Bluemour Discussion Thread XVIII - Please Sir, Can We Have More?

How long before one of the "news breaking" journalists start reporting Cripps to GC.
it wouldn’t shock me that’s for sure... actually i want to see what would happen if b70 said as a joke “cripps on the trade table”... i reckon there would be 2-3 “breaking news” articles

Deluca just doesn't seem clean enough for me. He's not a one touch player and is rather fumbly. I'm not so bullish on his prospects.

Based on what we saw, id agree. I reckon it would be tough jumping mid season from WAFL to AFL..
A hard pre season will give him the best opportunity to show he can play at the level required. The rest is up to him now.

Yep agree. We are very much at the time where we dont necessarily need picks. All i was saying was it was a decent return if he did want to leave.

Anyways, lets walk away from this draft period with Papley, Martin, Cameron and hopefully a decent mid or 2

Just getting Martin and Papley improves our midfield.

Plowman, Jones, Simpson
Docherty, Weitering, Marchbank
Murphy, Walsh, Setterfield
Kreuzer, Curnow, Cripps
Martin, Curnow, Cuningham
Papley, McKay, McGovern
I/C: Silvagni, SPS, Newman, *lucky number 22*

Immediate impact isn't necessarily huge - but being able to play Dow, Fisher, Stocker, Kennedy etc. IN THE MIDFIELD at VFL level is going to do wonders for their development. And with the time they've spent at the top level already, those guys should be getting to the point where they can actually dominate games at the lower level.

All I was trying to get at is no one is untradable for the right price. Likewise if the dogs came for weitering (like reported earlier this year) I wouldn't entertain the deal unless Tim English was in it in some capacity.

There you go done it again, foot in mouth.

I get what you mean but Crippa is a generational talent. Multiple AAs, pointy end of Brownlow every year. Also plays a position that is not easy to fill. You don’t trade those players for anything unless they want out. There are other ways to add more talent.

Deluca just doesn't seem clean enough for me. He's not a one touch player and is rather fumbly. I'm not so bullish on his prospects.
I've probably got selective memory, but I remember a couple of goals he set up with quick one touch handballs inside 50 in traffic this year.

I'm not giving up on him yet.

this mysterious 'Plan B' better be one of 3 players - Merrett, Whitfield, Josh Kelly. Every other mid getting mentioned will be a short term fix and end up being just an interchangable player like GWS has had with Sheil, Scully, Adams, Treloar etc, or the Dees with a bunch of tough ball winners but nobody elite on the outside

Wines - giant melon on his neck that crashes and bashes in the middle but brings nothing else, will win some hard ball but then the team is entirely reliant on SPS or LOB becoming a 30 touch a game player to rip apart teams by foot

Oliver - gun player and will probably be better than Dow over his career, but Dow will essentially play the same role as him in a year or two once his body is up to it as an in and under mid with some burst from the stoppage, better on the outside than Wines, but once again won't address the issue of delivery to our forwards.

Brayshaw - massive shanker of the footy sometimes and part of the reason the Dees are so rubbish at the moment, gun inside ball winner, same issue as the rest with Samo needing to take his game up 4 notches to carry the use on the outside almost alone

Cognilio was a big step up from these 3, purely due to his goalkicking ability, but wouldnt bank on him making as much difference to us as some would think as he generally doesnt provide anything spectacular or game breaking with his passing or ball movement, hes more an individual highlight reel that is still very handy to have.

Kelly, Whitfield and Merrett all change the way you move the ball as two of them can hit a target on the chest from 55m with a low enough trajectory that defenders dont have the time or position to close space on forwards. Merrett is just an extremely crafty player who may not be able to kick as far, but definitely has the same impact as the other two.

THIS IS WHAT WE NEED - someone who can kick inboard or find a dangeorus target rather than just going long and slow down the boundary line.

Kelly - Contracted, cost a kings ransom
Merrett - Contracted, cost slightly less
Whitfield - OOC next year - will cost 2 first rounders minimum
Brad hill - bit of a downgrade to Whitfield, just couldnt justify paying up too much for someone as uncontested as him, Whitfield atleast wins a lot of one on ones so provides a marking target, and is more versatile in where he can play compared to Hill - pick 8 probs get it done but bit of a yeah nah.

Most of our issues stem from our use from half back to inside 50 and Oliver, Brawshaw and Wines arent going to fix that - while they all win the ball, we would be entirely reliant on our inconsistent players in Samo, Fisher and Obrien on the outside, and Murph only has a few years left at max

What I would do - bring in Jack Martin and Papley - We then have 4-5 players who arent huge ball winners and can be inconsistent, but all have impact with their touches and their delivery inside 50 is absolute class so it balances out, these two also provide 4-5 goals a game between them

Try and find a good cheap midfielder who can win some ball, someone like Lyons this year at Bris and then load up on someone moving into the elite category next year, could be someone like Mccluggage, Cerra or Florent, you just never know who will jump.

Theres no point going after a contracted mid like Wines, Oliver or Brayshaw who will cost us massive overs and then be left with no currency to address our real needs for the next couple of years all just to win a bit more of the ball through the middle until Setterfield, Dow and Kennedy are ready to step up when you could get someone who at a fraction of the cost can get you 25-30 touches a game and might just be older or slightly worse but could then be moved on once we are ready to bounce

Also who knows what will happen with Walsh next year, could average 32 touches a game in the guts and address our issues of finding more ball in the middle, or could become an elite winger and address our issues on the outside - kids just so good you never know what he's going to produce next year

Yes!!

I've probably got selective memory, but I remember a couple of goals he set up with quick one touch handballs inside 50 in traffic this year.

I'm not giving up on him yet.

Good depth, and that's not an insult to the bloke at all.

The 23rd through 30th names on our list could be the difference next season - we've got a few injury prone guys in the starting side, so if we can have AFL-capable guys waiting in the wings we'll be able to weather the inevitable injury issues that arise.

Article in the HUN that * are trying to get their dirty mitts on Jack Martin.....they can **** right orfff...as can the Woofers.

Need SOS to weave his magic.

That's okay, SOS will help raise the price again and they will continue to be a mid table side. Can't wait to wave on the way past

Article in the HUN that * are trying to get their dirty mitts on Jack Martin.....they can **** right orfff...as can the Woofers.

Need SOS to weave his magic.

Not sure how they have the money.

In any case, i don't get why Essendon would chase Martin that hard...imo he doesn't address any of their major needs.
They have plenty of slightly built, quick players with skill.

What they need more of is big bodied inside mids, and possibly a KPF if Daniher leaves and even if he doesn't, he's barely played for 2 years.

It would be classic Dodo though, just going after talent with no thought about how they fit into the team and overall team balance.

I have a theory:

We are currently shaking every tree in the league.

That's why we are hearing so many rumours, because all that activity alerts a lot of people.

In all likelihood, 2-3 trades get done, maybe 1 big one.

BUT, we shouldn't think that we are getting them all, because right now, we are fact-finding, once we know the options we will narrow our scope and offers.

Supplementary:

We will be reaching out to players as their teams are knocked out of finals. So expect more surprise names.

I have a theory:

We are currently shaking every tree in the league.

That's why we are hearing so many rumours, because all that activity alerts a lot of people.

In all likelihood, 2-3 trades get done, maybe 1 big one.

BUT, we shouldn't think that we are getting them all, because right now, we are fact-finding, once we know the options we will narrow our scope and offers.

Supplementary:

We will be reaching out to players as their teams are knocked out of finals. So expect more surprise names.

So your theory is that we won't get all the players we're linked to in rumours?

Not sure how they have the money.

In any case, i don't get why Essendon would chase Martin that hard...imo he doesn't address any of their major needs.
They have plenty of slightly built, quick players with skill.

What they need more of is big bodied inside mids, and possibly a KPF if Daniher leaves and even if he doesn't, he's barely played for 2 years.

It would be classic Dodo though, just going after talent with no thought about how they fit into the team and overall team balance.

I will give Dodo his dues, he does generally trade well for needs. I agree they need an inside bull, that will push others one spot out that will benefit other midfielder strengths