Recommitted Ben McKay [re-signed until 2023]

Honestly thought he was a spud but north have developed him well hopefully he stays

Dogs balls deep into him though could be hard to pass up being the potential missing piece in a contender
North now openly courting Ed Richards.
An obvious trade negotiation starting point emerges.

Brisbane also chasing Ed Richards, and we asked about Payne last year too.

Surely resigns soon but until then this thread is open season.
Would be a huge loss for the club if he goes; especially after holding onto him for so long without many games to his name.

named in the bests 4 times in 2019 (VFL) is a million miles off the pace, doesn't mean he cannot get there, but is unlikely. Spent four full seasons on the list and is contracted until 21.

Reckon he might want out , just quietly.

This post wasn't wrong at the time, I shared this view.

I don't know what Rhyce Shaw did with Ben, but it will be his lasting legacy at the club.

Wonder if he would be interested in leaving Melbourne? He's exactly what the Sun's need, a strong lockdown defender to free up Collins.

What sort of pick would it take?

A top 5 pick.

Jon Ralph has him re-signing soon, not like we're short of salary cap to pay him.

1620945064003.png

Doubt it..
You going to offer him $1.6m - $1.8m a year?

Carlton also look after their players in retirement...
What are North going to offer in life after footy?

North do this same PSD dance every year..
Claiming a big fish, but have never been close to even landing one..

He could go and run the AFL or soccer?

Yep it was wrong and isn't that wonderful. Who'd have wanted it to be right? I'm very happy to be wrong, unlike some around here :)

Yep, he really did not look like he was gunna make it then.

As I said, I don't know what Rhyce said to him, but it worked.

No surprise for mine the blokes that had undoubted ability but hadn't delivered on it who came good in Rhyce's short reign were defenders like Ben and Lukey McDonald.

Yep, he really did not look like he was gunna make it then.

As I said, I don't know what Rhyce said to him, but it worked.

No surprise for mine the blokes that had undoubted ability but hadn't delivered on it who came good in Rhyce's short reign were defenders like Ben and Lukey McDonald.

I agree, Rhyce certainly did some great work in a short period of time. Also I had a quick look on 'footywire' and gee we've had a lot of players have career best stats at some point this season. That while not equating to victories is certainly a great sign for the future.

Wonder if he would be interested in leaving Melbourne? He's exactly what the Sun's need, a strong lockdown defender to free up Collins.

Considering he is by far our most promising young KPP, we'd be demanding way overs.

Appears to be getting the healthy pay rise he deserves.

I agree, Rhyce certainly did some great work in a short period of time. Also I had a quick look on 'footywire' and gee we've had a lot of players have career best stats at some point this season. That while not equating to victories is certainly a great sign for the future.

Can't wait to see Ben alongside Tarrant, McDonald and Corr.

Current value, something in the early to mid 2nd round if I am being honest. If he continues on his trajectory, he’ll be worth a lot more, especially considering he’s still fairly young.

Suns would probably pay overs pick-wise. Desperately need talls, at both ends.

Won't be able to match salary though.
You'd imagine North would front-load too and look at FAs from next year. I suspect on-field they become a more attractive destination than clubs like Hawks and Collingwood very soon.

Current value, something in the early to mid 2nd round if I am being honest. If he continues on his trajectory, he’ll be worth a lot more, especially considering he’s still fairly young.

Mate, if we put him up at that price right now every club in the league would bite our hand off.

Matt Rendell was saying yesterday he'd be in All Australian discussions.

23 year old KPD being spoken about like that?

Any pick trade for Ben would be in single digits.

Mate, if we put him up at that price right every club in the league would bite our hand off.

Matt Rendell was saying yesterday he'd be in All Australian discussions.

21 year old KPD being spoken about like that?

Any pick trade for Ben would be in single digits.
Matt Rendell is a bit ‘eccentric’ though. I have no doubts his value would be in single digits by year’s end. I was stating his current neutral value. We would demand a first as slight overs if a trade happened right now.

Even right now, the arc he's on the traits he's showing.

Ability to lock down AND intercept is rare.

Is kind of immaterial though.

Recommitted Ben McKay [re-signed until 2023]