gringo2011
Premium Platinum
could also be that Sen Sgt Yabby JEANS was a pretty busy member in 1966.
We are a big Catholic club apparently, they were meant to have a strong presence in the force too. Maybe linked.
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
could also be that Sen Sgt Yabby JEANS was a pretty busy member in 1966.
We'll take membership fees of all of the above without prejudice embracing all denominations Catholics, Muslims, any Buddhists, Jehova's, Jews, Gentiles and even Engineers IF they declare allegiance to the SAINTS ...and may the Force be with us all in 2020 ....To infinity and Beyond......throw in Chewbacca at CHF or CHB for that fact and maybe Ja ja BINGKS...we got his bro just a matter of time and the FAMILY will be reunited...ALL SAINTS day presumably.We are a big Catholic club apparently, they were meant to have a strong presence in the force too. Maybe linked.
No current season stats available
This is a bit like what I imagine Alcoholics Anonymous to be like.....
OK here goes....after migrating to Earth from Saturn in 1961 my Earth family on my father's side were 3rd generation Saints supporters
living in Elwood. My mother's side were Swans supporters - also going back to 1900's living in Albert Park when a wharfie could afford a house there.
My grandmother was a mad StKilda supporter who worked in the Public Bar at the Prince Wales for 50 years - until the early 90's. According to
my family tales this was the club's watering hole for decades when they were at the Junction Oval.
As a kid I grew up in East StKilda. Unfortunately I suffered a fractured skull coming home from school when I was 7 on a tram that was hit by a semitrailer
which went through a red light resulting in me not having really any memories from the 1966 win.
However my family folklore is that after the game - which my grandma and father went to, the players kicked on back at the Prince and some later went
back to my grandma's place in Elwood to kick on some more.....the Doc, Ian Stewart, etc.
The household was awoken early on Sunday morning by Ian Drake banging on the door looking for the Premiership Cup which was apparently in
her lounge room on the couch. The players, pissed, had left it behind !
My brother and I were dragged along to most games from the late sixties. From age about 15 at high school I started going to games with my friends rather
than my family.
I went to Melbourne HS and played junior footy for their Old Boys teams in the amateurs. My father arranged for me to do a pre-season try out for
the StKilda U19's in the summer of 77/78. My dad had still had some contacts at the club as he played a few reserves games in the mid 50's. Pretty sure he played for StKilda Colts at the Peanut farm.
Anyway, after 6 weeks pre-season training twice a week, I played 3 practice matches against other AFL U19 clubs in early 1978. In one of them I kicked the first three goals in the first five minutes of the game, the last being a "Joe the goose" handball to me in the goal square which I proceed to get dragged for for being a "lair" according to Bob Murray who was the coach as I kicked the ball out of the ground. Played in the curtain raiser (on the bench) against a combined Tassie team in the last practice match for the year before the season proper. First and only time I ever played in front of a real crowd. Managed to take a real hanger at half forward in front of the Members stand in the last quarter to the defining roar of the crowd. As I was getting up off the ground someone ran past and gave me a round arm clip for which I got 15 metres and just missed the goal from about 30 metres out on a 45 degree angle. Got a goal about 5 minutes later luckily. In the rooms after that game the señiors were getting ready for their match - Carl, Sidebottom, etc. They looked huge up close to a nervous 16 year old. Needless to say I didn't get onto the main list and went back to the Old Boys a lot fitter and more confident.
In my 20's I was a musician - a sax player and studied at the VCA, did gigs and teaching so stopped playing footy due to concerns about my teeth and hands.
Still followed the Saints heavily at Moorabbin with a few friends under the clock in the outer. Never like the Animal Enclosure, preferring to engage with the opposition fans. Got hit over the head by an old lady's umbrella (Carlton fan) when Lockett kicked his 10th (out of 13) on Steven Silvagni to ice the game against Carlton after the siren in '89.
Went to the 1971, 1976, 1997, 2009 and 2010 GF's. I gave the replay a miss. As a 10 year old I left the 1971 GF halfway through the last quarter and
walked home which seriously freaked out my parents.
My kids sort of follow the Saints but not really. At least they don't go for anyone else. They are just not that into football or sport for that matter.
I now live in South Eastern Queensland having recently retired after 30 years in the Federal Public Service doing stuff I can't talk about legally.
Couldn't afford to buy a place in Victoria after separation and giving the Ex the million dollar house in Melb. Oh well. Fishing up here is good.
Still missing Melbourne heaps.
Fingers crossed for 2022.
* reckon it will take the saints 5-10 years to sort their s**t out and become competitive on and off the field
What happened to this poster? I always valued his stuff. I wonder if Drake Huggins is enjoying the revival under RossHi Austinn. First let me qualify my role. I did the psych.testing and interpretation for Bevo. Mine were recommendations. He always had the final call, except when GT overrode him. I started in 1997, by introducing psych. testimg for the first time to the AFL draft. I went on to do psych. work with the group and coaches under Timmy and MM (very briefly ) and then GT. I also worked closely with John Peake, who I felt was very much unfairly maligned for reasons I'll outline later. I also worked closely with Brian Phelan and PHIL Anstey our HR managers and Waldo, who was our best CEO, but fell out with GT over some extra curricular activities, that I believe have been well documented in the public arena. The stories Brian Phelan and I have about Blighty could still become the subject of a book (if the lawyers let us!).
The start of our problems was the total lack of budget for Bevo. Until the end of GT's tenure it was 70K per year, which largely went on Bevo's salary. There was no organised interstate or suburban network, when many other clubs were spending ten times as much on recruiting. THat Beco did as well as a sole operator was a minor miracle. Unfortunately, we also picked players sight unseen, like PHIL Raymond and Justin Sweeney. Ouch!
The biggest blue in my experience was the non selection of Chris Judd. IMHO, and that of just about everybody else, he was by far the best in his draft. The plan was to take Luke Ball at pick 2 (I believe at GT's strong insistence, a Xavier man, you see) and Judd at 5. This theory was based on the Intel that picks three and four would be used by the WA clubs on Sampi and Polak. You can imagine Bevo's horror when WC, smiling and looking straight at our table, read out Judd's name? Done like a dinner! To make matters worse, we took the mercurial but physically fragile, Xavier Clarke at 5 ahead of a Geelong kid called Jimmy Bartel! We clawed back ground by getting Dal at 13, Goose MaGuire in the 20's and Joey at 37. Not bad overall, but overlooking Judd cost us at least one flag.
2002 was a no brainer in Goddard. Raph Clarke in 2003 was a blue in that he was injury prone as a junior and had undiagnosed epilepsy. He was also one of those kids who was physically imposing at junior level, but others caught up to him. McQualter in 2004 was so-so, although RL was a huge fan, 2005 was unlucky in the Fergus Watts had his career ended by one injury. Nepotism was also a factor. Brooks doing his ACL ruined him, as he lost his ability to leap and therefore his confidence.
2006 is where I recommended we go Riewoldt ahead of Armitage. Overruled. No biggie, because Armo was the type we needed, but Jack had leadership qualities we could use. 2007 it was McEvoy over Rioli. There were concerns over Rioli's psych. Profile, which I tried to assuage, but in fairness they needed a ruckman and Ben was a great candidate. That draft was good as we got the Stuv with a pick in the 40's, pinching him from under the filth's nose. Heheh!
Lynch and Stanley were good picks we couldn't develop and hang on to. So Sainters. Lovett? Say no more. Fiora? Not great, but not our worst in a time we were topping up. My last draft, and Peakey's was 2011. Ross, Newnes and Webster. Given our late picks, not the worst way to go out, but I knew we were handing over to clueless gees. I predicted then the rebuild under Pelchen and TFWF would fail. A couple of pud pullers claim I'm bitter because I was given the arse. Yes, I was given the dcm, but I was off to work for another club and was relocating to Canberra for a four year contract with the APS. I was on the way out the door .
I posted it many times on SS in case you think I'm using 20/20 hindsight. A pair of clowns who had no idea and have proved their incompetence since. They tried to rebuild a list, beginning with three compromised drafts where the GC and GWS got all the cream. What did the smart clubs do? They topped up, used the rookie draft and chose the best available from the leagues. Just look at 2012 and 2014. Two critical drafts for our rebuild that are now complete write offs. Even 2013 is looking wobbly. They stuffed it and JP and I could see it coming a mile away. Bevo's been there all the way as an advisor because he's been there for 35 years and is in semi retirement. What else would he do?
So that's about it , Austinnnn. I took a bit of time to explain and there is more to this, but I wanted the people on the forum to have the real story, not just the slings and arrows of the know nothing, so called itk's. If you have any questions, PM me. I hope I haven't posted anything libellous. Like the rest of us, I love the saints, have dedicated my life to them and even though I was paid for my services, I gave them a pretty heavy discount. Like the rest of us, I just want to see one friggin' premiership!
What happened to this guy?Just came on to update mine but can't find my post.
We just had our own father-son nomination so the St Kilda faithful (and membership) increased by 1 in September. We had girl names agreed but if a boy I was pushing to name him after a Saint, with Jarryn top of my list. Lenny doesnt go with the surname, and theres already a Nick, Jack and Josh in the family. In the end we settled for Brodie.
So whilst I've never been his biggest fan, I'm now hoping Brodie Murdoch works a steady AFL career so I have some highlights and a Wikipedia page to show my son in a few years time!
Welcome to your nightmare friend.I was indoctrinated by my mum as a kid (2005 is the earliest I can remember watching). I used to watch every game on free-to-air every week, was obsessed with statistics and always a nervous wreck watching us play. Because of 'certain events' I got burnt out and didn't watch a lot of footy from 2012-20. Unfortunately I have been sucked back in again and I thought I should make an account after lurking here most of the year.
Inspiring stuffI was born a saints supporter
As of November 9th there's a new Saints supporter - just wish the club had some better gear to dress her in (they need bodysuits with zips, bloody Bonds has stopped making Saints stuff for the moment)