Big Footy Grand Final celebrations plans - join the victory march!!

Re: Grand Final Function - if no tickets

Ill be at the pub we all meet up at not a member and don't think i will be getting a ticket.

So those of you who aren't members and not going to the game where are you drinking, i like the sound of that being the place we all eventually meet at.

I would make some suggestions but i don't know Melbourne city that well.

Great idea bloben defiantly should happen

The Hilton as an initial gathering point post game works, as it's obviously close to the G, but if we, the Bigfooty group, want to gather outside so as not to be confused with the rest of massing hoardes, we can do so across the street in the Fitzroy gardens.

The meet up, of course, will be made much easier the more people we have that decide to dress in suits - A congregation of men in suits will be slightly easier to spot.

I won't be wearing a suite as a I'm attending the match, but you'll be able to spot me as I'll be wearing Black and White stripes and a ridiculous grin.:D

I think I'm just going to follow the trail of Black & white after the game.

If anyone wants to know who I am, I'll be the bloke in the Pies jumper !

In an unfortunate twist of events I think I may not end up with the ticket I thought I had which sucks.

That said it gave me an idea. Maybe we should try to find a pub that is close to the ground. This way we could go from said pub to the meeting place and meet up with the guys at the ground. From there we could do the victory march / walk / stumble to the final point.

I will be with a bunch of friends at a pub in Richmond called "the Mountain View" (unless I can wing a ticket somehow... still trying) It is on Bridge Rd but close to Punt Rd

http://www.mtviewhotel.com.au/index.html

All tables have been booked however have 4 levels with TV screens and couches. I'll be getting there early.

If anyone else is going there let me know

Well all my friends have decided to go to random BBQs, of which I don't wish to intend.

I want to drink with Collingwood people.

Are we any closer to choosing a venue to watch the game/meeting point?

Time someone nominates a venue to meet after the match.

Just a quick walk from the "G" is the Mantra on Jolimont. There is a small bar downstairs? It's uber close and we could meet and go on to the CBD from there. The short walk to the city a good chance to get some breath before the (possibly) celebratory tsunami to follow.

I'm staying at the Mantra this weekend. If I see a big crowd of Pies supporters running amok, I'm joining in.

In an unfortunate twist of events I think I may not end up with the ticket I thought I had which sucks.

That said it gave me an idea. Maybe we should try to find a pub that is close to the ground. This way we could go from said pub to the meeting place and meet up with the guys at the ground. From there we could do the victory march / walk / stumble to the final point.

It seems to me we need:

1) A place for those to gather and watch the game who didn't end up with tickets.
2) A place to meet up with those that were at the game to begin the victory march. This could be the same as above to make it easier?
3) A destination(s) for our victory march.

We can't do any of this unless people come in here and post their plans and thoughts on this. We need everyones input.

Things like - What pubs are suitable? Who/how many are meeting up beforehand? Who is meeting up after the Grand Final? What are we doing and where are we heading after meeting up at the meeting point?

Has anyone been to the Cricketer's arms to watch a game?

Sorry mate I havn't. How'd you go with the other places you rang today? Maybe just post the different candidates that you've thought about see what everyone else thinks.

So the Lion has a big screen, people will be allowed into the venue after the game wearing club guernsy's and colours and no bookings are required. It's a pretty big venue and I have watched soccer world cup finals etc there before. I am pretty happy to end up there as it is also a really easy to get to venue it's just on level 3 of melbourne centeral station.

I am torn I really still want to be able to do the victory march after the game to the final venue but I am having trouble finding a venue close to the ground that isn't booked out / has a good set up.

I met a lady about 8 years ago who has a slight allegiance to Richmond yet not really into football. After a few years of watching me watching footy she started to get more emotionally involved with the game. Then one day she announced she would be a Collingwood supporter... so I married her.

Last year she had a 3 game membership, this year an AFL membership and is getting much better and recognising names from jumper numbers.

She has just been given a solitary ticket to a corporate box with 3 course meal and drinks included. Bitch!

So I will be ball and chain free at the Mountain View Hotel on Bridge Rd for those that want to attend. Is a 5 minute walk to the 'G and is a much better pub for watching games than the Cricketer's Arms ST. I won't be able to change plans as a bunch of friends are coming too but most are non-Collingwood so the more that come the merrier.

Place opens at 11am. I'll be there then.

So the Lion has a big screen, people will be allowed into the venue after the game wearing club guernsy's and colours and no bookings are required. It's a pretty big venue and I have watched soccer world cup finals etc there before. I am pretty happy to end up there as it is also a really easy to get to venue it's just on level 3 of melbourne centeral station. Aker will also be at the Lion that night so it's a good chance to get your boo on.

I am torn I really still want to be able to do the victory march after the game to the final venue but I am having trouble finding a venue close to the ground that isn't booked out / has a good set up.

So fair the mountain veiw which is close. When I called and asked I was told "That there will be some standing room"

The cricketer's arms isn't answering their phone.

The Precint hotel Richmond is another that could be a possibility but it has a reputation (on saturday nights) for being picky, long lines etc and if that's the case on grand final day I wouldn't want to risk it. Having just spoke to the guy at the precinct they have it on 5 screens but are opening at 10am and first in best dressed no bookings etc.

Just on another note I like the idea of swapping numbers etc but I don't think it's fair to heap that responsibility on a small group of people either, on top of that I know personally my phone battery doesn't last a day out let alone if there are going to be a group of people messaging and calling consistantly.

Its a shame we can't just take over a pub close to the ground and make it collingwood supporters only, swear eddie said on the hot breakfast this morning that all collingwood supporters would be welcomed at the sidney myer music ball but after ringing the club its a no membership no entry... feels a bit like CQ on a saturday night! did anyone see that fed square AND SMMB are claiming to present the premiers at the same time... poor boys cant be in two places at once. Anyone been to fed square for a GF or is it to mad?

I think Eddie was talking about the Sunday event at the Music Bowl, which is open to anyone, unlike the Saturday night event that is only open to Members.

I'm happy with whatever, so long as it's full of Collingwood supporters and alcohol.

Don't mind standing room either.

The Mountain View sounds ok, as it's close to the G and easy to meet up with the post-match group.

I think it will be hard to find anything that we can book at this stage. My plans and what I'd recommend is to get to a venue early.

Mountain View opens at 11am and if you get there anytime after 2pm I reckon you will struggle. I'll get there at 11 with the hope to bags a couple of couches where the pool tables are upstairs near the screens.

I think if people are worried about wanting to sit and relax then go for the Lion. For those that go to the game we can meet at the Hilton as discussed then keep walking up to the Lion to meet others.

The Mountain View sounds ok, as it's close to the G and easy to meet up with the post-match group.

It is a 5 minute walk to the ground. The gates should open when the game has finished. You may be able to sneak in and see the Cup being raised - hopefully by the Pies.

Honestly, if you are all talking "meeting points" for those not at the game, I would suggest somewhere outside the G, most likely at the Ponsford Stand end where a massive "winners circle" will be about 30 minutes after the game.

It would be a great "atmospheric" start to the evening at least, as having at least 5 thousand pies fans there is always great.

I'm still undecided whether I'll "join the march" yet, as I am going to the game with family, and it will depend on whether they want to go to the Bowl or just go home.

If they go home, I'll be in.

hey i heard eddie mention on triple m this morning that they're doing a breakfast show somehwere... anyone know where it is?

I met a lady about 8 years ago who has a slight allegiance to Richmond yet not really into football. After a few years of watching me watching footy she started to get more emotionally involved with the game. Then one day she announced she would be a Collingwood supporter... so I married her.

Last year she had a 3 game membership, this year an AFL membership and is getting much better and recognising names from jumper numbers.

She has just been given a solitary ticket to a corporate box with 3 course meal and drinks included. Bitch!

So I will be ball and chain free at the Mountain View Hotel on Bridge Rd for those that want to attend. Is a 5 minute walk to the 'G and is a much better pub for watching games than the Cricketer's Arms ST. I won't be able to change plans as a bunch of friends are coming too but most are non-Collingwood so the more that come the merrier.

Place opens at 11am. I'll be there then.

Would she have given you the tik if she could have?????

I don't think I can join in the shenanigans. Himself already thinks I need to see a psychiatrist.:(

I think she would have but I wouldn't really let her anyway. Although I'm very jealous she is really looking forward to it. I'm still hopeful of getting a ticket through IBM!

Is a real shame that we will be snagless Saturday

Shattered!! Won't be the same without you Snagga

Ok so the best I have been able to come up with is to give people these options / suggestions.

Those wanting to be near the G and join the victory march through the city should go to the mountain view and give a hand to ol' mate Bloben. If you are planning on heading there be there early to ensure you get in.

If you end up there and it is full I'd suggest The Cricketer's Arms and The Precinct as venues around the G that will have the game on.

Those not interested in the victory march and you maybe able to get a seat at the final destination which will be The Lion hotel Melbourne Centeral.

All those wanting to do the Victory march meet at Wellington on the park after the victory lap presentation etc. We will meet across the road from the actual venue and wait say 10 minutes before leaving.

We will walk / stumble / crawl all the while being very sexy in our victory strut up to spring st. Those who are not in the city and wanting to join in maybe able to intersect with us at parliament station as we get to the corner of spring and collins. From there we will walk down little lonesdale to the melbourne centeral lion and celebrate.

That would be my rough (and I know they are rough) plans for now. Anyone wanting to have a final input, suggestion, criticism please do so. I also think this should be an event for all supporters and not just bigfooty so if you are a member of another board when the finalized plans go up maybe post them or a link to the final thread.

Big Footy Grand Final celebrations plans - join the victory march!!