Confirmed Bailey Smith: 4-way trade: B. Smith (WB) & pick 45 to Geel / pick 38 to Carl / Macrae (WB) to StK / pick 17 & Kennedy (Carl) to WB

Literally Geelong for about 60 years other than 07-11. Geez some of you are thirsty to be a big club.
You take those 4 flags away and it's still 6>2. You're kinda proving his point.

Anyway, if the thread has reached dick measuring over who's the better club then it's probably best that everyone just went outside.

This time of year always brings out the worst in people, and that goes for all supporters.

"Outgrown the Bulldogs" he says. What a w***er.

“I feel like I’d be doing myself a disservice for the player I want to become and the person I want to become by staying in the same environment”

=

“I want to be a full time midfielder and I’ve been stuck behind better players like Bont, Dunkley, Libba, Treloar and Macrae the whole time I’ve been there and just watched Ed Richards and maybe even Ryley Sanders go past me.”

Anyway, if the thread has reached dick measuring over who's the better club then it's probably best that everyone just went outside.

This time of year always brings out the worst in people, and that goes for all supporters.

Not in the last 60 years it isn’t. Take away those 3 and it’s 1 v 1. Which is why that post and yours buying into it are so eye roll inducing.

So what's your point?

"If we just took away what actually happened, imagine what it could look like!!"

That sounds like it's time to touch grass mate. Mental gymnastics like that could be applied to literally anything.

Anyway, it's the Bailey Smith thread.

So what's your point?

"If we just took away what actually happened, imagine what it could look like!!"

That sounds like it's time to touch grass mate. Those mental gymnastics could be applied to literally anything.

Literally spent all afternoon touching grass, was a ripper day. Aside from a short window of 07-11 “filler club” describes the Cats for about 60 years too. You wouldn’t be having a melt about it if there was no truth to it.

Exactly, why here in this thread?
Keeps getting derailed talking about other players.

Everyone needs to do Bailey a favour and focus on Bailey…it’s what he’d want.
Did you know he likes to box with his shirt off in his new backyard? 🤣

View attachment 2122974
I think they should cross live to the BAZOOKA at half-time of the GF for him to make a country-wide announcement that he will be seeking a trade to the Mighty Geelong Cats.

Literally spent all afternoon touching grass, was a ripper day. Aside from a short window of 07-11 “filler club” describes the Cats for about 60 years too. You wouldn’t be having a melt about it if there was no truth to it.
Melt. Lmao.

I'm replying to a guy who's whole premise is "Let's just remove history, and then we'll see how things look".

I haven't said anything about the Dogs being a "filler club" - That was somebody else. I actually really like the club, and grew up close to the area.

All I've said is it's amusing watching you try to remove history and act like it's some kind of 'gotcha'.

FWIW, it's funny when Cats supporters try to do it too about other clubs. Why bother?

Melt. Lmao.

I'm replying to a guy who's whole premise is "Let's just remove history, and then we'll see how things look".

I haven't said anything about the Dogs being a "filler club" - That was somebody else. I actually really like the club, and grew up close to the area.

All I've said is it's amusing watching you try to remove history and act like it's some kind of 'gotcha'.

FWIW, it's funny when Cats supporters try to do it too about other clubs. Why bother?

Could have saved yourself a melt if you took a deep breath before agreeing with the “filler club” post and then digging in about it all:

FYI I’m not replying to any more posts from you on this so go for your life.

“I feel like I’d be doing myself a disservice for the player I want to become and the person I want to become by staying in the same environment”

=

“I want to be a full time midfielder and I’ve been stuck behind better players like Bont, Dunkley, Libba, Treloar and Macrae the whole time I’ve been there and just watched Ed Richards and maybe even Ryley Sanders go past me.”
so he's worse than all those players and you guys still think you'll get 2 FRPs for him? :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy:

Shit I hate the media. He’s said nothing disrespectful and they go and drive by him like that. No wonder players come across as robots!
Dangerfield copped it for ages for having a personality. Now the baton has passed to Ginnivan.
Yet fans hate the robotic cliche answers they speak in interviews.

Dangerfield copped it for ages for having a personality. Now the baton has passed to Ginnivan.
I remember Adam Treloar did an interview about dealing with his anxiety and the comments on some other platforms were absoloutley putrid. People think because you're an AFL player on a good wicket you have to act exactly how they want you to act at all times. Sports fans in general are ****ing cretins. Show a bit of yourself, positive or negative and all the fat old boomers will come out in force.

It is a bit hypocritical that we complain about robotic players but then have tall poppy syndrome if anyone does try to stand out. But I think Aussies have an issue when it feels performative and not natural - I find someone like Brendon Goddard far more interesting then someone like Dangerfield (I like Danger). Goddard wasn't making an effort to put himself out there, he was that genuinely passionate about getting better and demanding the best and he was also brutally honest without an agenda, which led to moments like him smashing the lollies table or crying his eyes out when he played the Saints for the first time.

I think we've moved out of the super robotic phase of the late 2000's to late 2010's, players born after 2000 seem to be far more comfortable in being themselves and have far more confidence, (instagram has helped give them personality to an extent). Jack Ginnivan is great, the game is always better off when pesky small forwards are irritating everyone.

On Smith, I am still a little confused as to why he wants to leave, especially with Libba & Treloar on the very back end and Macrae going. I remember him being "Bevo'd" in 2023 and it seemed like he was not enjoying that role, but I stiill thought he would be at the Dogs for a long time and would get his chance in the midfield. It seems like the ACL injury has made him reflect and think the grass is greener or he needs to refresh. I think there is also more going on behind the scenes that will be leaked over the coming weeks.

This is just my opinion and others probably disagree, but I am of the belief he is somewhat overrated as a player. He had some great games in the finals in 2021 and has had monster games, but he never really took it to a new level consistently. He is fast but not super quick, doesn't have a damaging kick, and doesn't have the dynamic decision making of players like Trac, Gulden, Bont, Butters, Rozee.

What he does have is amazing endurance and versatility in terms of where he can be played. He also has a desire to improve and get better every year, so you know you are getting someone who is going to give 110%. Chris Scott might work wonders with him.

Smith seems to be taking his time nominating Geelong as his preferred destination. Maybe his manager is concerned about their ability to conclude the transaction or has the AFL cottoned on to his contractual arrangements?
Don’t be shy Baz.

We were told that he'd announce his intentions once his chosen team are eliminated from the finals.

So he hasn't decided between the Swans or Lions as yet.

Smith seems to be taking his time nominating Geelong as his preferred destination. Maybe his manager is concerned about their ability to conclude the transaction or has the AFL cottoned on to his contractual arrangements?
Don’t be shy Baz.
I’m not particularly sure that ‘shy’ is in his vocab.

I would suggest it’s all about maximising exposure for Bailey and as good as he reckons he is, not even he can outdo Grand Final week. Reckon we’ll get a nomination announcement next week when it’s all said and done and all eyes & media can be firmly on him.

so he's worse than all those players and you guys still think you'll get 2 FRPs for him? :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy:

No shame in not being as good as Bont, Libba, Treloar and Dunkley at his age. He’ll be your best inside mid though. You can bleat about “two firsts” context free like a moron all you like, a couple of picks around 18-20 or a mid first round pick is a fair value for him, similar to Dunkley.

Shit I hate the media. He’s said nothing disrespectful and they go and drive by him like that. No wonder players come across as robots!

Look it's clumsily worded but I have no doubt that he would have been advised by PR people what to say. His intentions of saying he needs a change of scenery in order to try and get the best out of himself are fine but it's badly worded. Unfortunately players are told to lie and not admit they move for money etc so this is what you get.

Confirmed Bailey Smith: 4-way trade: B. Smith (WB) & pick 45 to Geel / pick 38 to Carl / Macrae (WB) to StK / pick 17 & Kennedy (Carl) to WB