AFL Round 4 Port Adelaide V Brisbane Lions Official Thread

Gah that was not relaxing again! :eek:

I would sooooo much prefer to play games where we start playing in the first quarter and not wait until later to click in - coming from behind all the time is painful (especially when it doesn't come off).

Gotta admit I was just waiting for the game to be over when we were that far down but stuck with the telecast and was really glad I did!

Hopefully both the positive and negative reinforcements will stick with them.

Oh and good on the Berger for taking the bulk of the ruck duties especially against those two.

I reckon Lappin just got his body in the right positions, Notting also found some aggression for the pill and really looked to run in the second half. These 2 blokes are just so vital for us. TJ is an enigma, if our midfield has grunt then he is going to hurt the opposition bigtime like he did tonight, loved his crumbing goal!

The commentators went on about our skill errors but I think our general decision making was worse. The amount of times a handball was given to a player in a worse position was astounding. The weather was a big factor but it also refocused our footy towards the Brisbane style - constant pressure, plenty of contests and then a long direct kick into a couple of big units inside 50.

Absolutely! Footy is a different game when you give the ball to someone in a better position and not just give it to get rid of it!

Bloody Hell...just read that the goal that hit the goal umpire is actually the correct decision.
You got a link? I was mad at the time but when I thought about it, if the ump gets in the way, then I suppose a decision has to be made. But in this case he had no reason to be in the way and a goal should definitely not have been given. I'm just glad it didn't decide the game.

In the rule book, if it hits the umpire, and then goes through for a goal, it's a goal. From what I've heard, that's what happened, so fair enough.

12.1.3 Clarification and Examples
For the avoidance of doubt:
(a) if the football touches an Umpire or any Official and then
passes over the Goal or Behind Line, a Goal or Behind, as the
case may be, shall still be recorded;

You got a link?

Thread on the gameday board "Chad Cornes's Goal.

Apparently we won the clearances 43-35. That last quarter certainly helped

All my friends think i'm a loser because i never go out on saturday night when the lions are playing, but quite frankly that is 50 times better then any party i have ever attended.

I agree mate :D:thumbsu:

OMG LIONS, YOU LITTLE BEAUTY :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I think tonight we saw our worst play (first quarter) and our best play (last quarter) all in one game.

My hat is off to the boys, and I am so glad i did not turn the television off at 3 quarter time!!!

Special mentions are to the Berger, Mcdonald, Travis, Corrie, Black, Bradshaw and my man SHERMAN, its great to see him getting back to form!!!

Overall I am a happy little camper atm and nothing can bring me down.

GO LIONS, GO YOU GOOD THING!!!

In the rule book, if it hits the umpire, and then goes through for a goal, it's a goal. From what I've heard, that's what happened, so fair enough.

12.1.3 Clarification and Examples
For the avoidance of doubt:
(a) if the football touches an Umpire or any Official and then
passes over the Goal or Behind Line, a Goal or Behind, as the
case may be, shall still be recorded;
Oh well. I understand the rule and the reason for it but it's still crap when a ball bouncing back into play gets given as a goal.

I kinda thought it must be something like that when the 'goal' was given. Bloody umpire should have got out of the way.

not to mention those silly silly commentators...
30 points down after kicking a goal...."the Lions are back in it''
46 points down after kicking a goal...."the Lions are back in it"
34 points down after kicking a goal...."the Lions are back in it''

yet throughout the whole last quarter when we were actually back in it - or better yet, in front....there was nothing...maybe they missed our comeback??? ;) haha
Dunstall was giving me the irits so much I turned the sound down and turned 98.9 up , brilliant, plus they were a couple of seconds ahead which made it more exciting. Just love their commentary.:thumbsu:

I definitely like the look of Henderson down back at the moment, we just need a taller player down back and it is a great way for him to get a game week in week out without the pressure of kicking goals. I also am going to admit that i am a becoming a bit of a Mills fan and i am going to admit that maybe he will do his best work on our forward line. He just provides a contest and gives a 3rd marking option. Saw a few times tonight when we were down his positives. Of course in the avalanche at the end there was no need for a 3rd marking forward:D

Mills just needs to pin down a position. He has played well back and forward and hopefully will get some decent game time to cement his place. As a forward, he leads well and takes a good mark but his goal-kicking leaves a lot to be desired as a rule.

He is a handball first forward

If Mills could just learn to kick, he'd be really valuable. I'd certainly be keen for him to ply more if the opposition match-ups warrant it.

AFL Round 4 Port Adelaide V Brisbane Lions Official Thread