Certified Legendary Thread Alastair Clarksons.

Alistair to North in 2023?

• Yes

Votes: 257 77.4%
  • No

Votes: 75 22.6%

I have a conspiracy theory that the conversation with GWS is where the $1.6m came from.

The conversation being that, that was the level of cash required to get him to move there. It makes that Ambassador thing make sense and it makes the figure seem more reasonable, especially where part of it would have been paid outside of the soft cap.

But this is just me in tin foil.

Pretty sound theory imo.

How great, we’re responsible for gws struggling to pay their younger guys and WCE. We inadvertently brought them down the ladder with us 😂
It was Joyce's plan all along...

spiderman GIF

I have a conspiracy theory that the conversation with GWS is where the $1.6m came from.

The conversation being that, that was the level of cash required to get him to move there. It makes that Ambassador thing make sense and it makes the figure seem more reasonable, especially where part of it would have been paid outside of the soft cap.

Have you ever had a tradie quote on a job they really don't want to do? They jack the price up so much to make you go away and find someone else.

Clarko: "If you want me to move to that shithole, you're going to have to pay me double my last contract."

GWS: "We'll get back to you on that."

AFL: "The **** you will."

Related, which won't appease most of the speculators in here.

I was told this morning that Clarkson advised GWS during their recent meeting that he will not be considering and/or committing to any future endeavours until the outcome of Tasmania's license bid is known..!
Given his involvement with the bid, this is likely closer to fact than rumour...

What's your feeling here? The vote is supposed to take place in August, but I have not seen an exact date.

I certainly could not see Clarkson waiting until 2028 to coach the Tasmanian team.

The latest position from the Tasmanian government is that they will not pay for more than half of the stadium which was a key requirement from the AFL on their bid. Given that the AFL clubs would be forced to pick up the extra funding to build the new Hobart stadium, it is unfathomable to think that 12 presidents could vote for a Tasmanian side.

Collingwood and the Suns are vehemently opposed to a Tasmanian team. The AFL owns 5 club licenses and controls the votes of 3 of them (GC, GWS, Sydney) but I could not see Adelaide or Port voting against the AFL either.

That's already 6 clubs who would likely vote 'No' so literally every other club would have to vote 'Yes'. It's almost certain that the WA clubs would oppose it though.

From the "Yes" camp we have Rchmond who are unconditional and a conditional vote from North and Hawthorn provided the finances stack up, and they don't at the moment.

Either the Tassie government comes back with funding for the stadium or the bid is seemingly dead. I'm not sure how Clarko fits in though, he has openly stated that he wants to coach in 2023 and he'd be coaching to win more Premierships. To coach Tasmania he would have to take a 7 year hiatus from AFL coaching to be involved and then bank on the team being much better than GC/GWS from day one.

I was told this morning that Clarkson advised GWS during their recent meeting that he will not be considering and/or committing to any future endeavours until the outcome of Tasmania's license bid is known..!
Given his involvement with the bid, this is likely closer to fact than rumour - and it may also be the reason he is yet to formally meet with the Roos..?
Not sure about the relevance - but suppose it's true, he won't be coaching anyone next season then

I don’t think that’s tin foil hat territory at all. All the media talk feels like it’s fed from GWS - about them running a responsible process, the plea for ambassadorial cash as the only way they could hope to match Crazy Sonja’s offer, works better if the media is already looking at Clarkson as ridiculously priced.

Mad Dog Hood.

Given his involvement with the bid, this is likely closer to fact than rumour - and it may also be the reason he is yet to formally meet with the Roos..?

Why would it be a factor? Even if they do get a license, it wont be until 2026 at a minimum and he can't afford to sit out of football coaching for that length of time, it would effectively be a retirement

He'll need to tread carefully with Tassie if and when it gets kicked into the long grass.

He's also still contracted to Hawthorn right now lol.

Reckon folks need to hold off on buying the celebration piss for a while yet.

Bye week before finals is most likely imo - is when I'd announce if I were running it.
I don't see what Hawthorn contract would have to do with it? It's not like we're proposing for him to coach games in 2022. He can sign a contract for 2023 season today. Easy done.
Given the need to revamp our football department (known roles to fill and implement Geoff's recommendations) he would want to be fully involved in these. To do that prior to the official announcement is hardly possible. And there is so much to do on that front, we don't have time to waste. Not to mention player contract extensions, which he also needs to be involved in. If we wait, it may be too late with some players.

So if he agreed in principle, there is no need to wait, in fact it's imperative to move quickly

I don't see what Hawthorn contract would have to do with it? It's not like we're proposing for him to coach games in 2022. He can sign a contract for 2023 season today. Easy done.

You might want to look back at what West Coast did with us and Brady in a similar situation.

We need to handle it right, especially with the current Hawthorn President being a volatile fruit loop involved in a long standing feud with Clarko.

You might want to look back at what West Coast did with us and Brady in a similar situation.

We need to handle it right, especially with the current Hawthorn President being a volatile fruit loop involved in a long standing feud with Clarko.
I thought we announced Rawlings early, but he couldn't officially start until November or something. But that's not to say he wasn't "working from home" during that time. Same here - we announce it, and say that Alasatair will commence his duties from November 15 (or whatever) but every appointment will be vetted by him from this point on, and he will start making phone calls to his people.

Then Kennett would sue him for breach of contract and win.

Told by who - I’d suggest you check your source - it’s not what I’ve heard. It was a flat NO to GWS and Tassie had got nothing to do with it.
Yeah you don't need to meet with them 3 times if you're waiting for the Tassie thing to resolve itself, you just tell em up front.

All the leaks are coming from GWS and are pretty self-serving (and fair enough). Not sure how it becomes closer to fact than rumour just because he has also been working with the Tassie bid, but if there’s anything in this angle it may be aimed at putting a bit more pressure on the AFL over the decision.
I concede that may well be the case re GWS, but it still doesn't explain why Clarkson is yet to formally meet the Roos and oddly why the media are none the wiser (not even speculating) as to the reason for this..?

Re Tassie - do not underestimate Clarkson's involvement and passion for the cause - moreover as I alluded to at the start of this thread there are people (away from the AFL media BS speculators) close to AC who say he is now looking beyond 'coaching' being his only option with his future endeavours/involvement in the game - i.e. A. Clarkson; Interim President & Head of Football - Tasmania Devils FC...

Of course none of this supports the narrative of the thread - so understandably opposition and/or ridicule of such comments is expected...;)

Have you ever had a tradie quote on a job they really don't want to do? They jack the price up so much to make you go away and find someone else.

Clarko: "If you want me to move to that shithole, you're going to have to pay me double my last contract."

GWS: "We'll get back to you on that."

AFL: "The * you will."
Yeah its a sound theory,,,,,having lived in quite a few cities, Sydney is one of those where you really want to be near the water and for that you really do need a kings ransom. And by water im not talking about the paramatta river, and then you gotta deal with the commute. Reckon the 1.6m would be on par for water taxis.

Brady spent a lot of his "gardening leave" at Arden Street just watching training and happening to chat to whoever sat next to him on one of the seats overlooking the ground...

On a sidenote, West Coast were such ****wits about that.

All clear for them to poach Brady from us right before a trade period but when the favour was returned Interpol, Amnesty and Médecins Sans Frontières were all alerted to the injustice underway.

I concede that may well be the case re GWS, but it still doesn't explain why Clarkson is yet to formally met the Roos and oddly why the media are none the wiser (not even speculating) as to the reason for this..?

Re Tassie - do not underestimate Clarkson's involvement and passion for the cause - and as I alluded to at the start of this thread there are people, away from the AFL media BS speculators, close to AC who say he is now looking beyond 'coaching' being his only option with his future endeavours/involvement in the game - i.e. A. Clarkson; Interim President & Head of Football - Tasmania Devils FC...

Of course none of this complies with the narrative of the thread - so understandably opposition and/or ridicule of such comments is expected...
He and his manager have met the club - the president , the football director (Anthony Stevens) and at least 2 past players have spoken to him. I can confirm for a fact that his manager and Ricky Ponting were speaking to Sonja Hood at the Hawthorn game in Hobart. I could see them from where I was sitting. So I dont know where you get - “yet to formally meet” - Mate he’s been talking and the clubs been moving - you don’t need a formal process to sign him given he’s the best coach out there. Suggest you take your tin foil hat sentiments back to your own board.

I concede that may well be the case re GWS, but it still doesn't explain why Clarkson is yet to formally met the Roos and oddly why the media are none the wiser (not even speculating) as to the reason for this..?

Re Tassie - do not underestimate Clarkson's involvement and passion for the cause - and as I alluded to at the start of this thread there are people, away from the AFL media BS speculators, close to AC who say he is now looking beyond 'coaching' being his only option with his future endeavours/involvement in the game - i.e. A. Clarkson; Interim President & Head of Football - Tasmania Devils FC...

Of course none of this supports the narrative of the thread - so understandably opposition and/or ridicule of such comments is expected...

Clarko could coach us for the next 4 years and then decide on a move to Tassie if we got a team set up and going down here.

But I can tell you Jeremy wanting to hand over $750 million (only an estimate could be closer to $1-1.2 billion) plus the on going costs per year is not really popular down here.
Our health system is a ****ing mess, our education system is just plain ****ed and well just about any other service needs the money more than we need a footy team regardless of the “supposed” yearly income benefits.

Clarko might be spending a lot of time gardening if he is waiting for a guarantee of a Tassie team.

Better yet.
Put it on the banner.
Have him run out with the boys.
Bryan Cranston Mic Drop GIF

Knowing our luck, he will get caught by a wayward strand of overly taped banner and get a serious neck injury, and have no choice but to resign the next day. And because we haven't put a coaching panel together, and not being able to afford to waste the celebration buffet and cocktail party that had already been organised, we hastily announce Robert Harvey as our next coach. He then proceeds to give a starey, deer in the headlights press conference. He says "obviously" 173 times. We all watch on and cry into our 'premiers 99' beer steins.
End scene