Autopsy Autopsy thread Dogs v Hawks

Hey There,

You guys are the real deal - class on every line. I thought you had several players who were down and you were still awesome. Terribly bad luck about Bob Murphy - my favourite player in the league. You have such talent in Dalhaus, Bontempelli and Libba that I think you will go far into September. One very classy outfit

Sunday afternoon games are a killer for work on Monday. Had to get up for a Chris Mew at 6am, was a very slow day at the office. Probably should have went home after the game rather than kicking on the pub.

The loss was heart breaking, but thought it was a fantastic game, showed we really can push anyone this year. Atmosphere was electric, can't remember a game where we had so much support.

Hope we can fix our goal kicking soon, has been a consistent thorn in our side for a very long time now.

I'm sure the loss of Bob will gut the players, but i think we are seriously a very good team and will rebound and beat Carlton as we should.

Sunday afternoon games are a killer for work on Monday. Had to get up for a Chris Mew at 6am, was a very slow day at the office. Probably should have went home after the game rather than kicking on the pub.

The loss was heart breaking, but thought it was a fantastic game, showed we really can push anyone this year. Atmosphere was electric, can't remember a game where we had so much support.

Hope we can fix our goal kicking soon, has been a consistent thorn in our side for a very long time now.

I'm sure the loss of Bob will gut the players, but i think we are seriously a very good team and will rebound and beat Carlton as we should.
I was there too. The atmosphere and support the dogs fans gave to the players was the best Iv ever seen from us. Thank you dogs fans. I think we are finally believing.

Agreed. But we also had some stars like Dixon and Wood out.

It was a shattering game at the end of the day, but we should all be proud that we came within 3 points (I take it as both teams won) of winning, to a tough and brutal side. It's not like Hawthorn played shit which is why we got close to them.

You won't get too many matches were your so close to winning against the Hawks when they are playing in their top form.

It would of been good to have Wood in the defence, as he would of given the others confidence to go forward. Players were too nervous in the 1st qtr, and thats what helped Hawthorn at the end of the day
Great post.
Hawks were playing in the zone early and their experience showed.

With five minutes to go I was resigned to defeat, with three minutes to go I was in absolute shock we were in front. How was the fight by our lads. Being five goals down against the reigning premiers before we'd kicked a goal would have broken just about any other team in the comp. We fought back time and time again. These boys know they can achieve something special, they know they have it in them.

You are one of the best posters on here. So optimistic and passionate! The best traits in a supporter. I love it!

Imo we were the better team on the day and we just needed the opportunities to pull us over the line. If we got 2 of the opportunities, we had that mopped up easily

Agreed. We were also the best team on the day v Adelaide in the final. Need to start to find a way to win these to go from fantastic to elite as a team. Hawks knew the position with 2 minutes to go and got ice cold to get the job done. Composure, composure, composure should be our mantra for the rest of the year.

I also expect some Hawks fan are actually scared of us, because when we do get better composure, we will beat them with no worries at all

Sorry to intrude. I honestly thought it was a bit lucky at the time too. But I just watched a replay of the final 2 minutes on the Hawks site and there are a couple of slo-mos of when Bob hurt his knee....

Bruest definitely did have his eyes on the ball. He was grappling with Bob and I think he thought he had a shot at the mark. Sicily just floated in from nowhere. It was made to look worse because poor Bob couldn't complete the contest.

There were many, many questionable decisions throughout the game and I think we did a little better out of them than you, but that one wasn't one of them.

No big deal mate , dosn't matter what any of us think. but Breust only watched the flight after Murphy got hurt and lost contact.
No way was he watching the flight till then.
50/50 decision seen a lot of those paid , but in the end we deserved to lose it with the poor set up to allow the 1 on 2 .

I also expect some Hawks fan are actually scared of us, because when we do get better composure, we will beat them with no worries at all

I wouldn't overestimate how 'scared' they are of us. We'd have to beat them at the G before they really took note, and they are a few goals better there as well. Their fans simply don't rate games at etihad as 'real' footy.
They are still too good for us with their kicking and outside run and still have their captain and their most versatile and dangerous player to come back in.

Hawthorn have now won their last 8 against us. That extends their record run against us (but not their best ever which is 22 on the trot vs Melb :eek:). Our best winning run against the Hawks was 9 (1944-48).

Whenever we play them again we must make sure it doesn't become 9. We'll be ready for them!

I saw a questionable kick from a hawthorn player that ended up dribbling out of bounds near the finish. Don't know how that wasn't paid deliberate. No excuse, just saying

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

Yeah.

I think Commetti said something like, "that's the first one of those they haven't paid today...".

Man, a handpass here, a shepherd there...

If we're talking about Breust holding there was a marking contest a couple of minutes earlier on the wing that Adams was about to leap for until Breust used both his arms to hold down Adams. No free.

Concerned, not scared :)

We still have a lot of players to come back from injury, and a lot of our players are well down on form. Its a shame we dont play again. Very strange draw.

We get Geelong R1, then not again. Dogs R3, then not again. And we dont play Collingwood til R23.

If we're talking about Breust holding there was a marking contest a couple of minutes earlier on the wing that Adams was about to leap for until Breust used both his arms to hold down Adams. No free.
During the last quarter Hawthorn used every trick in their arsenal and then some. When the game becomes frantic their players all over the ground hold, scragg opponents punting that the umpires are reticent to make big calls in the heat of the moment unless its obvious. The hawthorn forwards ran forward on a punt all of the last quarter. They punted on winning the clearances in the last quarter. If you look at the replay you will see that when they got a quick kick into their forward 50 where 3-4 unopposed. Our defenders and others fell asleep. The Hawks blocked for each other, shepherded out opponents and got more than a little lucks

We still have a lot of players to come back from injury, and a lot of our players are well down on form. Its a shame we dont play again. Very strange draw.

We weren't at full strength either and quite a few of our better players were below their best.. It's a long season and our kids will get better as the season progresses.. we will improve on that performance.

A positive look for the Bulldogs would be to compare it to Hawthorn's late season game against Geelong in 2008. Geelong pipped us but it was close enough that Hawthorn had genuine belief that they could match the juggernaut. Had Geelong lost that game, they would not of been nearly as complacent (and arrogant) going into the grand final.

In the grand scheme of things, losing the tight one is not a bad result for a young team with genuine premiership aspirations this year.

I completely agree with your thoughts here, I'd agree it's probably the best result long term, but Bob :(.. it's hard to see a silver lining there.

Can we stop blaming the umpires? We got beaten. We don't make stupid mistakes and kick better, and we win. I'd rather we look to something that the club can control, than something that it cannot.

Agree, sometimes it goes your way sometimes it doesn't.

Can we stop blaming the umpires? We got beaten. We don't make stupid mistakes and kick better, and we win. I'd rather we look to something that the club can control, than something that it cannot.
Yeah I actually thought we got reamed by the umps in the first quarter but had the benefit of the whistle after that. Seemed like a bit of an over correction.

It was a shit standard in general though, especially for such a high quality match. Big game nerves maybe?

We get Geelong R1, then not again. Dogs R3, then not again. And we dont play Collingwood til R23.

Yeah, that's true. I had a couple of Hawk mates remind me that Good Bloke and Roughy were missing.

Had to point out that Easton Wood, vc and AA, was a late withdrawal, and Tory Dickson, 50 goals and 85% kicking efficiency, would be welcomed back into the Dogs side in the next week or so. Didn't mention Stewart Crameri, who's obviously out all year.

Given all players are available next time we meet, it should make for an interesting contest.

Excluding Murph, of course...:(

Autopsy Autopsy thread Dogs v Hawks