hodgey boy need to be accountable and not able to hang about picking up touches and picking off jaws. Not sure who though.

Gee I hope we win this Hawthorn are flying ATM if there is team capable of beating them its us but if we lose this they will be 21-1 at the end of H&A games ... Go Cats

If we do get up and win this then I expect it will take a lot out of us and we'll lose the following week against Port.

I'm pretty much conceding that we'll be 13-2 after round 15.