Bluemour Discussion Thread VII (cont. in pt VIII)

I'm disappointed to lose out on Rockliff. Would have liked to see him wearing navy blue in 2018 - he's a seriously good footballer and I think he would have been a great fit for us.

I am far from convinced by Port Adelaide but there's no question they are more advanced than us right now, and the lure of playing finals is a strong one for a 28 year old. Port have built a very strong midfield now so they'll fancy themselves to go deep into September in 2018.

We're at the other end of the ladder and whilst things are certainly looking promising, we've still got a way to go yet. Our sell probably revolved more around culture, building a strong young list & needing mature heads for leadership and guidance. That last bit may not have sat well with him given what happened under his captaincy at the Lions.

Anyway, we put our best foot forward, he's gone elsewhere and I can't begrudge him for that. We'll move on to our other targets.

If we're looking at Tigers that missed the GF, then its Anthony Miles for mine.

I think we can go with Shaun Hampson.
Seems to have a good football brain and the potential to be a great key forward

I think Rockliff selecting Port says a lot about why he would not have suited Carlton.

He wants quick success, he wants to work in a midfield that is already developed. Maccas drive through kind of patience.

In a nutshell = he wants the low hanging fruit and he wants it now.

We have only spent two years rebuilding our list and in that time have turned over most of our list. If the right candidates pop up and want to play for Carlton, then it will happen. To miss out on Rockliff wont kill us. It will proabably help us in the long run.

TA

I'm disappointed to lose out on Rockliff. Would have liked to see him wearing navy blue in 2018 - he's a seriously good footballer and I think he would have been a great fit for us.
Same, even with just 4 years of Rocky I'd have given us every chance to win a flag with him on the list.

But that would have been on the cards for the latter years - I'm sure within two years we'll have secured someone as good or better.

Kerridge and Graham aren't going to get "bums on seats" at games.
We cant go into the 2018 season just wanting "to get through "; we need improvement.
Young players can be tempted by the big $$$'s thrown around,can you blame them when theyre given the choice of money and possible success every player strives for.
Im an "older" paid up member and have been forever it seems and will continue to be but i too want/need results,i love the Blues and i'm only human.
Its been an exciting 2017 season going to the games and seeing the competitiveness,hope 2018 we see this and more!!

Exactly the point i was trying to get across aswell.

Cheers!!

There will be improvement. I really have no idea what u expect will happen 2 years into a complete list and club rebuild especially targeting youth for sustained success. Improvement is not just about wins/losses . While we are rebuilding with youth i look for improvement in individuals not wins/losses. We have turned over 30+ players so far. You are only determining that wins/losses will be a gauge of improvement where as i realise with so much youth that at the start the improvement will be in individuals first and not on the wins/losses board. And if people need name players to turn up and support the club then basically they are not true supporters are they. If players are tempted by big money elsewhere then we dont want them they can go. I am happy where we are at and if taking more youth means longer term pain then so be it. No matter what will never please everyone but i am just enjoying watching our youth come through at the moment and i look for improvement in them not the win/loss board

Alarm bells going off on Devon Smith when one of his major factors for deciding on a new club is the rehab process and facilities. Quoted from his manager on trade radio earlier today: "A big one for Devon is the player management, how they manage the players (coming) back through rehab,"

Alarm bells going off on Devon Smith when one of his major factors for deciding on a new club is the rehab process and facilities. Quoted from his manager on trade radio earlier today: "A big one for Devon is the player management, how they manage the players (coming) back through rehab".
Not necessarily, maybe feels GWS approach hasn't given him the best chance to stay on the park. Just eager to see some continuity I'd assume.

I think Rockliff selecting Port says a lot about why he would not have suited Carlton.

He wants quick success, he wants to work in a midfield that is already developed. Maccas drive through kind of patience.

In a nutshell = he wants the low hanging fruit and he wants it now.

We have only spent two years rebuilding our list and in that time have turned over most of our list. If the right candidates pop up and want to play for Carlton, then it will happen. To miss out on Rockliff wont kill us. It will proabably help us in the long run.

TA

Stayed at the Lions for years when they were a basket case. I think you are off base potting him for not having patience.

Edit As an aside, my favourite part of trade period every year is the way supporters of every club handle losing out on trade targets with all the emotional maturity of a 14 year old being rejected by their school yard crush.

Stayed at the Lions for years when they were a basket case. I think you are off base potting him for not having patience.

Edit As an aside, my favourite part of trade period every year is the way supporters of every club handle losing out on trade targets with all the emotional maturity of a 14 year old being rejected by their school yard crush.

Each to their own opinion. We don't have the list to chase down a flag next year, with or without Rockliff and the only way Carlton is similar to Brisbane is recent performance. We are not a franchise club and we aren't in Queensland to start with...

I never wanted Rockliff at Carlton. I am happy about the outcome.

If a player goes fishing for money, good on them. Doesn't mean that I have to be all excited about them.

Get Kennedy is my mantra. He fits the list age and fulfills our needs.

Chasing FA players has never done us any good and to try again now after only two years of rebuilding the list is short sighted.

TA

Yeh true!

I reckon we should go after Trengove....of the Melbourne variety, they just delisted him . Would be a worth a free hit I reckon

Agree 100%, looks like he’s over the injury and had a lot of continuity in his footy this year just difficult to break into the midfield of Melbourne.

Got to be better and more useful than Buckley

What's the go with Miles? Only played 4 games this year ... was he injured or just couldn't break into the team?

He was looking real good a couple of years ago.
Think the tigers have alot of similar players thats all his form in the vfl has been very good i recon he would be handy pick up and wouldn't cost us much

One year a player is up for trade an no one will go near him for anything.

A year later the same player is offered big coin.

Footy is a funny, funny industry.

I would've been happy with Rocky for nothing, just as I would've been last year.
This year we have Kennedy wanting to come to the blues and to be honest I'm happy enough with that.
Don't care about Smith at all, if he comes or goes I will be pretty ambivalent to either.