Anthony Albanese - How long? -2-

The committee wanted a full ban, the Government and opposition are publicly only talking about limited bans. The Greens and teals want full bans.

The commitee's recommendation was to ban advertising online gambling. It leaves Lottos able to advertise as well as local TABs and PubTABs.

If you've seen an ad for an online casino, you've seen an illegal ad, by the way.
Really?

Would that include online pokie machines? I've even seen an add for Crown casino online (a while ago so maybe stopped due to legality?)

warn people that there would be unintended consequences for giving an indigenous voice body the power to intervene in government decision-making.
Except it didn't. Old news but you clearly didn't understand or read what it was about.

Really?

Would that include online pokie machines? I've even seen an add for Crown casino online (a while ago so maybe stopped due to legality?)
It includes online poker. Online Poker is illegal in Australia (or it's illegal to provide it).

This is the problem with local bans. Theoretically they will have to take poker off the sports channels, they're covered in gambling ads. I don't know how it's legal to show it now.

So the gambling moves off-shore, kids don't see the ads, but the problem remains and is even less regulated.

The other issue with gambling advertising is the blurring of the line between advertising and content, a lot of the social media adverting makes it hard to tell the difference.

SEN is the worst. The consistency and methods of how they incorporate betting into their actual programs "and now we will cross to", "lets speak to...." is getting so blurry the boundary really doesn't exist anymore.

It includes online poker. Online Poker is illegal in Australia (or it's illegal to provide it).

This is the problem with local bans. Theoretically they will have to take poker off the sports channels, they're covered in gambling ads. I don't know how it's legal to show it now.

So the gambling moves off-shore, kids don't see the ads, but the problem remains and is even less regulated.

With online poker it is technically legal to access it (though you would want to be careful as there are no safeguards from being scammed from crooked games and other means). It is illegal to host and provide it from Australian sovereignty.

And yet more than 22% of Australian males have accessed this form of gambling, compared to 47% on sports.

Problem gambling needs to be addressed, urgently, by this Government. But putting advertising out of sight and out of mind with a snap ban is not the solution. It's barely even a sniff of the solution.

I worry that the fight for a ban wins, problem gambling doesn't move, but politically and socially everyone is patting themselves on the back because nobody notices it any more.

And yet more than 22% of Australian males have accessed this form of gambling, compared to 47% on sports.

Problem gambling needs to be addressed, urgently, by this Government. But putting advertising out of sight and out of mind with a snap ban is not the solution. It's barely even a sniff of the solution.

I worry that the fight for a ban wins, problem gambling doesn't move, but politically and socially everyone is patting themselves on the back because nobody notices it any more.
It will move the needle on problem gambling... Maybe not as much as you'd like, but it will do something.

Surely that's a good thing?

It will move the needle on problem gambling... Maybe not as much as you'd like, but it will do something.

Surely that's a good thing?
Not if all problem gambling goes online and subsequently increases (because it's easier than gambling online than on local sports betting apps).

Banning gambling ads from mainstream might just push it underground/overseas where it's easier to get out of control.

Not if all problem gambling goes online and subsequently increases (because it's easier than gambling online than on local sports betting apps).

Banning gambling ads from mainstream might just push it underground/overseas where it's easier to get out of control.
You'll still be able to gamble in exactly the same way you do now you just won't see ads for the product, how is that sending anything underground?

The evidence says that won't happen; it's a disingenuous argument and the kind of muddying the waters gambling companies are engaging in to stall change and extend the amount of time they can profit from the misery of ordinary folk.

Oh ffs... This sounds like the LNP climate argument "we shouldn't do anything, because it will make people use coal that is even worse for the environment than ours".

Here's some evidence for you (yes, it's only one example). A very good mate of mine ended up doing a stint in prison as a consequence of getting into strife sports betting online. He's finally on top of his addiction (after over a decade). I've spoken to him at length about it and one thing that he absolutely hates is that he can't enjoy watching sports telecasts (or TV in general) as much as he'd like because of the gambling ads. It's not just kids we're trying to keep this garbage away from, it's people who are genuinely at risk and trying to sort themselves out.

No arguments from me. The underlying issues that cause problem gambling must be addressed as part of any solution, same with any other vice such as alcohol. Problem gamblers are going to gamble ads or no ads.

I think and purely from my perspective is the relentless push from the enterprise bookies to make gambling ingrained as part of life/sport. It always has with horse/dog racing, those industries wouldnt exist without it.

Gough made a really salient point before that gambling advertising is being melted into content whether its radio, tv or online. The ad's specifically target scenario's where a sports event, whether watching from home, a pub or at the venue must be accompanied by a wager. Odds are blasted at the audience, followed by those wanky ads of tools gathered around a phone. There's catch cries of "have a dabble" "finish 5th and we'll refund you in bonus bets" etc etc.

Completely agree with you just banning wont work but the absolute relentless bombardment and integration into mainstream sports viewing is exhausting. I don't see the same with alcohol, there are ad's and there are the same sort of catch phrases and techniques but to me it doesn't appear anywhere as near aggressive.

Also wanted to say that there is increasing issues with problem gamblers with mobile app's, yes the pokies are a scourge but sport betting ad's are getting a shitload of people into a shitload of trouble, its just not reported nor hits the media.

I absolutely agree with you that it should be removed from sports (outside of racing), where you would expect kids to be watching, and also for gamblers who dont' want to see those commercials.

But might that be as simple as streaming services (like Foxtel) providing a cheaper subscription for those willing to put up with ads (and even with some restriction on which type of ads?). Put the onus back onto the media accepting the advertising money to reduce the harm.

FTA TV shouldn't have betting ads before 9:30 and not during any of the events which the Govt has said have to be on FTA.

Are you new to politics and new age slacktivism? That's all they want to do on any topic. Make themselves feel better, addressing actual problems are secondary to how the slacktivist feels...

That said, I agree with banning gambling ads, shows, odds etc until after 10pm. Including shows on tv/radio where they cross to Browny for the latest odds on a same game multi

if FTA cant survive without that then they should try and improve their service so people watch it which helps advertising. Season 80 of the Bachelor or the latest cooking show isn't cutting it, sportsbet needn't prop them up

Are you new to politics and new age slacktivism? That's all they want to do on any topic. Make themselves feel better, addressing actual problems are secondary to how the slacktivist feels...

That said, I agree with banning gambling ads, shows, odds etc until after 10pm. Including shows on tv/radio where they cross to Browny for the latest odds on a same game multi

if FTA cant survive without that then they should try and improve their service so people watch it which helps advertising. Season 80 of the Bachelor or the latest cooking show isn't cutting it, sportsbet needn't prop them up

My point is that if the footy disappears behind a paywall and my parents don't renew the foxtel Go app subsciption of theirs that I use, then it's just wall to wall bachelor and cooking shows.....
There are laws around footy needing to be on FTA I believe & if the AFL are dumb enough to go exclusively behind a paywall they'll soon realise how tech savvy their viewers are when we all watch it for free...

People pay for Kayo for the convenience as much as anything. I can watch any footy game for free online still. Sports execs would be wise to factor this in and not pi55 off their viewers too much. After decades the bigwigs still can't end piracy

There are laws around footy needing to be on FTA I believe & if the AFL are dumb enough to go exclusively behind a paywall they'll soon realise how tech savvy their viewers are when we all watch it for free...

People pay for Kayo for the convenience as much as anything. I can watch any footy game for free online still. Sports execs would be wise to factor this in and not pi55 off their viewers too much. After decades the bigwigs still can't end piracy
Nearly every sport overseas is behind a paywall except a small percentage. EPL is nearly all pay-walled. It's the way things are heading and it isn't good for grass-roots participation. Half the AFL is already paywalled. The price will go up too.

I wonder if it will be better for the nation if people have to go to the PubTab to watch the footy in the future instead of watching it from home. Sure, many people and families can afford subscriptions or figure out a work-around. But problem drinkers and gamblers?

Let's get gambling regulation right to reduce problem gambling as much as possible, but also while thinking about unintended consequences.

Nearly every sport overseas is behind a paywall except a small percentage. EPL is nearly all pay-walled. It's the way things are heading and it isn't good for grass-roots participation. Half the AFL is already paywalled. The price will go up too.

I wonder if it will be better for the nation if people have to go to the PubTab to watch the footy in the future instead of watching it from home. Sure, many people and families can afford subscriptions or figure out a work-around. But problem drinkers and gamblers?

Let's get gambling regulation right to reduce problem gambling as much as possible, but also while thinking about unintended consequences.
You're wildly overthinking it

Children shouldn't be bombarded with gambling ads. Problem gambling largely solved in a generation

Sportsbet will survive, dont fall for their bs claims

I welcome all sports behind pay walls. Its easy to watch for free, **** the greedy executives who try that when everyone pirates.

Gambling ads will have zero affect on grass roots. Im saying this as someone who regularly makes 5 figure withdrawals from bookies and benefits from how easy gambling is accessible. It genuinely shouldn't be advertised like this, anyone can see that.

You're wildly overthinking it

Children shouldn't be bombarded with gambling ads. Problem gambling largely solved in a generation

Sportsbet will survive, dont fall for their bs claims

I welcome all sports behind pay walls. Its easy to watch for free, **** the greedy executives who try that when everyone pirates.

Gambling ads will have zero affect on grass roots
Kidding yourself. Vaping has never been advertised, but look at it all around you.

OK, let's put it the other way. How much do people think an advertising ban on sports gambling on TV is going to move the needle on problem gambling?

1%? 5%? 50%?

I don't like something, it's bad, let's ban it.

Is different to "here's a problem, what's the best way of tackling it?"

I support 90% of the recommendations (and most of the ones I disagree with is because they're impractical - particularly around the online and overseas co-operation) in the Parliamentary enquiry and most of the first 2 phases of the advertising ban. Though I think it would be more appropriate that each stage limited rather than fully banned. For example, if gambling advertising made up a maximum of 10% of in-stadia advertising, would that be a problem? Can Sportsbet not have a corporate box with their logo on the outside? I completely agree that commentators shouldn't be talking about odds in the lead-up, during or after the game.

Are they going to be banned from saying "Essendon came in favourites tonight, but were comprehensively beaten"?

Some of the other recommendations are more important than the advertising one for actually pushing the needle on problem gambling, but the public have latched onto the ads because it's what they see, and if the Govt ignores all the others, the masses will be appeased.

Anthony Albanese - How long? -2-