News AFL Round 18 teams - Sydney v Geelong

Re: Cats Team VS Swans

Please keep Hawkins away from the ruck, permanently. He's too valuable to be risked.

Understand where you're coming from but he actually prefers the freedom of playing there and having a mobile ruckman is a real plus in todays game. If he's managed well I reckon he'd be an asset there come September.

Blakey was dropped for a few weeks last year too at this time of the year. I just think it is a shame that some people have used the situation to sink the boot into Blakey again.

If they are considering the possibility of Ottens/Hawkins combo for the finals now is the time to test it out under match conditions. This is tough on Blake who has really had a good year this year. I don't think they can play 5 tall's in one team in the finals. so one tall will be dropped. Unfortunately for Blakey he is looking most likely due to his one dimensional contribution to the team.

Blakey was dropped for a few weeks last year too at this time of the year. I just think it is a shame that some people have used the situation to sink the boot into Blakey again.

If they are considering the possibility of Ottens/Hawkins combo for the finals now is the time to test it out under match conditions. This is tough on Blake who has really had a good year this year. I don't think they can play 5 tall's in one team in the finals. so one tall will be dropped. Unfortunately for Blakey he is looking most likely due to his one dimensional contribution to the team.
Not a Blake fan, but he's massively improved this year.. Layed on a brilliant shepherd last week. I remember standing up in the lounge room,my wife and I high fived each other because of it. But other than that, he really needs to work on a few things. I'm still holding on to the Blake being a good player theory, but if it don't work out, then.... it don't work out..

Pretty fair assessment you've made there.

Obviously it probably means the coaching staff are leaning towards Ottens/Hawkins now but it's just a trial, and hence Blake isn't gone yet. If the new ruck combo shows itself not up to the physical demands of carrying the job, or it otherwise doesn't work, then I'm sure they'll be pramatic enough to turn back to Blake. It's just that if the coaches can get it to work, then they will, because it solves the issue of us being too top heavy by removing one tall. It's harsh on Blake IMO but I can see why they're doing it.

Well Blake out was a surprise for me, and West in? I guess we'll see how that pans out. What are people's thoughts on Hawkins performance while he is actually in the ruck? I wonder if he has the capacity to be like Patty Ryder - he has a huge vertical leap, it's whether or not he can be taught to harness it in order to compete in the centre bounces. He certainly is strong, so that's not so much of an issue when he doesn't have to leap for the ball. I wonder if his efforts in the ruck will be worth pursuing.

Was always expecting Pods and Blake to be rested this week so that is no shocker for me. Didn't expect Bartel to go out as this is the first i have heard about it.

But he is not out rested, he has been dropped to play in the VFL.

Given Bomber flagged players being rested earlier in the week, if he was just being rested it would be fairly unremarkable and no one on the board would be bothering to comment on it. Him being dropped however, is a whole different kettle of fish.

Well Blake out was a surprise for me, and West in? I guess we'll see how that pans out. What are people's thoughts on Hawkins performance while he is actually in the ruck? I wonder if he has the capacity to be like Patty Ryder - he has a huge vertical leap, it's whether or not he can be taught to harness it in order to compete in the centre bounces. He certainly is strong, so that's not so much of an issue when he doesn't have to leap for the ball. I wonder if his efforts in the ruck will be worth pursuing.

Hawkins is pretty good when he can jump at the ball IMO, he has a good spring and decent hands, and gets involved in the follow up play. If he's doing limited amounts under that circumstance he'll go ok, he'll find it more of a problem if he has to do heaps of throw ins and more grappling type stuff, not even so much with a lack of strength, but a lack of technique in the specialised ruck skills . Just hopefully we don't get a match with as many stoppages as the 09 GF or we'll want to use him as little as possible. Anyway, it's what we're trialling so let's see how it goes.

Blake was dropped last year and came back to play in the finals.
We lost Mumford as a consequence. Look at his imput this year and compare their upside. Pity we did not get the chance to compare the 2 this weekend. Based on this season there would be NO contest.
I hope the same thing does not happen again. West has not been given the opportunity to string a run of games together.

We say Blake is one dmmensional because he is a good tap ruckman.
If he gets 3 effective tapouts for us and has no impact for the rest of the game is that enough? I am not a Blake basher just stating the obvious. If we say we play him because he is not injury prone is that a good enough reason at the business end of the season.
He is good backup who has little upside and that is about it on what he has shown so far.

I'm not a Blake hater, but if Ottens is fit, the choice becomes Hawkins v Blake.
Absolutely no contest whatsoever. Hawkins by a mile.
Ottens does the bulk of the ruckwork, which makes Blake virtually redundant.
Hawkins just has to hold his own in the ruck as a back-up, but is a huge advantage around the ground and as a tall forward.
Tough for Blake I know, but Ottens will be a good chance to retire this year, especially if we jag another flag, and Hawkins will be a key forward as his career develops. That means Blake can, if good enough, be the real 1st ruck next year and beyond.

Good post. Spot on.

Any truth to the rumor the Blake was not taken to Sydney to shelter him from another 12 months of Hungry Jack's ad's showing Jesse White sitting on his head?

There is so much more upside to having Hawkins in the ruck than Blake. Blake is a good tap ruckman and very little else, and would have it all over Hawkins in that regard, however Hawkins ability at ground level, his second and third efforts at getting the ball is exactly what we loved about Mumford.

Hawkins has been grabbing the ball and wrenching it away from other players in congested situations with strength since he first commenced at Geelong. This is invaluable in stoppages. His marking is not first grab, but is certainly far better than Blakes and can you imagine the danger of a Hawkins/Otto combination resting in a forward line.

For me Blake will not fit in the side if Hawkins and Otto (and Pods) are fit for the finals.

Bartel must really be injured [suspect it's more to do with the arm] otherwise it would've been Enright rested.Maybe Boris will miss the Collingwood game.

I hope Mummy smashes West.No way should he ever be in ruck in the seniors again.
Go Mummy :thumbsu:

Oh and go Mr Bean :thumbsu:

Onya Westy, keep pi$$ing off the haters, mate:thumbsu:

The other questions is for next week,
IN: Bartel, Pods.
Out: West and who is the other player?? Byrnes maybe?

Simon Hogan would have to be one of the unluckiest players going around too! Collecting 50 possesions in the magoo's last week and still cant get a game! and cant see any opening for him soon either!

Hawkins had been playing good footy in the central/ruck position, but he was far from being an accomplished ruckman. Blake certainly is an accomplished ruckman, but not much else.

I guess if Otto is back and able to ruck at least 70% then you could use Hawk without too many dramas - similar to Mooney in 04'. This maybe very suitable against Collingwood, which will no doubt just try and ruck with Jolly all day or the Dogs....However if we came up against Gardiner and MCEvoy in a stoppage riddled game against St Kilda we may wish to press a greater ruck advantage? Not sure what the answer is, but two very good options as far as i'm concerned

Simon Hogan would have to be one of the unluckiest players going around too! Collecting 50 possesions in the magoo's last week and still cant get a game! and cant see any opening for him soon either!

Wouldn't be surprised to see Pods return via the VFL. As most of the forwards don't really need a break before finals. So it all depends on form - Hawkins will get two-three games to see how he's going. If he fires up, I doubt Pods can get back in, sadly. The big question for me is Moons - his form and touch has been lacking. But would we ever risk going into finals without him? No way.

But he is not out rested, he has been dropped to play in the VFL.

Given Bomber flagged players being rested earlier in the week, if he was just being rested it would be fairly unremarkable and no one on the board would be bothering to comment on it. Him being dropped however, is a whole different kettle of fish.

Playing in the VFL is a rest compared to playing at AFL level. While still giving him the chance to play and further improve before finals.

Posted on afl.com.au yesterday is an article discussing team selection and it has this to say...

"However it is Blake’s omission that may shock many. He had an average game against the Brisbane Lions last week and the Cats have sent a message to their premiership ruckman, who will return to the VFL in a bid to regain his best form."

Am I the only one, when evaluating Blake's contribution, who struggles to distinguish an "average game" from one where he's displaying his "best form"? Against Brisbane, from my view in the Hickey stand, he seemed not too bad for the big lumbering spud he is.

One of two things will happen from here.

a) The Ottens + Hawkins combo will be a success (after West departs)
b) The mid-fielders will tell Thompson, just like when Blake got dropped last year, that centre bounces are more predictable with Blake.

Obviously Westy will go out next week for Pods if he is fit to resume. I suspect Bartel (again if fit) will return for someone else to have a rest (maybe Enright). If not, then we find out who the other 'senior' player to be dropped is, but as I said earlier, I suspect we won't find this out until the first final as between now and then people will keep getting rested.

Hogan, as with all our kids, is next to no chance unless we get a spate of injuries (not general soreness).

Posted on afl.com.au yesterday is an article discussing team selection and it has this to say...

"However it is Blake’s omission that may shock many. He had an average game against the Brisbane Lions last week and the Cats have sent a message to their premiership ruckman, who will return to the VFL in a bid to regain his best form."

Am I the only one, when evaluating Blake's contribution, who struggles to distinguish an "average game" from one where he's displaying his "best form"? Against Brisbane, from my view in the Hickey stand, he seemed not too bad for the big lumbering spud he is.

One of two things will happen from here.

a) The Ottens + Hawkins combo will be a success (after West departs)
b) The mid-fielders will tell Thompson, just like when Blake got dropped last year, that centre bounces are more predictable with Blake.

They can tell Bomber that all they like, but unless Bomber is prepared to drop someone he loves (Stokes, Mackie, Lonergan, Byrnes as examples of names you consider) then Blake won't come back in for finals because there won't be a spot for him. Blake hasn't done much wrong, in fact he's improved this year on last year IMO, but there just probably isn't room for him and I don't see the coaches making room for him.

News AFL Round 18 teams - Sydney v Geelong