List Mgmt. Ben Amarfio - has resigned as our CEO - Thank you Ben

I feel a bit for Sam Bingley - the NMFC’s Chief Commercial Officer and on what appears to be the same level as BA.

Great commercial success getting attributed to Benny! What is Sam, a joke to you?
Big Ben!

We’ve put out the least competitive football team since it’s been a national competition - but we’ve got a football department so not his fault.

But even though we have dedicated Chief Commercial offer, Big Ben getting plaudits for sponsorships.

What a world it would be - only responsible for the good stuff, but the s*** stuff, nah someone else’s fault. I reckon I’ve worked for a few of them in my time.
Someone find Big Ben’s Worcestershire sauce on his way out!! If he goes will he need to be escorted out by security again?

Thanks Sam.

* me dead mate you've really let your redneck colours show.

You must be pretty insecure about your place in the world for your racism to shine through here.
No I’m fine it’s just other peoples rationale on what they constitute what racism is and projecting it on to me.

It is what it is….I’m sure every team board on this forum has these types in which the others have to deal with.

Que sera, sera

If you close your eyes and tap your feet together….you can believe anything to be racism…

tumblr_nmxsv09o741qanwe4o1_500.gifv
918D2A3A-AE05-41DC-BBDD-956611E841C1.gif

North approach Peter Jackson to steer Roos into the ‘Clarko’ era​

By Caroline Wilson

August 22, 2022 — 3.15pm

North Melbourne have approached veteran club chief Peter Jackson to help oversee the rebuilding of the Kangaroos following Alastair Clarkson’s appointment as new senior coach.

North president Sonja Hood, who would not guarantee the future of current CEO Ben Amarfio in a series of interviews in recent days, has approached the former Essendon and Melbourne chief executive with a view to helping steer the club into the Clarkson era.

New Kangaroos coach Alastair Clarkson, experienced football executive Peter Jackson, and North Melbourne president Sonja Hood.

New Kangaroos coach Alastair Clarkson, experienced football executive Peter Jackson, and North Melbourne president Sonja Hood.Credit:Joe Armao, Getty Images.

It is not known whether Jackson would be prepared to take on a full-time role at North, but the Roos will push Jackson to work in an advisory role in its potential search for a new CEO and football boss.

Jackson is considered by North as an ideal interim chief executive, but failing that a short-term consultant to the board as it implements the findings of the football restructure recommended by the Geoff Walsh review.

Amarfio was notably absent from the podium, but was in the room watching on, when the Roos unveiled Clarkson as coach last Friday, and did not play a key role in the recruitment of the four-time premiership coach.

With Clarkson officially taking on the role for at least the next five years from November 1, Hood has indicated a raft of changes to key personnel across football and, notably, recruiting. She did not rule out Walsh, a former North CEO, briefly returning in a consultancy role to help oversee the changes.

Jackson was previously installed by the AFL to oversee the rebuilding of the beleaguered Melbourne Football Club, a role he held from 2013 until 2019.

Inducted as an AFL Life Member in 2020 he was CEO of Essendon from 1996 until 2009 - a period that saw the Bombers’ most recent premiership in 2000. He has also taken on a series of other troubleshooting roles across the AFL. Those include consultancies at the Western Bulldogs and most recently conducted a review of the AFL’s Indigenous Advisory Board.

Clarkson conceded on Friday that he needed strong and experienced people around him to succeed in the new coaching job. He is expected to bring former Hawthorn colleague Todd Viney with him to North Melbourne in a coaching development role.
The Age contacted Hood and Jackson for comment.

By Caroline Wilson

August 22, 2022 — 3.15pm

North Melbourne have approached veteran club chief Peter Jackson to help oversee the rebuilding of the Kangaroos following Alastair Clarkson’s appointment as new senior coach.

North president Sonja Hood, who would not guarantee the future of current CEO Ben Amarfio in a series of interviews in recent days, has approached the former Essendon and Melbourne chief executive with a view to helping steer the club into the Clarkson era.

New Kangaroos coach Alastair Clarkson, experienced football executive Peter Jackson, and North Melbourne president Sonja Hood.

New Kangaroos coach Alastair Clarkson, experienced football executive Peter Jackson, and North Melbourne president Sonja Hood.Credit:Joe Armao, Getty Images.

It is not known whether Jackson would be prepared to take on a full-time role at North, but the Roos will push Jackson to work in an advisory role in its potential search for a new CEO and football boss.

Jackson is considered by North as an ideal interim chief executive, but failing that a short-term consultant to the board as it implements the findings of the football restructure recommended by the Geoff Walsh review.

Amarfio was notably absent from the podium, but was in the room watching on, when the Roos unveiled Clarkson as coach last Friday, and did not play a key role in the recruitment of the four-time premiership coach.

With Clarkson officially taking on the role for at least the next five years from November 1, Hood has indicated a raft of changes to key personnel across football and, notably, recruiting. She did not rule out Walsh, a former North CEO, briefly returning in a consultancy role to help oversee the changes.

Jackson was previously installed by the AFL to oversee the rebuilding of the beleaguered Melbourne Football Club, a role he held from 2013 until 2019.

Inducted as an AFL Life Member in 2020 he was CEO of Essendon from 1996 until 2009 - a period that saw the Bombers’ most recent premiership in 2000. He has also taken on a series of other troubleshooting roles across the AFL. Those include consultancies at the Western Bulldogs and most recently conducted a review of the AFL’s Indigenous Advisory Board.

Clarkson conceded on Friday that he needed strong and experienced people around him to succeed in the new coaching job. He is expected to bring former Hawthorn colleague Todd Viney with him to North Melbourne in a coaching development role.

More action on The Walsh Report, perhaps?

By Caroline Wilson

August 22, 2022 — 3.15pm

Big ****ing moves! Love it!

Wonder if we threw this to Caro to keep her at bay (I don't have any mail - and per last week no one on this board ever gets mail).
I think she’s deflecting from her Clarko to *essendon call lol

Given the source I don't really believe a word of it.

It goes into the category of, it might be true and a broken clock and all that.
Who knows, there might be something to it (Sonja assured that Ben Amarfio would continue on at the club, but would not be drawn on the question of his role next year)?

But last week when she had nothing, Wilson attempted to sweat an answer out of North Melbourne by speculating on the coach (my sources say..., I believe..., I have heard..., people are saying...). She linked Lyons to North, she linked Hinkleys to North and she linked Clarkson to * in expectation that she'd either get a phone call or some form of inside word.

That didn't happen.

She (Wilson) was left with egg on her face - she made up stories, she repeated them on every opportunity and platform she has access to and she was proven to be wrong and without any source. Worse still, she failed to read the logic - Clarkson had himself left a trail that indicated North and excluded Essendon. David King publicly called the result almost a week early. Wilson, in her vitriol was blinded to facts, logic and even the outright call by King.

So now the question is: Did she make some calls and get something this time, or is she doing what she does as a lazy "opinionist" once more by just making stuff up?

And we all know about opinions - everybody's got one.

Did she make some calls and get something this time, or is she doing what she does as a lazy "opinionist" once more by just making stuff up?
My question would be who would she be making calls to that would not be acutely aware of the axe this woman has ground against our club? and what's more why would they give her any info at all?

Barrett I get, he was there in the camp 15 years ago and then through the Brad Scott years the relationship soured, so I get bridge building. We talk about her grudge going back to the 70s. a story here and there won't change that so I am not sure why we would feed her anything.

This is a pretty long way to say that I think it has to be assumed this is her opinion rather than fact until it is proved otherwise. She has no runs on the board and only a history of being a thorn in our side.

I've got no issue taking Caro at face value with this. She tends to print news with some validity, her Clarkson to Essendon thing was a Footy Classified exclusive IIRC, those are generally just opinion for TV clicks (on a remote control).

If it is true that Clarkson stipulated that Amarfio should go, I sincerely hope that has nothing to do with Al’s friendship with David Barham.
I have no inner scrote knowledge, but on the surface it looks like there are a couple of very long bows being drawn there, HBW.

Who knows, there might be something to it (Sonja assured that Ben Amarfio would continue on at the club, but would not be drawn on the question of his role next year)?

But last week when she had nothing, Wilson attempted to sweat an answer out of North Melbourne by speculating on the coach (my sources say..., I believe..., I have heard..., people are saying...). She linked Lyons to North, she linked Hinkleys to North and she linked Clarkson to * in expectation that she'd either get a phone call or some form of inside word.

That didn't happen.

She (Wilson) was left with egg on her face - she made up stories, she repeated them on every opportunity and platform she has access to and she was proven to be wrong and without any source. Worse still, she failed to read the logic - Clarkson had himself left a trail that indicated North and excluded Essendon. David King publicly called the result almost a week early. Wilson, in her vitriol was blinded to facts, logic and even the outright call by King.

So now the question is: Did she make some calls and get something this time, or is she doing what she does as a lazy "opinionist" once more by just making stuff up?

And we all know about opinions - everybody's got one.
At the end of the day she really is just a gossip columnist. Her rhetoric is full of "I believe", "I'm hearing", She never apears in person at major press conferences. Just sits at home/office and stews up the next conspiracy.

After last week's effort does she need to start her AFL reports with the phrase, "Once Upon A Time..."?

Obviously BA has less football experience than most people but that doesn't mean there will be better CEOs around.

There might be - Brady might be low balling players like McKay on BAs instruction for example. That would be a good reason to move him on imo. But I don't know that and I've seen no evidence for it.

What we will need from our CEO (and everyone else around Clarko) is someone who can stand up to Clarko. Even Clarko himself thinks that. Amarfio's suitability for the role has to be in relation to that.

I don't think we need to review every senior position in the club after the last two years. What else did people expect would happen after 2020? Even with a better coach than Noble we were still gonna be in the bottom four to six sides this year and most likely around the bottom. If Walsh's review doesn't identify issues with Amarfio's relationship with the footy department that mean we need a different CEO then why change him?

What's your basis for finding a better CEO? Rebuilds are s**t? Why are we assuming he isn't the best person for the job?
Clarko is the first step in the process to rebuild the entire club.

Yes we are in rebuild stage but nothing we saw on the field this year was consistent with a club undergoing a managed, progressive rebuild - it was far more than a blip in the road.

We were shambolic in all areas of the FD part of the organisation - and ultimately that is the crucial part of a football club - and the CEO needed to be ahead of these developments.

I see there is news leaked today of Peter Jackson maybe coming on board - or even Walshy himself coming back for a period.

Both those names make sense to me - we have an enormous amount to get right and Clarko himself would have insisted on someone with that level of experience to enter the scene - even for a short term (say 2-3 years) to get us back on track. It may not be those specific people but its certainly that level experience that is required.

Btw the AFL will also seek this type of change as part of any PP package we get off them.

Correct, he didn't call anyone out personally. He made a blanket statement that suggested that past and future criticisms of BA have a hint of racism attached. You can paint however you like but everyone read it's why several people called it out.
The people who called it out are sooks who get triggered if there is a chance someone gets called for racism, this includes you. Your default position is it doesn't exist and people are making it up and nothing sways you from that.

Chad challenged people - anyone, no-one specific - on criticism of Amarfio. Some people responded with their reasons and the debate went from there. See that's debate and involves mature people responding to the question. Some of the criticism of him is clearly bullshit imo. I don't agree he's done a poor job. I don't think its his role to manage the footy department, just to judge their results and provide what they need.

Sonja did sidestep the Q to guarantee his role on SEN yesterday.
Maybe she thinks its a bullshit question that's she has answered repeatedly and ignored it. She's already done that hasn't she? At another presser at some point. I'm not saying its the case but I'd understand if she got sick of repsonding to questions she's already answered. its a way of short circuiting media driven agendas.

I've got no issue taking Caro at face value with this. She tends to print news with some validity, her Clarkson to Essendon thing was a Footy Classified exclusive IIRC, those are generally just opinion for TV clicks (on a remote control).
She wouldn't make this up because it is not clickbait - a 60 odd year old that 95% of supporters have never heard of becoming the CEO of the back to back wooden spooner...

Is there anything less relevant in the AFL right now?

The issue is what type of role Jackson or Walsh (or someone of that ilk) take from here at the club and for what period of time.

It wouldn't surprise me if the Pres has given this to Caro to build a bridge so to speak.

Smart move if she has.

List Mgmt. Ben Amarfio - has resigned as our CEO - Thank you Ben