Bluemour Discussion Thread XIII - Facts Not Welcome

It's just a bit of discussion but look at it like this

We trade a future first round (3-6 2019) then get

Setterfield
Maybe Pick 14 for Martin and a later pick
Pick 25 could still draft a good young player or could be traded for a Tyson type and a pick

We would essentially get 3 ready to go players that are best 22 and maybe two more picks.

Sorry mate, honestly sounds horrible when consider Tyson is a B grader, probably B - after prelim final showing. He is not going to help us. Martin has scratchy form so not sure how he helps us and Setterfield we getting already without need to throw away a pointy end pick. Use it for something a lot better than Tyson and Martin. You obviously rate Tyson much much higher than me. I rate him not much more value than our own Nick Graham after seeing his prelim final efforts. I want A graders, not fringe players. We got plenty of them already looking for A graders to raise their standards. We are not playing money ball with an elite pick. Leave that for picks in the 2nd and 3rd rounds when they make sense.

By the way I posted this in 2016

Would love Dylan Shiel, but I feel he'll be another Goddard, as a former Carlton supporter we'll always talk about him, but I feel he's the pure mercenary type and will go to some flog team like Richmond, Essendon or Collingwood, if he leaves GWS at all.

Jun 28, 2016

I should have listened to myself and not gotten my Hopes up

Cool, thanks for posting. :thumbsu:

So the deal smacks of desperation? Then you agree with my original point.

I've previously nominated numerous ways in which we could have navigated this if we weren't wedded to the idea of MM, but BB wanted him badly.
You really don't like anyone disagreeing with you, do you?

Adelaide board not happy about the value they got and some on here not happy with it, seems to value it at about fair rate.

If anyone won this trade it is Sydney, which of course they would otherwise why help out?

Really all it does for them though is help with Blakey.

So I see a win, win, win. Think we may have slightly overpaid, but being fleeced is far from the fact.

I keep saying it, what frustrates me the most about the McGovern trade is that we paid overs for him (a forward we don’t really need) when we were determined that we wouldn’t pay overs for Shiel (a mature midfielder who we acknowledged we need this trade period)

How does that freaking make sense?
Your logic of what is ‘overs’ is what is flawed. The potential damage from trading pick 1 is losing a champion. The probability of that is ‘reasonable’. The probability of losing access directly (through draft) or indirectly (through trade) of paying overs using second rounders is extremely low.

The second part of the flaw in your assumption is that ‘we don’t need’ another forward. Mcgivern will take the lead up load off CC. He will make CC better. A triple mobile tall forward threat is bloody exciting. Calm down. Look forward to it. Chill the **** out.

By the way I posted this in 2016

Would love Dylan Shiel, but I feel he'll be another Goddard, as a former Carlton supporter we'll always talk about him, but I feel he's the pure mercenary type and will go to some flog team like Richmond, Essendon or Collingwood, if he leaves GWS at all.

Jun 28, 2016

I should have listened to myself and not gotten my Hopes up

You're the new Oracle.

Please post some new insights and set us up for 2020!

Hard Facts? We urgently require ready made midfielders. Why are we targeting MM when clearly thats not our most pressing need. It wouldn't matter if we have Lynch, Brown & Kennedy in our forward 50 with the limited supply our midfield provides. Absolutely livid with this trade. We wont win more than 5 games next year based on what we've bought in and yet were trading future picks and ready made players the AFL have provided us.
I hear you and I have consistently posted that our midfield needs our most attention. In fact its critical that we bolster it up ASAP.

I am more referring to people Claiming we have already failed at at the trade table. If the future picks we traded are not going to get us something that will tick all the boxes we may as well put them to good use improving our second major deficiency the Forward line.

Agresta & Brodie have been brought in because of their ability to identify talent. Obviously they don't see anyone with the ability of Tim Kelly running around in the State Leagues. Foregoing MM for the sake of picking up another Graham, etc. is bad list management. Besides there are other avenues to pick these types of players. Trade period is not over i am sure there are others we are courting for our midfield, its just that who we bring in needs to be above average, we are better off delaying our rise a year rather than clogging our list for 2.

Any ITK posters know if we have met GWS about Setterfield?

I would think that our future second should be close, perhaps with a swap of picks or a future third. on Points our future second and pick 43 equal a late first round pick which I think is about his worth.

Haha Barlow was a A-grade mid when he was at his best, graham is a useful as an a-hole on your elbow and that’s being generous. You’re strait up dangus if you don’t think he will help, he has a bigger body than all the youngins, him Cripps and Kennedy dishing out to them wile they develop for another year.
Any insight to becoming better is good and makes sense but wait graham is a gun

Name calling when someone disagrees with you is poor form.

Barlow's best is long gone.

He's managed 28 games the last 3 years. Graham has managed 32. Rather a list spot go to a 24 year old with 6 seasons experience with our players than 30/31 year old new to the club for a single season. That's my opinion.

Sorry mate, honestly sounds horrible when consider Tyson is a B grader, probably B - after prelim final showing. He is not going to help us. Martin has scratchy form so not sure how he helps us and Setterfield we getting already without need to throw away a pointy end pick. Use it for something a lot better than Tyson and Martin. You obviously rate Tyson much much higher than me. I rate him not much more value than our own Nick Graham after seeing his prelim final efforts. I want A graders, not fringe players. We got plenty of them already looking for A graders to raise their standards. We are not playing money ball with an elite pick. Leave that for picks in the 2nd and 3rd rounds when they make sense.

I'm of the opinion that all good clubs need depth and role players that can step in at any stage. A strong reserves is absolutely vital to the development of our young talent. That is where our A graders are. Tigers for example had Miles Townsend Eliis etc all running around in the 2's and at times played good footy in their seniors.

Just how I see it

Wouldn’t mind someone comparing SPS to an established player where the comparison doesn’t have to be about skin colour.... Martin, Burgoyne, Wells etc

How about Simon Black. Not fast, silky, good inside. Sps has that Pendlebury like movement in traffic too. Seems to make everyone else look slow, without him being fast.

Makes comment about not comparing SPS to aboriginal players, then compares SPS to Simon BLACK......tee hee

I have assumed the connotation is to family violence or spousal abuse - you are clearly one of the few who immediately made a link.

"Mean" doesn't have to be abuse in a family context, regardless of the rest of the phrase. This is an action shot from a contact sport where aggression and physicality are fairly decent attributes.

I understand the importance of language and the value of its meaning in promoting causes... but lighten up. I am a little tired of those that presume to tell me how to react.

Taking this tone actually does more harm than good. - Call something/someone out by all means but always do it in a way that includes rather than shames. The alternative is to lessen your position while doing little to engender the sort of change you wish to see, rather you help foster an unwarranted sense of victim-hood in the those who have offended through ignorance rather than malice.

Amen.