• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Bendigo FL Thread 2010

Its not as if BO are actually calling the game of AFL is it?? Fresh also have AFL broadcasts across the weekend, to me it just seems to be a pattern forming that is rather apparent. :rolleyes:
For the other question, 93.5 fm and 101.5 fm for both games again this weekend...:thumbsu:

Whether they are calling the game itself or not isnt the issue. I dare say if they pulled the AFL coverage for a game of local footy the phones would melt with listeners complaining and angry they were unable to tune into hear the fortunes of their AFL side.

Yes passionate local club's fans would want to listen in to their side if they cant get to the game, but youd imagine they would be in the minority. So yeah BO's syndicated 3AW call's vs the Freshs "Local/AFL" coverage....not quite the same thing Id imagine! But thats why they all compliment each other, its all about choice right....:rolleyes:

Speaking of the weekends games....What are everyones thoughts on ANZAC night footy?
For mine it works this year being a Sunday (and most get the Monday off anyway) but should the day itself be left exclusively to the AFL, and even further than that the Pies and the Dons??
Its interesting to see how far we've come from the days when footy on Good Friday/ANZAC Day was considered a no-no...I for one think the change is great!

Also where have you been for the last 5 years when Kyneton have been disgusting?? You sign up this year because you thought you would be good?? Your the front running coward - and for those who hope for Paws of Poo to win - your hopes and prays should be that they are competitive:

Gissy - 26.19 - 175
Paws - 6.14 - 50

Gissy - 27.16 - 178
Paws - 5.4 -34

Oh there you are kings army! thought you have gone in to hibernation considering gisborne is sitting on the bottom of the ladder, be ready for a hiding this week!

Also where have you been for the last 5 years when Kyneton have been disgusting?? You sign up this year because you thought you would be good?? Your the front running coward - and for those who hope for Paws of Poo to win - your hopes and prays should be that they are competitive:

Gissy - 26.19 - 175
Paws - 6.14 - 50

Gissy - 27.16 - 178
Paws - 5.4 -34

While we are on the subject of posting good old fashioned country footy hidings, lets not leave out these - give up without a fight games -

Square.................... - 31. 12. 198
Soft cox Frontrunners - 6. 2. 38

South..................... - 18. 22. 130
Soft cox Frontrunners - 6. 7. 43

Square.................... - 19. 21. 135
Soft cox Frontrunners - 3. 9. 27

Flat........................ - 17. 21. 114
Soft cox Frontrunners - 7. 15. 57

Although these laydown guttless performances did come after the club ran out of coin. And stopped paying the trainers, 2s players and the winners of the clubs last man standing raffle. So I suppose team moral must have been at an all time low.

anyone know when the interleague team/squad will be out ?? who will get the ff/chf spots? condos/weeks/maddern

also others onabllers?? backs ?? forwards

wouldnt be the easiest job picking this year with a number of quality players via for each others spots??

B childs bristow Bowles
HB holmes robbins lloyd
C l.coghlan bowe coates
HF A. connaughton gretrix herdman
F condos maddern weeeks
R Mcmeekin bell anderson
I ollie mcervale bairds thomson Matt KB, L turner, stroobants

hard to pick plenty more could take spots to

BTW anyone at MB tell me why Bilton has been in the 2's?

Not a bad front 6. good luck to any side finding back man to stop those players... not being a biased kyneton supporter but id have liam turner in front of aaron connaughton, beside that very good effort in picking the side

oh and luke saunders would have to be worthy of a selection as well i reckon

Whether they are calling the game itself or not isnt the issue. I dare say if they pulled the AFL coverage for a game of local footy the phones would melt with listeners complaining and angry they were unable to tune into hear the fortunes of their AFL side.

Yes passionate local club's fans would want to listen in to their side if they cant get to the game, but youd imagine they would be in the minority. So yeah BO's syndicated 3AW call's vs the Freshs "Local/AFL" coverage....not quite the same thing Id imagine! But thats why they all compliment each other, its all about choice right....:rolleyes:

Speaking of the weekends games....What are everyones thoughts on ANZAC night footy?
For mine it works this year being a Sunday (and most get the Monday off anyway) but should the day itself be left exclusively to the AFL, and even further than that the Pies and the Dons??
Its interesting to see how far we've come from the days when footy on Good Friday/ANZAC Day was considered a no-no...I for one think the change is great!

Hmmm, some of your terms are getting familiar BG...
I think both teams do a great job, my point was I would love to see BO do a game thats not already being covered, they had their chance to demonstrate a commitment to local footy and they blew it.
Now, its the same this week, they will do the games each night, fantastic, but again two stations covering them and your argument that its due to AFL commitment re the Maryborough game is sorely undermined.. because theyll back up and do these games...:rolleyes:

No shannon geary?

Hmmm, some of your terms are getting familiar BG...
I think both teams do a great job, my point was I would love to see BO do a game thats not already being covered, they had their chance to demonstrate a commitment to local footy and they blew it.
Now, its the same this week, they will do the games each night, fantastic, but again two stations covering them and your argument that its due to AFL commitment re the Maryborough game is sorely undermined.. because theyll back up and do these games...:rolleyes:

Alledged lack of commitment vs credibility....probably balances it out mate :rolleyes:

Getting off the pointless debate over who's calling what and where, and looking at Round 4, its probably not likely to be seen as a "Match of the Round"...but Castlemaine v Strath this week will be one to watch, as based on early season form you might assume that this will be one of few opportunities for both sides to register a win for quite some time.

Storm look to have really dropped away, second year blues perhaps...while Castlemaine havent inspired either. At home theyd be favourites, but only just.

Y won't big bad jimmy condos play against gizzy this week Hustle??
He got 12 last week and is the top goalkicker in country vic on 25 snags according to countryfootyscores.com
surely he wasn't one of the contracted players given a blast in the tiger rooms and then again in the social rooms durng the after the game drinkathon??
herd from mexican mates there was a fair bit of languge about how the tiges blew the lead and allowed the flat to get to the front

anyone know when the interleague team/squad will be out ?? who will get the ff/chf spots? condos/weeks/maddern

BTW anyone at MB tell me why Bilton has been in the 2's?

Bilton had hip surgery in the off season and is just coming back only played a half on the weekend but was cruising and had plenty of it considering he had an interrupted pre season

Tips and Previews for Round 4

M'borough V Eaglehawk - 16
Tipping against the majority here. Eaglehawk was even with Sandhurst for the first three qtrs and the final margin flattered them when you think Hurst were missing some key players, missed a heap of easy shots on goal and poor disposal was rife. Maryborough have proven to be a tough, hard team without many noted stars. That changed this week with 6 Pies getting named in the Interleague squad. The return of so many good players to Eaglehawk makes it hard to tip against them, but I have a feeling Maryborough match up against them very well and play better at home, as we saw last year when the Pies won by 61 points. Should be a great match.

Gisborne v Kyneton - 36
oh yes, been waiting for this all week! Condos is named at FF with Redpath and Page coming in which says to me that the club has placed a huge emphasis on this week's game... more than others! Expect a few Tiger fans to make the short trip to Gisborne, and no, no tip-toeing into Gardiner Reserve.... expect them to arrive and depart "Beverly Hillbilly-style"... *banjo music* ...yeee-haw!! Seriously though, don't see Gisborne having the cattle to stay with the Tigers for 4 qtrs.

Castlemaine v S'saye – 22
This will be another evenly matched game which won't exactly produce shiny football, but should be a good one for supporters to get to for a chance to see their boys get a win. The Storm's midfield have been servicable while Castlemaine showed they can play good footy keeping up with Square, if only for a short period, last week. Pies at home is the only reason I'm going with them.

Sandhurst v Golden Square - 27
On Saturday night at the QEO, it should be the match of the round, but with Mark Fitzgerald, Simon Weekley and Mal Borchard missing, it takes the polish off a bit as it makes it a lot harder for the Dragons. Hammond returns to add more class to the Dogs' half back line and a key dual will be Weeks against determined rising star, Jack Kennedy in what will be his 50th senior match. The stronger bodies of Holmes and Deuscher will be more of a challenge for Bell and Lloyd this week and I think this game will be close for three quarters, perhaps more. Overall, too much class missing from Sandhurst. A champion team will beat a team of champions. A champion team full of champions take all before them. Simple.

Kangaroo Flat v South Bendigo - 15
Another good game for supporters to get to which will be played on Sunday night at Dower Park. Interesting to see Maddern named on a wing, which means Collins might want Maddern's experience and class in the thick of the action from the start rather than 'hoping' they can get it down to him at FF. I don't think he will stay on the wing for long and the bigger bodies of South will prevail. Dayne Frew needs to string two good games together for his confidence, being the confidence player he is. If he misses his first shot at goal, well... he might crumble. But if he kicks it, watch out. The Roos have lost Hehir and Curtain during the first 3 games to the HDFL and that experience down back will cost them during 2010.

Tips and Previews for Round 4

M'borough V Eaglehawk - 16
Tipping against the majority here. Eaglehawk was even with Sandhurst for the first three qtrs and the final margin flattered them when you think Hurst were missing some key players, missed a heap of easy shots on goal and poor disposal was rife. Maryborough have proven to be a tough, hard team without many noted stars. That changed this week with 6 Pies getting named in the Interleague squad. The return of so many good players to Eaglehawk makes it hard to tip against them, but I have a feeling Maryborough match up against them very well and play better at home, as we saw last year when the Pies won by 61 points. Should be a great match.

Gisborne v Kyneton - 36
oh yes, been waiting for this all week! Condos is named at FF with Redpath and Page coming in which says to me that the club has placed a huge emphasis on this week's game... more than others! Expect a few Tiger fans to make the short trip to Gisborne, and no, no tip-toeing into Gardiner Reserve.... expect them to arrive and depart "Beverly Hillbilly-style"... *banjo music* ...yeee-haw!! Seriously though, don't see Gisborne having the cattle to stay with the Tigers for 4 qtrs.

Castlemaine v S'saye – 22
This will be another evenly matched game which won't exactly produce shiny football, but should be a good one for supporters to get to for a chance to see their boys get a win. The Storm's midfield have been servicable while Castlemaine showed they can play good footy keeping up with Square, if only for a short period, last week. Pies at home is the only reason I'm going with them.

Sandhurst v Golden Square - 27
On Saturday night at the QEO, it should be the match of the round, but with Mark Fitzgerald, Simon Weekley and Mal Borchard missing, it takes the polish off a bit as it makes it a lot harder for the Dragons. Hammond returns to add more class to the Dogs' half back line and a key dual will be Weeks against determined rising star, Jack Kennedy in what will be his 50th senior match. The stronger bodies of Holmes and Deuscher will be more of a challenge for Bell and Lloyd this week and I think this game will be close for three quarters, perhaps more. Overall, too much class missing from Sandhurst. A champion team will beat a team of champions. A champion team full of champions take all before them. Simple.

Kangaroo Flat v South Bendigo - 15
Another good game for supporters to get to which will be played on Sunday night at Dower Park. Interesting to see Maddern named on a wing, which means Collins might want Maddern's experience and class in the thick of the action from the start rather than 'hoping' they can get it down to him at FF. I don't think he will stay on the wing for long and the bigger bodies of South will prevail. Dayne Frew needs to string two good games together for his confidence, being the confidence player he is. If he misses his first shot at goal, well... he might crumble. But if he kicks it, watch out. The Roos have lost Hehir and Curtain during the first 3 games to the HDFL and that experience down back will cost them during 2010.

great stuff again doc. would think it would be a mighty effort by your boys to get within five goals of golden square though, but here's hoping for a good game

Bryce Scott to make his debut for Sandhurst. How does he go?

Goes very well does Bryce. Hard at it and skillful player who can do they freakish on occassion. Great young fella as well. Played most of his footy up in the Central Murray and would have played in the same side as Simon Weekly at Tyntynder I reckon

Spot on Roota. Bryce is a great kid, played some good games in the 2's and deserves his place tonight. Will try and cover for the loss of James Walsh

great stuff again doc. would think it would be a mighty effort by your boys to get within five goals of golden square though, but here's hoping for a good game

Bitterly, bitterly disappointed we did not win, had their measure for 3 and half qtrs (as I predicted). But the lack of height down back / polish up forward meant they ran over the top of us (as I predicted). Haven't got any other tips correct however :)

Final Margin - 5 goals Goat - and they all came in the last 10 min. I saw you at the Hurst huddle, so no need to tell you how good the Dragons will be this year with a full list on the park. Fitzgerald, Borchard, Weekley, Walsh, Wilkinson to come in.... Meade, R Thornton, Reudin, Dickins, C Prest in the Reserves.

It was a great game. Our poor kicking at goal (5 O.O.B. and 4 not making the distance) cost us. Rosa and Bell to come in for Square, C Carter out - their depth is amazing :eek: