Biased/incompetent media coverage

Interesting read. Don't agree with all of it and think the error rate of 2.2 per game from 400 decisions is being kind

It is frustrating that decisions like the Puopolo one, which was clearly wrong, they don't just say was incorrect but instead try to justify it. He should have been called for htb well before McKay ended up on his back

Yeah, I don't agree with all of it either but the general thrust of it I do. The umpires review of decisions rarely comes out and says there was a mistake, even when there was a clear one. It would give them more credibility if they said, "yeah that wasn't the best decision there" a bit more often.

Its the lack of accountability that frustrates me about the Umpires. Players/coaches get smashed for a poor game, yet the Umps can literally decide an outcome with their poor judgement and absolutely no backlash for the individual because they are such a protected species.
What are you talking about they are getting backlash every week, often incorrectly.

The truth of the matter is that by the written rules there are over 100 mistakes made in every game by the umpires. They sidestep these by the 'interpretation' factor amongst others but the truth is there are whole hosts of umpiring mistakes in each game including ones where they literally make a rule up on the spot.

Its the lack of accountability that frustrates me about the Umpires. Players/coaches get smashed for a poor game, yet the Umps can literally decide an outcome with their poor judgement and absolutely no backlash for the individual because they are such a protected species.
Disagree with this.

The umpires get lots of feedback directly and indirectly and if they don't perform they don't survive.

What are you talking about they are getting backlash every week, often incorrectly.

No, the Umpire's department comes out and makes up ludicrous attempts at justifying decisions that are just plain poor.

The commentators and coaches all tip toe around it, for fear of AFL house sanctions should they ever call out their precious Umps.

It's not entirely their fault, obviously the Rules Committee has as much if not more to answer for, with the garbage changes they keep making, but still there seems to be a massive disconnect between them, and how the game actually flows.

Interesting read. Don't agree with all of it and think the error rate of 2.2 per game from 400 decisions is being kind

There's definitely instances where umpires are effectively thrown under the bus because they interpret bad rules correctly - the mills deliberate being a good example. As the rule is written that was a free kick so the umpire is right, whether we as fans want that as a free kick is a separate issue

It is frustrating that decisions like the Puopolo one, which was clearly wrong, they don't just say was incorrect but instead try to justify it. He should have been called for htb well before McKay ended up on his back

Finally the point he makes about teams conceding more free kicks because they can be more aggressive is a good one and is part of the explanation for our free kick count. I don't think you'd find anybody that would characterise the Eagles as an aggressive side, in fact we are often criticised for being the opposite

But yeah, you know lets just look at the free kick count and make no attempt to investigate why it's different

The thing that shat me about 360 the other night was Robbo actually said "interstate sides would bring up that there's a similar free kick differential when they play here (meaning Victoria)" and then he went on from there, completely ignoring that side of the argument and embellishing this bullshit that we have an unfair advantage. They're clowns really..

No, the Umpire's department comes out and makes up ludicrous attempts at justifying decisions that are just plain poor.

The commentators and coaches all tip toe around it, for fear of AFL house sanctions should they ever call out their precious Umps.

It's not entirely their fault, obviously the Rules Committee has as much if not more to answer for, with the garbage changes they keep making, but still there seems to be a massive disconnect between them, and how the game actually flows.
What? What are you expecting exactly in terms of calling them out? Multiple journalists were talking about the Free Kick count, there was a whole panel discussion on 360 about crowd noise effecting the umpires, Paul Roos declared one decision "The worst umpiring decision I've ever seen" and as Bannister mentioned, afl.com have an entire segment dedicated to pointing out mistakes, which are often incorrect.

The thing that shat me about 360 the other night was Robbo actually said "interstate sides would bring up that there's a similar free kick differential when they play here (meaning Victoria)" and then he went on from there, completely ignoring that side of the argument and embellishing this bullshit that we have an unfair advantage. They're clowns really..
The fact that Mark Robinson is the chief football writer at the herald sun and cohost of foxtels flagship football program says all you need to know about the dearth of talent in the football media

He's a rambling idiot that can't hold a coherent thought for longer than 30 seconds and mauls the English language whether it be written or spoken

I don't fully agree. A couple of points:

• Umpires are coached/instructed to apply a particular interpretation and are judged in detail against these instructions. There is heavy scrutiny of their performance by the umpiring department. This isn't as absolutely written and probably never has been. This interpretation evolves as does the game. The umpires department justifies decisions based on the current interpretation.
  • Commentators have a very poor understanding of the laws of the game and make misleading and inflammatory statements that upset fans.
  • Mist spectators have no idea what the laws or current interpretations really are..
  • Coaches and players don't have a great level of knowledge and are often emotionally charged when commenting

I have no idea why the above situation exists but it has for all of living memory. I think the AFL modifies interpretations to improve entertainment not the rigor of the contest.

The fact that Mark Robinson is the chief football writer at the herald sun and cohost of foxtels flagship football program says all you need to know about the dearth of talent in the football media

He's a rambling idiot that can't hold a coherent thought for longer than 30 seconds and mauls the English language whether it be written or spoken
He's quite popular which is why he holds down multiple roles. As do many other footy analysts, which leads to a very narrow media opion. One of the blokes from footy prophet wrote about it: http://footyprophet.com/getting-football-media-coverage-deserve/

Power to these guys for developing their ‘brands’ but the danger of this is that you end up with an ‘elite’ clique, who all end up debating issues that may matter to them, but that focus is not mirrored in the wider football public.

The only way you get around it is if they lose popularity, like Malcolm Blight, who barely graces the TV and radio these days.

I don't fully agree. A couple of points:

• Umpires are coached/instructed to apply a particular interpretation and are judged in detail against these instructions. There is heavy scrutiny of their performance by the umpiring department. This isn't as absolutely written and probably never has been. This interpretation evolves as does the game. The umpires department justifies decisions based on the current interpretation.
  • Commentators have a very poor understanding of the laws of the game and make misleading and inflammatory statements that upset fans.
  • Mist spectators have no idea what the laws or current interpretations really are..
  • Coaches and players don't have a great level of knowledge and are often emotionally charged when commenting

I have no idea why the above situation exists but it has for all of living memory. I think the AFL modifies interpretations to improve entertainment not the rigor of the contest.

Well said. Add to that, the game actually needs umpires at all levels. Who, in their right mind, would want to dedicate their weekends to officiating 7th grade amateurs for bugger all money, only to be screamed at by ignorant bogans?

As annoying as they are, umpires have to be treated with a degree of respect, at the highest level, so umpire bashing is minimised at lower levels.

We travel to the other side of the country every second week during the season.
Eastern state sides travel to the other side of the country once a season or twice if they are desperately disliked by the AFL.
If we do happen to get a slightly favourable umpiring decision hare and there at home SFW.

All we are hearing ATM from vic/afl media is how crap Freo are, Fyfe will be coming east next year, Eagles cheat bcoz umps love them, how good is Sammy.
I haven't watched one full AFL media programme yet this year and I used to record and/or watch everything.

What? What are you expecting exactly in terms of calling them out? Multiple journalists were talking about the Free Kick count, there was a whole panel discussion on 360 about crowd noise effecting the umpires, Paul Roos declared one decision "The worst umpiring decision I've ever seen" and as Bannister mentioned, afl.com have an entire segment dedicated to pointing out mistakes, which are often incorrect.

Fair enough, perhaps I'm just seeking a target to direct my ire at, I find the game to be a pretty average product in recent years and don't enjoy it anything like I used to.

He's quite popular which is why he holds down multiple roles. As do many other footy analysts, which leads to a very narrow media opion. One of the blokes from footy prophet wrote about it: http://footyprophet.com/getting-football-media-coverage-deserve/

The only way you get around it is if they lose popularity, like Malcolm Blight, who barely graces the TV and radio these days.

I don't necessarily agree that guys like Robbo are popular - I think shows like 360 succeed because there's an appetite for football programs regardless of who is on them and there's no real competition

Blight probably lost popularity with producers because he wouldn't perform like a circus monkey for them rather than any issues viewers had

Footy media is a giant boys club and massively vic-centric which means Subiaco free kick bias gets a run because it plays to their primary audience

They can get ****ed

I don't necessarily agree that guys like Robbo are popular
His radio and TV spots maintain enough ratings to keep him employed by SEN and Fox Footy, which suggests a modicum of popularity, at least with his employers. The HUN presumably has readership markers of it's own, so as long as the number stay up for all three, Robbo gets to espouse whatever he thinks is important content.

Footy media is a giant boys club and massively vic-centric which means Subiaco free kick bias gets a run because it plays to their primary audience

Speaking of Robbo again, 2 of his 3 roles are solely for a Melbourne based audience. Which is why the content of both seeps into the third (Fox Footy). So...

CW61HC9.jpg

But what else are you gonn do? Watch that WA based crap that ends up on air at midnight?

Keys goes whack!

His radio and TV spots maintain enough ratings to keep him employed by SEN and Fox Footy

Going by this logic, Kim Hagdorn is also popular (to the point that Fairfax actually wrote an entire article about how pleased they were to poach him from News Corp when he switched sides before last season), despite rather conclusive evidence to the contrary.

this umpiring bias shit is getting on my nerves.
It's good to see that abc article and the jordan bannister umpire somewhat explain it properly. We're not a tackling team thus we are less likely to commit infringements.
It's funny that in the NFL they are hard on teams for committing too many penalties saying how stupid that team is and how it's costing them games. Why don't they do that here? Instead we blame the umpire and a crowd. Any stadium that has a vocal loud crowd should bee applauded.

What's actually the problem with the NBN? I've heard a few people complaining about it but it isn't available just yet in my area, I can't see how it wouldn't be a massive improvement on the complete garbage service that I have now masquerading as a 1st world internet service.
The original NBN was to be a 100Mbps fibre connection to every urban household and business and a upgraded wireless connection in the rural areas.
The Libs along with NBN Co came up with this great idea of cutting corners to get the NBN to more people sooner and to save a few billion dollarydoos.

So now the urban households of data hungry families and potential world class businesses will have a 100Mbps fibre connection connected to an existing network of slower inferior copper or coaxial cables which will slow the 100Mbps line speed down to anything as low as the current ADSL2 speeds obtained over copper wires, which depending on your distance from the exchange can be as low as 3-5Mbps.

If you were lucky enough to have the NBN rolled out in your street before the changeover you will have had a little grey box installed on the front of your house which delivers the 100Mbps fibre straight to your house.
After upgrades in a few years anything up to 1Gbps speeds would be achievable but likely never offered by mainstream ISPs.

It's a bloody mess but the Government will finally have egg on their face in a few short years and only months after the last poor prick is connected to the NBN, when in 2020 the 5G network goes live for the Toyko olympics.
Shortly afterwards it will be rolled out across the western world and will offer speeds of up to 10Gbps.
100 times quicker than the quickest speed the NBN will offer and completely wireless.
Makes the NBN the biggest waste of money of any Australian government for a while one would imagine.

I've had optic fibre for the last 8 odd years.

Watching everyone lose their minds over the NBN is hilarious :tongueclosed:
Bastard!

I'm on HFC and get 30Mbps so I'm sweet.
NBN rolled out last month in our street.
So far every prick that has rang me have been told to GTFO :thumbsu:

Going by this logic, Kim Hagdorn is also popular (to the point that Fairfax actually wrote an entire article about how pleased they were to poach him from News Corp when he switched sides before last season), despite rather conclusive evidence to the contrary.
To be honest, I don't mind Haggers. But that's because he talks well, and I enjoy listening to footy talk that doesn't sound like it's coming from some of the 80IQ listeners of 6PR.

"Yeaahhhhhh Karl, listen, that Luke Shuey, he's no good, no good mate, keeps ducking, gotta get rid of him, and bring up that McGinnity fellow"

The original NBN was to be a 100Mbps fibre connection to every urban household and business and a upgraded wireless connection in the rural areas.
The Libs along with NBN Co came up with this great idea of cutting corners to get the NBN to more people sooner and to save a few billion dollarydoos.
The problem is the corner cutting has achieved neither. The project is further behind schedule and more exspensive than the original model which was running on time for completion until the change of government.